We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location and great kids activities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #69 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good location and great kids activities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

Very clean hotel. Lots of people, but never felt crowded. Only one negative (but it is fine) is the elevators. We have to wait 10 mins several times on line waiting to get on. Otherwise we were very pleased with our stay.

Room: Clean, roomy, nice bathroom and good TV selection for kids and adults

Regency Club: I have read some negative comments, but here are the facts. Breakfast is two hot trays (i.e. pancakes, waffles) and oatmeal. Numerous fruit to select from. Yogurts, toast, bagels, etc. Coffee, tea, lattes, etc. Plenty of water, juices and sodas to select from. Room size is fine. Can handle 20-23 easily, but certainly cannot handle much more. The snacks during the day are nuts, cookies, yogurt, etc. Nothing over the top but surely a good snack. Dinner is very good. Two hot dishes, smoked salmon, cheeses, etc. All free. Only beer ($3) and wine ($4) are at a cost which is < half the cost of downstairs at the bar and restaurants.

Pool and Gym: Very good for both. Pool is a little small, but manageable. Great gym eqpt.

Location: Just 4 blocks from Capital Hill and 3 from Union Station. 1 mile walk to Washington Monument, 1.5 to White House, 2 mile walk to Lincoln Memorial, 3 mile walk to Arlington National Cemetery. Walking distance < 1 mile to many great places to eat.

Kids Activities: Free Movie nights in conference rooms, Game room with board games and the pool.

Room Tip: If you use the regency club try to stay on that floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dowood27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,350
    1,436
    652
    194
    102
See reviews for
863
597
189
1,631
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

During Spring Break we stayed in the Hyatt on Capitol Hill. I selected this hotel for my family (mostly adults in two rooms) because of its location and because of the Hyatt name. Although I'd read a couple of negative reviews we decided to book here anyway.
Well, on our third night teeny-boppers moved into our hallway. Noisy, but not intolerable--after all, it was Spring Break! Well, next night at midnight these same kids who seemed to be in three rooms, were wild. Running up and down the hall, knocking on each others doors loudly, etc. I am still wondering where their chaperones were, but oh well.
We called the operator who sent a Security official immediately. He changed the situation and we appreciated this. However, we were sleepless in DC and we were fuming about being on a floor with teens. Turns out there were over 300 of them in the hotel that night, we learned later, In fact, all over Washington DC, and in every hotel were adults with kids--lots of kids. Hard to get away from that.
Here's what the Hyatt did for us the following morning: They apologized and credited us AND removed room charges for movies and room service. This response from them did not remove our bad experience, but certainly made us feel a whole lot better. It's easy to give five stars to a place when everything goes well, and nothing goes wrong. However, my rating is based on the unexpected and unplanned for that can happen anywhere to anyone. At any other hotel, our complaint would have gotten us an apology at most. So I rate this hotel as excellent because of how they tried to make it up to us. "E" for Effort!
Additionally, the breakfast buffet was incredible--something for everyone, with great service. We were able to have a nice varied breakfast before racing to the airport. All staff during our stay were top-notch. Helpful in every way. BTW, our room was facing a side street, we were on the third floor and other than the experience noted above, things were quiet and the blackout drapes took care of light pollution.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for expressing your great appreciation regarding our World Class Service provided to you during your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill in DC. It is always nice to hear positive and appreciative feedbacks from our loyal customer. We are grateful to know that those little touches made by our staff did not change or remove the bad experience you had the night before, but certainly made you feel a whole lot better. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in DC.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arzier, Switzerland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

How can you charge 240 usd a night for a hotel that has a pool but doesn't tell you, that makes you pay for in room wifi and doesn't even have shoe polish in the room?
Ask Hyatt , they know. The service is minimal, the beds tiny, breakfast average, pool cold, rooms without any normal 4 stars amenities.
Avoid and prefer Sofitel.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gregory A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Greetings!

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback on your recent visit to the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. I am so sorry this past visit did not meet expectations and we will definitely pass your remarks to our executive management team to follow up with our staff and hotel management to make some improves and ensure this does not happen in the future. I hope we will see you in the future at this or another Hyatt location.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I spent a short night ( as I had to catch an early morning flight) in one of this Hyatt Regency hotel , a 4-star hotel.

Positive : free shuttle from Reagan International airport to the hotel, a 5-7 minute drive ; courteous driver offered free a small bottle of water after hoisting my two suitcases on board. Fast registration , electronic key, well appointed double bed with all the amenities and toilettries of a 4-star hotel : internet for a fee , cable flatscreen TV, small fridge, tea & coffee bags and machine, desk and padded chair.

Negative ; a 9-dollar charge for room internet, restaurant service over past 10 p.m. though kitchen orders at the bar were available. Breakfast not available before 5;30 a.m.

Room Tip: Ask for 2nd floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vnazaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Tustin, CA
Level Contributor
203 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Easy walk from union station metro (3-4 long blocks). Good access to Capitol area and mall. We were there during spring break with lots of kids and a huge wedding (500 guests). Nonetheless had a good,quiet room and no limitations on access to hotel amenities and staff was excellent and accommodating. Fitness center around pool and heavy chlorine smell but great facility. Casual dining, convenience store and sit down restaurant all on site and reasonable, decent food.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MDHNorthTustin_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
167 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

I got a pretty decent price on priceline for this hotel. It was spring break, so I was expecting inflated prices. Not so. Compared to the other hotels near the National Mall, this is a bargain. Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, and courteous employees. Now, I only wish this hotel were a little closer to the White House area, because that seemed more central. The Capitol is on one end of the mall, so you'll walk quite a way to the Lincoln Memorial; it's no problem on a nice day, however.

In this area, there are a few decent restaurants. For dinner or a drink, The Dubliner is close. For breakfast or lunch, Corner Bakery is terrific. Also, there are several nice quick service places in Union Station.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CCSconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armidale, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014

Stayed for just 24 hours while on a business trip to Capitol Hill. A very comfortable hotel, with an extensive buffet breakfast (that actually has edible eggs!) The rooms are large and comfortable. The lounge/bar area is very conducive to meeting with work colleagues for an informal drink/meeting.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tallowood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#103 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,289 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails in Article One. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our 24-hour room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing