We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location for walking tourists” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Gainesville, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Great location for walking tourists”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

It's very close to the Capitol and the Smithsonians are 15 minutes away. There's a nice restaurant and bar within the hotel, plenty of taxis and a knowledgeable staff that is very willing to assist. Take a cab if you are going beyond the White House ;)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LUOPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,648 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,317
    1,404
    641
    190
    96
See reviews for
852
592
187
1,566
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (466)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is just a few blocks from the Capitol campus. The check-in process was smooth and friendly. Actually, all the staff we encountered from the front desk to the cleaning service were professional, friendly and willing to help. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. We asked for a mini refrigerator and microwave and had it waiting for us when we arrived. We selected the Regency Club King and were able to enjoy a European daily breakfast and happy hour evening light fare and dessert with a cash bar. The breakfast was quite nice and included fruit, pastries, cereal, cheese, 2 hot entries, juice, coffee, milk, tea. The evening line up consisted of 2 hot entries, fruit, cheese and crackers, veggies raw/marinated, nuts and cash bar. The hotel also has a great restuarant. A liquor store is across the street and the Union Station transist station is just a few blocks away. This location offers very limited choices for dining or enjoying a local pub happy hour but then the Metro is just down the street. This hotel is located in a great location and is just a short taxi ride to and from the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynners62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great place; great location; great service. The food is OK; a bit overpriced, but good. The location is out of this world--view of the Capitol and a 5 minute walk to the Mall, in one direction; and, to Union Station in the other. Would recommend to anyone who wanted to be immersed in the "atmosphere of US governance".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's wonderful location. I will certainly forward your feedback to our executive management team. We hope you get the opportunity to come back again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, ID, United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Room was adequate, but disappointing for the price and name recognition of a Hyatt. Clean room. No mini-fridge, no microwave. No ventilation fan in bathroom resulting in mildew / rust on exposed pipes under the sink. Cheap iron, not enough towels. Small beds. Cheap TV. I regularly find better amenities in $65 hotel rooms when I travel. For the price, this was the most disappointing room I've stayed in over the past few years.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Robby C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good Evening Robby C,

Thanks for being our guest at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. and taking the time to share your experience during this visit. I am so sorry to hear that this stay did not meet expectations and the lack of amenities you were offered during this time. Please be assured I have forwarded your comments to our executive management to follow up and ensure this does not happen in the future. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department if you would like to speak on this matter. We hope to welcome you in the future.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

I will begin with the only positive thing I have to say (and the star they get). The room was nice and clean (but so was our room at the Comfort Inn). Don't plan on watching any TV after a long day of sight seeing; no news, no basic cable, nothing. $4.99 for reruns and $16 for movies. When I commented to the desk clerk his response was "oh, I really wouldn't know about that, I'll mention it to management" really? In his defense, I think that may be the trained response. For example, Q. where can I get coffee? Desk A. I really wouldn't know (even though we found Starbucks around the corner).

Parking is $45! Don't plan on walking anywhere in the evening. Union Staition and the Capital are nearby but the homeless center is next door and neighborhood is pretty rough. We actually saw 2 homeless people pleasuring themselves on the corner under a street light through our 4th floor window.

Finally, they have the most disgusting pool I have ever seen. We watched a kid jump in and literally disappear into the murk.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Roma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Greetings Roma M,

We appreciate you taking the time to provide with some feedback from your most recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. We are thrilled to hear your really enjoyed the hotel and your guest room. I am sorry to hear this stay was most disappointing and you felt the hotel additional charges are unnecessary. I have forwarded your concerns to our executive management so they are able to make the necessary changes and provide our guests with better customer service. We hope these does not deter you from staying with us again. Hope you welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Western NY
Level Contributor
32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Wow, what a great experience at the Hyatt Regency On Capital Hill. We came to DC for Memorial Day weekend and choose this hotel for its location. It was an easy walk to Capital Hill for the Memorial Day Concert. The entire experience at the Hotel was Great. Check-in was a breeze and Carlos was so friendly and helpful. We did use the valet service and felt it was worth the $48. Service was very fast. Our guest room was excellent! Very clean and cheerful, and the bed was so comfortable. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank B G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Thank you for expressing your great appreciation regarding your recent stay at the Grand Hyatt Washington, DC for Memorial Day Week-end. It is always nice to hear that you will recommend this hotel for friends and family for its great staff, nice clean room, and its great location. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management team at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in DC.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

I was looking forward to enjoying the pool at this hotel after a busy day in Washington but there we're a lot of kids splashing around. Even after 9.30. I totally understand as I would be in a pool as I was a kid or parent too, but I am not so I was a bit dissapointed. The room was big and nice. Service was good. There was no free wifi in the rooms which I find odd these days. Location was great. A few minutes from the Capitol and Union station. Would stay here again if I had little time. If I have more time I'd probably go more towards Georgetown or DuPont Circle.

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Sladjana1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#93 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 576 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,210 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Ave N.W., Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails in Article One. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our 24-hour room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing