We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #77 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 6 June 2014

My daughter and I had an wonderful 4 night stay in this hotel this week and were very impressed by the service, staff, and location. The beds are very comfortable and the breakfast buffet was excellent. It is in a perfect location near the Capitol and within walking distance of all the museums and sights.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Thank you for expressing your great appreciation regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. It is always a pleasure to hear that you were very impressed by the service, staff, and location near the Capitol and within walking distance of all the museums and sights. Also, it is nice to hear that you enjoyed our comfy bed and our excellent breakfast. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in DC.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,364)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,787 - 2,793 of 4,364 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2014

What a sham - would have been better off with a cheaper hotel and some extra pocket change. The rooms were cute and relatively clean (although small) but everything else was horrible. From the moment we got there the people were rude and uninformed. While a very nice valet tried to help give us some parking tips, he was getting yelled at by the bus boys the whole time. The rooms were small, the neighborhood is super sketchy at night, the staff was rude, and they charge for literally everything. This place doesn’t even give you any free channels. You have to pay $16 if you want to watch anything and even that has a volume cap on it that is so low you are forced to choose between airflow or TV because competing sound. Internet? You can use it in the lobby but be prepared to give a left arm if you want it in your room. Moreover, while they do have a tiny indoor pool available, it was so cloudy you couldn't even see the bottom. Having cleaned pools professionally in my youth, I can assure you that I would not step foot in that thing. My advice: for the price you pay to stay here… find somewhere else and just pay for a cab into the area. This place just wasn't worth it.

What I thought was going to be a great experience of staying at a Hyatt near capitol mall in DC turned out to be one of the shadiest sleaziest hotels I have ever stayed it.

Room Tip: rooms were cute but small for price. Hotel has good location in the day but area is super sketchy at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The hotel itself was clean and comfortable. We had booked a suite and when we arrived, they upgraded us to a larger suite, which was wonderful. We were traveling with my brother and his family (small kids) and there was a lot of confusion about our room location. I called 3 times prior to arrival to make sure our request for adjoining rooms was on both of our reservations. When my brother checked in, they said there was no record of that, so we did not have adjoining rooms for the first night. Housekeeping was good, although not all of our towels or toiletries were restocked.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DonnaO1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The hotel inside is very nice, the rooms are good and the staff is friendly. Article One is overpriced and at breakfast they poured us orange juice without asking if we wanted it, and each orange juice was about $4. The negative of this hotel is the surrounding area. Although it is close to the capitol, if you are walking from the judiciary square metro stop, there are congregations of homeless people and we did not always feel safe walking back to the hotel. The police were there a lot, which made it better, but I would prefer to stay at a hotel where that is not a concern.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Britni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014

It's very close to the Capitol and the Smithsonians are 15 minutes away. There's a nice restaurant and bar within the hotel, plenty of taxis and a knowledgeable staff that is very willing to assist. Take a cab if you are going beyond the White House ;)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LUOPX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

This hotel is just a few blocks from the Capitol campus. The check-in process was smooth and friendly. Actually, all the staff we encountered from the front desk to the cleaning service were professional, friendly and willing to help. The room was clean, quiet and spacious. We asked for a mini refrigerator and microwave and had it waiting for us when we arrived. We selected the Regency Club King and were able to enjoy a European daily breakfast and happy hour evening light fare and dessert with a cash bar. The breakfast was quite nice and included fruit, pastries, cereal, cheese, 2 hot entries, juice, coffee, milk, tea. The evening line up consisted of 2 hot entries, fruit, cheese and crackers, veggies raw/marinated, nuts and cash bar. The hotel also has a great restuarant. A liquor store is across the street and the Union Station transist station is just a few blocks away. This location offers very limited choices for dining or enjoying a local pub happy hour but then the Metro is just down the street. This hotel is located in a great location and is just a short taxi ride to and from the airport. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynners62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great place; great location; great service. The food is OK; a bit overpriced, but good. The location is out of this world--view of the Capitol and a 5 minute walk to the Mall, in one direction; and, to Union Station in the other. Would recommend to anyone who wanted to be immersed in the "atmosphere of US governance".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Patricia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our hotel's wonderful location. I will certainly forward your feedback to our executive management team. We hope you get the opportunity to come back again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
726 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,074 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £110 - £346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing