We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb Customer Service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #71 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Princeton, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb Customer Service!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

In a current society where GOOD customer service is so hard to find, THANK YOU! We were always greeted with a smile and every one of our requests or needs were promptly responded to. Also, the breakfast package is not just an array of dull continental options, but an absolutely delicious buffet. Other than realizing that we will book the hypoallergenic room for now on, we truly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Monique J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,880 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,408
    1,488
    677
    204
    103
See reviews for
893
615
196
1,712
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Be aware there is a "incidental fee" that does not show up on the bill or receipt. The way I found out is I looked at my credit card statement. The fee is $50 per night on top of the cost of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank 845cynthiac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Greetings 845cyhthiac,

Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with your most recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. I am so sorry to hear about the lack of information the front desk staff advised on the incidental charge. I do believe they do not place the incidental charge on the bill because it is not a charge, it is simply an authorization. I do understand your frustration and once again if the front desk did not advise you of that authorization. I will definitely being speaking with front desk management to ensure that every guest is notified at check in. If you would like to talk about this matter further please feel free to contact our Guest Relations department.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
132 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This hotel is pricey by my standards. ( I usually stay in more "bargain" places) The location is perfect for those wanting to enjoy the sights of the Capitol. The hotel is nice, comfy beds, nice TV, nice gym. the pool was very poorly maintained, my grandson wouldn't enter it, he said it looked filthy. I objected to the ridiculously high cost for parking our car there. (50 dollars a night when you include taxes and tips) We were there for 4 days, I refuse to pay that to a hotel that already is charging a fortune for the rooms. We opted to park at Reagan airport in the economy lot, and take the metro to union station which is only a few blocks away. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The food is supposed to be good, but also very overpriced by my standards. We chose to eat on the town, and at the West Wing deli nearby when we were at the hotel. Overall, it was a very enjoyable stay and I would recommend this hotel to anyone if this fits into their travel budgets.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank regnadkcin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The concierge was extremely helpful in mapping out our own walking tour of DC for us! They offer their own map of DC, which seemed overwhelming, but he broke it down so we were able to plan it according to our preference of sites and at our own pace. Otherwise we would have been on a bus tour, whc in hindsight, would not have been as enjoyable for us...

Otherwise an average Hyatt. Clean rooms, nice staff... The lobby has a nice restaurant and bar/lounge area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Nice clean hotel with nice rooms and great location. The catch is that parking is $48/ night!. My advice would be to drive two blocks and park on 2nd street, the curb side away from buildings is free with no parking time limits!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yehia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for expressing your great appreciation regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. Despite the fact it is hard to park in DC and the price is too high, it is always a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed our nice and clean room and you will stay with us due to the hotel's great location close to downtown DC. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in DC.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency on Capitol Hill when we traveled to D.C. for our wedding. The staff were incredibly kind, friendly, and accommodating. The hotel is beautiful and very clean, and the location is excellent for sightseeing, being a very short walk from the National Mall and Metrorail stations. Excellent restaurant.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Thank you for expressing your great appreciation regarding our World Class Service provided to you during your wedding in DC. It is always a pleasure to hear that our staff were incredibly Kind, friendly, and accommodating making your Wedding a memorable and special event. Also, it is nice too hear that you enjoyed our location close close to the National mall and the metrorail station as well as the beautiful and very clean room. Your kind comments were forwarded to the Executive management at the hotel and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future in DC.

Johny E.-A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phila, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Hotel staff made every effort to be helpful. clock radio failed. I don't know why hotels buy these contraptions. Otherwise: Room clean. Hotel and pleasant. Meals were surprisingly good...in fact excellent. (and I'm a former restaurant critic.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Ross K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,120 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,478 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing