We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“careful with unauthorized posts to your credit card!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 June 2014

careful with unauthorized posts to your credit card!! then is a nightmare to get in contact with the hotel to get reimbursed.... was on the line for 20 minutes waiting to be help and call was just dropped, hotel experience is not only limited to the room! specially when are making charges to your credit card!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Gerardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,338)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,739 - 2,745 of 4,338 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2014

Location is great in terms of walkability to the Capitol, Union Station and the Metro. We used the Metro exclusively and it was a breeze. There is a homeless shelter across the street and it was not a problem whatsoever. My grandson and I stayed 6 nights and I got the room for $135 through the Hyatt website. Thus the value was great. However, it is not a hotel for which I would pay "full price." Our room on the 8th floor, which cost $8 extra per night. It was very quite though small, beds were good and the room was clean. The hotel gift shop/coffee shop is more expensive than at similar hotels. We went across the street to the New York Deli and Liqour Store for snacks and to a small Walmart 4 blocks away. Megan, who checked us in, was courteous and vey helpful as were all hotel staff.There are only a few resturants in the neighborhood, so cab ride may be in order if you want variety.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Laramie230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Hotel was very clean, staff very friendly and very helpful. It would be nice, if by the high priced Hotel room, that breakfast would be included. Room was very clean, all staff was always friendly. The Hotel is very close to the Capitol and the White house.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Cornelia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is one of the finest hotels I've experienced. Housekeeping and maintenance staff is excellent and accommodating. Very clean, everything worked and within walking distance to almost everything in DC. My only complaint is the expense. Not only is the room rate high, but there are fees for everything including internet services in the room. I paid an amount equal to about 1/3 of my room cost for parking, internet, tips, etc. Nothing is included in the room cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Dom F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

I am glad to see you found our staff to be excellent and rooms clean. I hope you get the chance to stay with us again soon.

-John S, Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

This is a very Nice hotel, clean and great location for walking to Union Station and the Capitol. Never been in a Hyatt location I did not like. The customer service was excellent with a huge convention going on, many were very please.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room for more space and nice view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jvfloyd07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you saying we have a clean hotel and a nice location. I am glad the staff was pleasant during your stay. I hope you can stay with us again soon.

-John S, Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Nice hotel in a convenient location to Union Station and Capitol. Bed was very comfortable. In room internet service is expensive. The free service in the lobby is slow. Fitness facility was nice. Wasn't crazy about the food choices in the restaurant.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Anna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

This hotel is large, but I never felt lost! Sometimes with large hotels they feel pretty impersonal. But that is not the case with the Regency at Capitol Hill. Hallways are well designed, rooms clean and bright, and plenty of elevators. The health facility is good - nice gym and pool with a good outdoor space. Staff were helpful and personal. Location is excellent (with a great restaurant across the street - ate there several times, and especially loved the outdoor space for long evenings). Overall, a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mattnaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#97 of 141 in Washington DC
711 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
5,009 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,661 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £81 - £334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and soon to be open Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing