We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel near U.S. Capitol”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #73 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Hotel near U.S. Capitol”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Excellent Hotel near the U.S. Capitol. Rather expensive, but comparable to other hotels in the area. I stayed here for business, but the hotel is very convenient to the Washington Mall and Smithsonian Museums -- easy walking distance. Not much nightlife in this area though.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello Charles E,

Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback from your stay with us at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. We are thrilled you had a wonderful stay at this location and thank you for providing our future guests with details on how great our location is in regards to the Capitol, Washington Mall and the Smithsonian. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,460
    1,533
    695
    214
    108
See reviews for
930
634
199
1,770
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (489)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 July 2014

hotel was clean, big, with great rooms and amenities. very friendly staff, a convenience store and very accessible to the metro. walking to the mall is possible for those who likes to walk. Expensive car parking $48. there is a self parking lot around the corner about $15 per day. that should improve. Big room and bathroom, we were on deluxe or premium rooms, it is not an expensive hotel, is affordable and not a cheap motel. Service is great, we will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank lynnetr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Hello lynnetr2014,

Thanks for taking the time to share feedback on your recent experience with us. I am so excited to hear that your overall visit was a great one. Thanks for noting that you loved our location, guestrooms and friendly staff. We will definitely be recognizing them for this great review. I am sorry to hear of your disappointment with the parking accommodations. I will forwarding our management your concerns on the pricing and they will follow up accordingly. Again, we thank you for your time and your kind words. Can't wait to welcome you back!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Bend, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

business trip; enjoyable stay, great breakfast buffet. Room was adequate and bed was comfortable. They saved space by having s very small bathroom shower and no vanity top to work off of, only a small shelf.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank loverofcats22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Hyatt Guest Relations associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear Guest,

So glad you took the time to share your stay experience at the Hyatt Regency Washington, Capitol Hill. It is wonderful to know that you found our location convenient for your business trip and that you enjoyed your breakfast.

We hope to hope welcome you back on a return trip to DC. Thank you for choosing Hyatt!

Safe travels,

Julie B--Hyatt Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelton, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

everything about this hotel was remarkable - the staff were not only courteous and friendly but always asked how our day was. And it never felt rehearsed - they seemed genuinely interested in what we did and if we had a nice time - they impressed me each and every day. The hotel and room were immaculate and everyone was always smiling

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Good Afternoon Patricia R,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review about your most recent stay with us at the Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. We will be sure to thank and recognize our team members for the amazing job they do. Guests like you always make our team members happy and we are so excited you were able to see what type of service our Hyatt locations provide. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Hotel is a couple of blocks from Capitol Hill and the national mall...very close to the metro. Convenient location to get around dc. Housekeeping is great! They were always checking up in us and were very courteous. Concierge was always full so we couldn't really use them.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank girlvoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

You would expect that a Hyatt Regency so close to Capitol Hill may offer you the service, amenities, decor, and atmosphere equal to the upper four star prices they charge for your stay, but you would be mistaken.

This hotel is a three star at best and should be adjusted accordingly on all hotel booking websites. From the time you pull up, to the elevator ride upstairs, to the hallways, and the rooms, this place is in desperate need of a major makeover. Dated, a bit musty, away from any weekend/holiday nightlife, only stay here if you have exhausted all other options and lowered your expectations.

A bright spot, the check in service was fantastic, friendly, and accommodating. I had booked two rooms and only one was ready when I arrived, both times at the desk with separate people I had fantastic friendly service. The people aren't the problem here, it is the property.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank topherashley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

I'm definitely a Marriott loyalist, but on a recent trip to DC, I elected to stay here.

It was my second stay here in as many years, though I don't remember the hotel being so minimalist inn design. Certainly, I should have expected it after a stay at the Park Hyatt DC in April.

Valet and the front desk were both courteous and friendly and made our arrival quite welcoming.

The rooms were nothing to call home about, with the bathroom and shower leaving a lot to be desired. Beds were quite uncomfortable, and our 2nd floor room was quite noisy due to a large youth group on the floor.

The breakfast buffet featured a nice spread, but the omelettes were rushed and runny.

To sum it up, it wouldn't be my first choice to stay, but given the great proximity to Union Station, it would still be high on the list.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank cupcrazy66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
272 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#21 of 141 in Washington DC
2,151 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#102 of 141 in Washington DC
496 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,455 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#81 of 141 in Washington DC
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing