We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, lo...BURGER!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #70 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Location, location, lo...BURGER!”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Wow, you can literally see the Cap Dome from the hotel and so beautiful at night. Walking distance to the Mall and everything was great. It's only a $13 cab from DCA too. VERY NICE!
The hotel was very nice too with an active bar/restaurant that had really good food! The burger had a farm fresh egg on it!!!! Prices were incredibly reasonable for a hotel of this level in an area like this. I ate every night for like $15 plus drinks. Room was very nice, clean and bed was comfortable. I wouldn't call it luxury, but it was better than most. The staff was very attentive and helpful. Denise hit a home run in helping me with a problem at the front desk and Kim's smile was even better than that burger in the restaurant. Both made me feel like a real VIP, thank you.

This is a great place and a fantastic value. Priceline has great rates on it too. DO IT!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Derrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking a moment of your time to provide feedback regarding your recent stay at Hyatt Regency Washington. I am excited to hear that you had an amazing experience. It sounds like you really enjoyed the food and the service. I will be sure to share your praise regarding Denise and Kim's terrific service. Thank you for choosing Hyatt Regency Washington!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,871 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,403
    1,485
    676
    204
    103
See reviews for
893
614
196
1,705
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Clara, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Nicely sized guest rooms with updated furniture and recent redecorating. Very comfortable bed with high-quality linens. The showers are excellent with plenty of high-pressure hot water. Don't miss the Article One lounge for excellent cocktails and a good selection of local beers and international (and California) wines. Also, the cheese plate ordered at the bar is an excellent way to have your appetizer before going out for dinner. Though, the in-house restaurant is very good! Great customer service all around. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Albert Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed the stay so much, we didn't want to leave! Staff made us feel welcome and helped with even the little things that were requested. When we go back to the area, this hotel will draw us back. Thanks for everything. We are grateful to for such a wonderful place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide such a thoughtful review. Your recommendation is our biggest compliment. I am thrilled to hear that you found our staff to be extremely friendly and helpful. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Washington the next time your travel brings you back to D.C.!

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was extremely disgusted and disappointed. For years My family and I stayed at the Hyatts anywhere we decided to vacation. Never EVER again. The staff in DC was lousy unhelped. It was my friends first time in DC and I wanted her to have a great experience from the start with the 48 per night valet your car parking ONLY option it was bad from there. No one could explain to us about tours or cheaper parking - for 400 for two nights you'd expect to be treated with some common generousity NONE. I don't think the Hyatt will be an option for us ever again unfortunately.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Hyatt Guest Relatons at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
I am extremely disappointed that you did not have a good experience during your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington DC on Capital Hill. I’m sorry that our staff did not put their best foot forward to assist you and make your stay a wonderful experience. I will certainly forward your feedback to our executive management team to use in further training of our associates. I hope you give us another opportunity to provide you with Hyatt hospitality.
Lois M Guest Services Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
380 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Location is walking distance to union station ad Capitol Hill. My room was adequate in size but the white comforter has dark stains similar to ink.
The bed is comfortable and service acceptable. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sjdif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Good Morning sjdif,

Thank you for giving our future guests an idea of what to expect when staying at Hyatt Regency Washington. I am so happy to hear you really enjoyed your overall stay and I know our team members at this location look forward to welcoming you back.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed the first weekend in August 2014 to attend the International Convention of JWs at FedEx Field. This is a beautiful place and all services and food at this hotel were excellent. We plan to return when in D.C. again

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank 10Merry10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Your feedback and recommendation are truly appreciated. It sounds like you thoroughly enjoyed the food and service. We look forward to welcoming you back to Hyatt Regency Washington the next time your travel brings you back to D.C.

Brock S. - A Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlsbad, United States
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Hyatt has a great location to the mall. If you are interested in the monuments and museums, this is a great location. As Hyatt's go, it was clean, staff were helpful and pleasant, but the rooms were very average hotel rooms. Very little amenities, fridge, coffee maker leaked, maid service inconsistent. I would stay there again if the mall was the target place to be, otherwise, there are a lot of nice hotels in DC that are a short cab ride from the mall and other parts of the city.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 31 October 2014
Hello John R,

I am so thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit when staying at Hyatt Regency Washington. Our location is definitely a key point in Washington D.C., we are so close to so many attractions which makes our hotel and easy pick for convenience. I am sorry to hear about the lack of amenities found in the guest room. I have forwarded your suggestions to management so they can follow up and get this resolved. Can't wait to see you again!

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,117 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#100 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#71 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,464 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#82 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing