We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“For a shower and a bed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #70 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“For a shower and a bed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night. We where looking for a place shower and sleep after a long walking day in DC and that's all that it was.
The good:
Great location, comfortable bed, fast check in and check out, clean rooms.
The bad:
The water tap in the shower isn't working properly
We had junk such as pizza trays welcoming us to the room in the corridor.
The hotel's Starbucks is over charging for smaller coffee cups then anywhere else.

If you are searching for a place to rest your head it's fine, for more then that I'm not sure.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelerallthetime1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Greetings travelerallthetime1,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience when visiting Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. We often hear enthusiastic remarks on our great location and the amazing customer service our team members provide. I am sorry to hear about the lack of housekeeping and the poor water pressure you experienced during this stay. I have forwarded your concerns to our executive management team to review and resolve. I am so happy you had a great stay and I know our team looks forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,351
    1,437
    654
    194
    102
See reviews for
863
597
190
1,634
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belleville, Ontario
Level Contributor
55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed here on a Priceline deal in August. Service was great from the Valet to the Bell Service to the Front Desk. Requested a late check out and was offered one free of charge! Things start to add up cost wise in tipping the various staff that assist you and the hefty valet fee as well. But, i'd rather spend the extra money to just drop my car off at the door of my hotel than scour around for cheaper parking… for the extra 20 bucks or so.. it's worth it to me. Internet is also a fee but is free in the lobby. If we paid full pop, I think the homeless shelter around the corner (totally harmless folks) and the parking fee would bother me more. For the price we paid, everything seemed like a good deal for a hotel within walking distance to so many sites and great service.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leforge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to provide your feedback regarding your stay. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and appreciated all the various services provided by the staff. I hope that you get to stay with us again in the near future.

Warm Regards,

Belinda M - Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, New Hampshire
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very nice hotel located in the Capitol Hill area. Within walking distance to area attractions and close to Union Station and the Metro. Facilities were clean, Staff was friendly and Restaurant was very nice, but pricey. Overall a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Hello there Cheryl W,

Thank you for being our guest at Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. I am so excited to hear about your pleasant experience and thrilled to recognize and thank our team members for being amazing at their jobs! I am glad our location was most convenient for your travels and we hope to welcome you back on your next trip to Washington D.C.

Safe Travels,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramie, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

This hotel is close to all of the main attractions and monuments. It feels very secure and the staff overall is friendly. They have cabs waiting at the hotel, which is wonderful when you need to get somewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Christina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Good Morning Christina H,

I really appreciate you taking the time to write a review on your recent visit to Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. We always hear amazing compliments on our location and how convenient it is for our business and leisure guests! I am so happy to hear about the awesome hospitality you received during this visit and we hope it brings you back in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Nice, clean, very quiet hotel. Location wasn't the best. Location was not far from downtown the taxi service was great but no main stores in walking distance. Doormen, security, and front desk were very helpful and pleasant. For the price not worth it to me. No microwave nor fridge in room. Breakfast buffet was $22.00. Located in front of a firestation and liqour store.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Jonel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Hello Jonel E,

I appreciate you going out of your way to share feedback on your visit to Hyatt Regency Washington D.C. Thank you for choosing this location for your business and it is great to hear you really enjoyed our accommodations. I will be sure to get in touch with our executive management to share your kind words about our professional and friendly staff. They definitely will be honored to hear about your stay and they will look forward to welcoming you back.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maumelle, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Clean, comfortable, quiet room. Attentive hotel staff. Conveniently located within walking distance of Union Station, Capitol, and many other sightseeing spots. The little gift shop offered reasonably priced breakfast goods and starbuck's coffee.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 12 August 2014
Thank you for posting this review of the Hyatt Regency Washington. I am glad you enjoyed our rooms, staff, location and gift shop. I hope to see you stay with us again.

-John S, Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
45 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Not as nice as Crystal city good spot about three blocks from the capital building and union station all walking distance staff was very nice rooms were old but clean restaurant Was high priced lots of restaurant near bye pool small lap pool always full with kids need pool for kids

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Redelf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this review, 30 October 2014
Hello Redelf,

I am so happy to hear you enjoyed your recent visit to Hyatt Regency Washington. We really appreciate your loyalty to the Hyatt brand and happy to hear you really enjoy our Hyatt Regency Crystal City property as well. Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about your stay and we look forward to seeing you in the future.

Warm regards,

Drew D.-Guest Relations Associate
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
The Kimpton George Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,092 reviews
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#101 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,290 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Property: Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 3.5*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all the attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to the Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. Indulge in seasonal flavors and signature cocktails in Article One. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our 24-hour room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing