We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great DC hotel located in a wonderful location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #77 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We were visiting Washington DC for a baseball game and to see family. We enjoyed our stay at Hyatt Capitol Hill, which isn't a surprise as we love staying in Hyatt hotels. The hotel was updated, offered nice hotel rooms, great lobby area and great service.

The Hyatt location to Capitol Hill, monuments, sightseeing and dining was the main reason we booked our stay. We walked everywhere except for a short $12 each way taxi to the National's ballpark.

All hotel staff who we came in contact with whether it was our valet, the bellman, front desk or concierge...they were all helpful and nice. We also never expect to be granted an early check-in, especially on weekends but were pleasantly surprised when we were able to check-in to our room at 10 am. It was very much appreciated, especially after a long car ride with a toddler!

Thank you for another great stay, Hyatt. We will be back again!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eks1222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our fabulous associates. They are truly instrumental in our hotel's success. I'm so happy they were able to accommodate you with early check in. I'm so happy that our hotel's convenient location worked so well for you. I will certainly forward you feedback to our management team. We would love to have you stay with us again. Hope to see you soon.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,397)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,623 - 2,629 of 4,397 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2014

Great room, clean, friendly staff and good service. Easy check in and out as well. Parking was expensive but hotel staff directed us to another parking ramp for half the price one block away. lots of attractions within walking distance, metro stations close by.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Hotel was very clean, staff members were outstanding, fitness center was well-equipped, and my stay was enjoyable. Was in DC to attend a week-long meeting and enjoyed staying at the Hyatt Regency DC. The hotel room was well-laid out and the staff was customer-focused.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

You can't get closer to the Capitol and the mall area unless you sleep on the Capitol steps. The price is the best in Washington for such a great location. Our overall experience was great. I will stay here for all my trips if the future. You can't go wrong with Hyatt, they always do it right.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Rodney W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Great hotel, could not find a better location to enjoy Washington DC. Rooms very clean and updated. Article One Restaurant worth checking out. Great food, especially enjoyed the Filets. Service at this hotel was a 20 out of 10.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
1  Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the hotel's convenient location. I'm happy that you enjoyed your meal at our restaurant. I'm especially delighted to hear about the excellent service you receive from our wonderful associates. We are truly lucky to have such wonderful people working with us as they are truly instrumental in our hotel's success. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Had a train trip to D.C. and this was our hotel for the night. Room was comfy with a view of the area. Went to the bar to get a sandwich for the room and the food was OK. Overall a great stay and would say here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Randolph T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful room accommodations. I will certainly forward all your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Enjoyed my two day tour of DC. The Hyatt was within walking distance from the Amtrak station and all of the attractions in DC. Great fitness room and restuarant. Will definately be staying there again on my next train trip to DC.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Larry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HyattGuestRelations, Guest Relations Associate at Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

Thank you providing your feedback regarding your stay at the Hyatt Regency Washington. I'm so thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location. I'm happy that you enjoyed the all the amenities our hotel has to offer. I will certainly forward your feedback to our management team. I hope you have the opportunity to stay with us again.

Becky S-Guest Relations Associate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#96 of 141 in Washington DC
754 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#69 of 141 in Washington DC
5,108 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,225 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,661 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £126 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing