We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill
Ranked #76 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 26 May 2010

we stayed from may 20-23. they allowed us to check in early since i got there around 9 am although they were not able to give me the king size bed i originally booked but gave us double beds. we didn't mind cause we needed a room for our belongings and needed to freshen up after a long flight. the room was clean and the bedsheets were clean and soft. bed was comfortable as well as the feather pillows. there was a baby next door and we could hear her in the middle of the night crying which means to say that they do not have good insulation/sound proof room at the hyatt. the carpet seemed a bit dirty, it was old and needed to be replaced. i didn't walk barefoot on that carpet as i work in the medical field and know what kind of bacteria are lurking on carpets especially hotel carpets. the bathroom was clean and tidy, although the floor was a bit sticky probably from the solution they use to clean the floor. there is a homeless shelter in the back of the hotel so be careful walking there especially at night. union station was 5 minutes away which has lots of restaurants/shops inside. eating at the hotel is a joke. very expensive and not that good. you'd be better off eating at the union station. the lobby of the hotel is very nice but as i've read in all the other reviews, the rooms were kind of old and needs renovation. staff gave us take out menus since we took a long nap and didnt wake up till 12 am so everything was closed. just ask the front desk plus its cheaper than their bar food. we rode the old town trolley and it was fantastic. the drivers gave lots of history and fun facts about DC and we pretty much toured DC in that 4 days we were there. the trolleys are hop on hop off and it covered the important places you should visit there including arlington cementary in VA. We enjoyed DC and would go back there again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,370)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,747 - 3,753 of 4,370 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2010

I can't think of anything negative to write about our stay! You never know when you book online what you might get but we have absolutely no complaints. The food in the restaurant was wonderful, the hotel staff was courteous and helpful, our room was perfect, and the location was within walking distance of most of the attractions that we wanted to see. And boy, did we do a lot of walking!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyann1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Still a comfortable hotel to stay at. Rooms are decent and resembles a typical Hyatt recent renovation property. The location is fantastic to the mall. Breakfast is a little expensive but you may find it is so filling you won't need lunch. I got my room + breakfast buffet for $140, a great value (Hyatt site, AAA rate).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grif858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2010

Location, location, location. If you are traveling with teenagers on a holiday weekend, as we were, I would 110% suggest to book a suite on a discount website. The one-bedroom suite with a pull out bed or a two-bedroom suite is your best bet. The room service was absolutely fabulous. However, the pool is NOT what it looks like from the pictures. It has a metal bottom, is industrial, tiny, and COMPLETELY overoccuapancy. As you can see, it's not a spa. The locker rooms ajacent to the pool need to be renovated. NOW. The showers are a disgrace. The steamroom was broken. If you don't want to swim with 50 splashing children in a pool the size of my bathtub, don't stay here. The dining area in the lobby, below the escalators also needs to be overhauled. The food was not good at all, and was not a welcoming atmosphere. However, the gift shop is wonderful, as is the huge ballroom complex underneath. I have been to events down there which have been very nice. My kids loved playing on the escalators. For example, their favorite pasttime is walking up the down escalators, etc. No exaggeration. Hotel parking was OUTRAGEOUS at $45 dollars a night. You can park a block away for $25 a night. Overall, this is a business class hotel overrun by families during the school season.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caseyclan3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Capitol Hill for a seminar. The hotel was very clean with lots of open spaces for gathering with groups. The neighborhood around the hotel was clean and safe, I felt comfortable walking alone to nearby restaurants. The food/drinks were pricey but it is a major city so that was to be expected. Despite the large number of people in the hotel, the elevators were quick and efficient. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. There were several restaurants withing walking distance.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannealpha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2010

Stayed at the Hyatt Regency during a conference.

Most Hyatt hotels are among the best of the chains and this is no exception. A nice lobby area and excellent service greets you upon arrival. There is a bar and restaurant off the lobby but I did not eat or drink there.

The rooms are nice, clean and comfortable. Large HD TV, comfortable bed and nice shower. The room was average size but as a solo traveler it was fine.

Used the workout facility and the machine was in good working order and had a nice view of the surrounding DC streets.

As a side note, ate at TenPenh (excellent and elegant Asian), Ristorante La Perla (excellent and elegant Italian) and lunched at Capitol City Brewing Company (great bar type menu).

Overall, excellent stay at the Hyatt. Not very close to the tourist area but walking distance to the Capitol.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterFNYNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2010

As far as Hyatt's and other 4-star accommodation go, this was pretty average. It was a fantastic location, which I was very happy about, but had some faults.
The good:
1. Location was superb - within sight of the Capitol building
2. Food was great (breakfast)
3. Reception was good
4. Beds were comfortable

The not so good:
1. If your room is on the street side, you're just opposite the very busy fire dept - which seems to be called out every hour at night
2. The hotel could use a massive refurb from the lobby to the rooms - including introducing double-glazing to windows in order to cut out street noise

On the whole, it was a good place to stay, but the fire trucks did wake our baby twice, which was a bit of a nuisance, but obviously not the hotel's fault.
It was a good hotel, but with some work could be much better.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HotelLover2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Capitol Hill
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
The Liaison Capitol Hill DC
#98 of 141 in Washington DC
728 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
398 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#83 of 141 in Washington DC
2,652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,077 reviews
Kimpton George Hotel
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
2,218 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill

Address: 400 New Jersey Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#36 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#49 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £115 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill 4*
Number of rooms: 838
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover our historic city from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Enjoy easy access to all attractions of our nation's capital from our ideal location steps to The U.S. Capitol, and just three blocks to Union Station. Walk to famous Smithsonian Museums and The National Mall, tour government centers and The White House, visit monuments and museums, cheer on the Nationals or the Capitals - all just minutes from our Capitol Hill hotel. And don't forget newly opened National Museum of African American History and Culture and Museum of the Bible - both minutes from Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill. Relax and indulge in seasonal flavors & signature cocktails at Article One - American Grill. Named for the corresponding article of the U.S. Constitution, Article One is conveniently situated in our atrium lobby. Open daily for power breakfast, energizing lunch and relaxing dinner. Dine in the privacy of your room with our room service. It's good not to be home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Washington On Capitol Hill Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing