We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel close to National Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #66 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, Maryland, USA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Hotel close to National Theatre”
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The hotel was beautifully decorated for the holidays - worth walking in just to look. The check in and out was easy, we had booked ourselves at the hotel website and prepaid to get a good rate - less than $200 - steps from both the Willard Hotel and the National Theatre. The concierge had a list of restaurants and arranged reservations close by, despite our checking in later than we had expected. Everyone we encountered was professional and well trained.
The room was well appointed and larger than we anticipated. The bed was lovely! We ordered room service for breakfast the next day and it arrived exactly as promised. Expensive, but well done. Only complaint was no newspaper, but with the news as it is, maybe it's better not to read it on a weekend getaway:)
We definitely would stay here again -excellent value, exceptional service, in the heart of DC.

Room Tip: The king bed rooms are located a bit far from the elevators, which the desk staff told us that at ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GMC507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,996 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,242
    1,122
    408
    146
    78
See reviews for
992
541
96
994
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (693)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gretna, Louisiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel as a very convenient location and friendly staff. Lots of security, felt very safe. Lots of good dining options. Room was very clean. I was able to upgrade with no problem. I would recommend this hotel if staying in the DC area, whether for business or for leisure travel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jarrett305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

We only stayed for one night but we had a nice stay at the JW. It was a great location next to Freedom Plaza in DC. The beds were great and the room was very nice.

Only downside was that the parking was WAY overpriced at $50, even for downtown DC. We parked about a block and a half away for $25.

The breakfast buffet was also excellent and the service was outstanding.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adam50young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upstate, New York
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Hotel is a clean, new business style hotel off to the side of downtown and near Lucas Oil stadium and the convention center. It is in a complex of 4 hotels with common underground parking. Its location is off to the side of downtown and in cold or inclement weather you are landlocked to their facilities or you're cabbing it.

People were nice but they charge and charge well for everything. Guarantee $20 or more anytime you visit a restaurant. I attended a business function that had a cash bar and asked for a glass of water - No Can Do - $5 for a bottle. $15 to leave a package at the front desk for FedEx. Of course internet is extra $14.95 for the lesser device to be exact.

If your company is paying the bill enjoy. If its on you try somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BBob14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Good location and hotel. Unfortunately the wifi does not work properly in some rooms (good signal, but extremely slow, sometimes not working for a few minutes). Executive lounge is closed on week-ends and breakfast in then charged to gold and platinum members, which is definitely not a good idea.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank blueskygva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Second time staying here. Supposed to be the upper scale marriott brand. Valet parking is a staggering 49 dollars with tax!!!
Rooms big and well appointed. Beds very comfortable. The bar in the hotel is a low point. Again, second time there and service is abysmally slow. What's worse, it's dirty! Bits of food on the floor and carpets from a busy night, but come on!!!! Someone grab a barroom and dustpan and pick up theCHICKEN AND PIECE OF ROLL UNDER THE COCKTAIL TABLE!!!!????

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank networkConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed at the JW Marriott in Washington DC over Thanksgiving weekend.
We received adjoining rooms as requested on a lower floor also as requested.
The staff was friendly and efficient. The hotel lobby is lovely and was decorated for the holidays.
There was a security officer at the main entrance checking guests' room keys when we returned around midnight one evening.
Only 4 miles from DCA. Walking distance to many tourist sights. Will return for next DC visit

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maine_Idol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
2,263 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
985 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
3,176 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing