We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Expected better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #65 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
154 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Expected better”
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Having stayed at multiple JW's over the years, the Washington DC location was less than what I expected. Fixtures in the bath were rusty. Housekeeping apparently not detail oriented as demonstrated by a large lump of black hair on the shower wall we found that evening. Staff was pleasant, but the place needs a makeover.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GianniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,876 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,180
    1,086
    393
    142
    75
See reviews for
938
524
94
958
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (664)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I recently stayed a here the weekend before Christmas on a trip. I was excited to finally stay in a J.W. Marriott (I think their top brand or at least one of them). My expectations were high and unfortunately they were not met.The hotel lobbies and common areas were all very nice, it was the rooms I was disappointed with. I usually request a room with a king bed but I was informed when I checked in there were only rooms with double beds available. They were able to supply a mini-fridge though which is always a bonus. The room was a little dated with obvious signs of wear and tear, But the biggest issue for me was gap between the door and floor. I could sit right into the hallway, and also hear everything in the hallway. There were a group of people staying together on the floor and were walking the hall most of night and I could hear almost every conversation, My second night I actually put a towel across the floor by the door to eliminate the noise and view into my room. My review rating would have been worst had it not been for the hotel's location (near a bunch of theaters and restaurants) and friendly staff. I am think I would try another hotel in the area the next time I stay in DC based on my perceived value. I also hate paying for internet, which you have to pay for here as well.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCCam94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
225 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

I almost always stay here on my several trips a year to D.C. The location sells it every time. A cab ride from Reagan is usually extremely quick, even when there is heavy traffic, and the jaunt from the hotel to the White House is a breeze. My favorite restaurant in D.C. is Old Ebbitt Grill, even closer than the White House.

My experiences there have almost always been excellent, from the staff to the accommodations to the food. My only complaint is the lack of free Internet connection. What on earth are these hospitality experts doing by not providing this basic service to their clientele, who are paying extremely high prices? I just don't get it and I complain vigorously every time. But I still return. Can't beat the location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ready314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
584 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

The location of this property is a big plus if you are planning to see some sights. The room was nice if a bit small. Requested a king bed but was given two doubles. Staff offered free internet ($12/day) for the inability to provide request. The breakfast buffet is a stiff $30 - which - come on…that's an insane charge. Small charges here and there are beginning to become standard at these properties, and it's turning up the annoyance factor. Their elevators take some getting used to, requested and received late checkout but then are access cards failed to function after they processed them. Requested a fork, and desk said I could go get one myself from the restaurant or they would bring one up. Made the latter choice but it took forever and a call down to ask when I would be getting it.

Room Tip: If you have the extra cash to spend than by all means stay here. If not, or you want to use your fu...
See more room tips
Green Features: They provide a PLASTIC bag to place recyclables in. The window in my room and the surrounding sill and wall area were extremely cold, indicating poor insulation. CFL's were used in the room, a plus. Not sure if there is a low-flow head in the shower.
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

I am torn on this property because in some ways it is really great and in some ways it is just average...I guess I expect a bit more from a JW Marriott, but there are some really great points to this hotel.

The Good:
Location! Walkable to so many things (although I was there for conference in a snowstorm so I didn't get to venture out much). Metro around the corner. Just a really great home base.

Staff! Really friendly staff, which I think makes a big difference.

The Eh:
Wear and Tear. Furnishings, etc. could use a bit of an update. It's starting to show its age.

The Bar. While the restaurant had good food, I was not impressed with the offerings at the bar.

The Elevator Situation. I'm not entirely convinced those new-fangled elevators get you anywhere any faster. And if you get in the elevator and change your mind (you decide to stop by the lobby before going down to the gym floor for example)...too bad! You have to fully get out and then choose your floor again (no buttons inside the elevator). This is definitely not the end of the world, just an observation.

All in all, there's nothing really "bad" about this hotel per se...I can just see little areas for improvement and then they'd really knock it out of the park.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magnolia83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Had a wonderful stay could not find anything wrong with this hotel. The doormen, front desk and house keeping were all top notch. The Willard was right across the street so we treated ourselves to a really nice breakfast buffet. We were invited to tour the WH so location could not be beat, just a short walk down the street.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the Washington Monument
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracy125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2013 via mobile

Hotel is nice... Don't get me wrong. JW toiletries and bedding etc. The rooms are small but the bathroom is where this hotel really lacks. The bathrooms are so small for a "luxury" it is almost comical. Health club is excellent. Large with new equipment. I am a huge Marriott fan but this was just "okay".

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ilovelamp27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,191 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 936 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing