We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, quiet and well-placed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #65 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 6 January 2014

As a conference attendee, following a 14hr flight, I was not looking for much - simply a good night's sleep, a good breakfast and possibly a nice view. The hotel certainly provided that, the rooms were clean, breakfast was hearty and the location was great for the one day off for sightseeing that I had. The starbucks on the ground level was also a welcome alternative for breakfast when rushing off to early morning seminars. Was slightly surprised by the 'mail handling and delivery fee' charged on a parcel I had delivered to the hotel - am I getting old?. Overall, a great, comfortable base in Washington DC.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauli_G308272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,697 - 1,703 of 3,075 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2014

This Marriott is fine, but honestly there is nothing special about the hotel itself. We did not want to pay for an upgraded view, so we had a view of another building and the courtyard by the pool room. My in-laws upgraded their view and could see the Washington Monument. There were 4 of us in one small room, and we had two double beds, so it was a bit tight, but my in-laws had a king, and felt like they had more room. The bathroom is one of the smallest I've experienced in a Marriott. Only one of us could be in there at a time unless someone was in the shower. We On the plus side, being a JW Marriott, the upgraded bath amenities were great, and we loved the rain shower head. Other annoyances typical of many upscale city hotels is the parking - $50 per night, and you must pay for wi-fi.

However, we picked this hotel for its location, and it really is hard to beat. We could walk to the White House and the museums on the mall, which is why we came, and with the weather being very cold, it was nice to have a relatively short walk when we went out. There are also plenty of shops and restaurants close to the hotel so if you want a centrally located hotel, this is a good choice.

Room Tip: pay for the view, and ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlovingfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

"Overall, I agree with other reviewers in the respect that the location is outstanding. The lobby was beautiful, the rooms were okay, not in great shape. Our room was not ready when we arrived, we had to store our luggage in the room of our friends who had the room on the opposite side of our suite. We were told that we would receive a phone call as soon as the room was ready. We did not. The TV in the gathering area of the suite was not working properly. We were told a technician could come up to look at it, but we didn't want to be inconvenienced anymore that day. The shower in our room would not stay on, kept slipping, but again, we were there on holiday and just dealt with it. The staff was for the most part very nice and apologetic, acknowledging the hotel has issues that they are trying to address. From what we observed it seemed their biggest problem was they were understaffed and overwhelmed for sure. The icing on the cake was the disgusting cheese platter served to us in the sport bar New Year's eve. It looked as though they scraped together the leavings of others and threw them on a plate with stale nuts. As platinum members we are supposed to have use of the Club Lounge, which is very small. There was no seating at anytime we tried to avail ourselves of this amenity. The staff were working their tails off trying to keep up. You'd think they would be smart enough to open a meeting room that wasn't being used to accommodate larger parties or the overflow. As a business owner myself lack of common sense to fix simple issues eludes me. This is the first time for us at the JW brand, and were highly disappointed as we expected it to be a bit of a cut above the others, sadly it was not.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brina723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

On my first visit to DC, I was unsure about hotels and neighborhoods. I guessed that anything near the White House would be a safe area, and I selected JW Marriott because this hotel chain is consistently good. It turned out to be a great choice! I was impressed immediately upon entering the grand lobby. The concierge was very helpful. It was very convenient to have Starbucks and two restaurants on the property. The rooms were comfortable, clean, and modern. No fan in the bathroom. I never had to wait more than 30 seconds for an elevator. Taxis are always available right our front. The location is fantastic! It is within easy walking distance of many museums, Ford Theatre, aquarium, Old Post Office, the White House, and restaurants. I will stay here again if I return to Washington.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ValueWithClass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This facility provides an outstanding combination of amenities for holiday travelers such as my wife and I. The room accommodations and views of downtown DC are impressive. Proximity to museums, the White House, shopping and fine restaurants makes this choice easy for me. Valet parking was efficient - however pricey. The most enjoyable aspect of our stay was the friendliness and caring attitude of the entire staff. It's a pleasure to spend an entire hotel stay without a single hitch - from check-in to checkout

Room Tip: Room with a view of Pennsylvania is woth the cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck_Barb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We have stayed at a few different J.W. Marriott locations, and always had a great stay. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. I particularly enjoyed this hotel because of its location. You can easily walk to the National Mall and all of the major attractions that people visit: The White House, the Washington Monument, and all of the great Smithsonian museums.

We visited both restaurants in the hotel, and enjoyed both. "1331" is a bar/lounge type establishment. We happened to be staying over on a Sunday, and found it a great place to sit back, relax and watch some football.

Room Tip: We always request a king-size bed. Adds another element of luxury to the trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The lobby was grand and looked great at xmas time. As a gold member with my family they upgraded our room to an extremely large corner room. Unbelievable location next to white house and short walk to national mall. We also had a great dinner on our night of arrival at their own restaurant. Great free and fast wifi in the lobby but absolutely terrible reception and speed in the room.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank kwexel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#58 of 142 in Washington DC
2,307 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,219 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#69 of 142 in Washington DC
4,905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1330 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £148 - £518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 777 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Stop by our all-day dining restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order a signature cocktail & light fare from 1331 Lounge. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing