We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location hard to beat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #67 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 March 2014

We have stayed here twice. The first time we got lucky and they bumped us up to a room off the balcony which was magical! We had a view from the Capital all the way past the Washington Monument. The room was fine, but that view and all of the open space made up for the mediocre room. There was a small patio set outside and it was nice to have a glass of wine at night up there.

On our second stay last year, the first room we were given had what seemed like paper thin walls. We could hear our neighbor's TV blasting all night, as if it was in our room. We went downstairs the next morning and they quickly moved our room. This room was fine, the beds were acceptable, but the view was nice. It was a corner room and we had a nice view of the Washington Monument.

The staff was pleasant enough, but the valet/bell staff was outstanding. The lobby was pretty, but a little sterile. The close proximity to the food court made grabbing a quick bite a breeze. We did find that the food court closed pretty early, though. The hotel restaurant's food was fine, but again, the staff was superb. The location of this hotel is outstanding, easy walk virtually every where.

The hotel is a little overpriced, but you are paying for your location.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edwardNsandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,152)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,752 - 1,758 of 3,152 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

This hotel is one block from the White House and is in a great location in the US capital. Otherwise, it is quite an ordinary hotel and a bit of a disappointment. Room was average size and the bed was comfortable. Furniture was a bit worn and scratched. The room was dirty. The dust on the furniture was quite noticeable and the dirt along the carpet edge was quite prominent. The room had one of those stupid electronic minbars taht automatically charge you for moving an item but there was not sign of notice to the customer. The executive lounge was average, at best, and the breakfast was the usually bland scrambled eggs and a few other items. I probably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheMulv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I'm sorry your stay was not what you had hoped for, as we certainly strive to make it so. While many appreciate the convenience of the snacks available on the desktop, others do not and we can always remove them at your request prior to your arrival.

There is no excuse for dust having been overlooked and for that I apologize. We will use your feedback to encourage our housekeeping team to be more diligent on behalf of you and other valued JW Marriott guests.

Please contact me if you return to Washington and allow me to try and upgrade your experience on your return.

Many thanks,
Dan McKeon
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

The location can't be beat for DC business with quick access to DCA. The hotel is very nice, though there could be some small improvements. The HVAC system was loud in the room and some small maintenance issues were present in the hotel that were open for anyone to see and were not addressed in the three days I was there. The room is modern and spacious, the internet worked well and the gym was full of working equipment.
So I would give it a 4star, but the service was always extremely friendly, very accommodating for the requests I had, and the hotel was very well staffed and managed. Thus.. 5 star. Thanks!

Room Tip: Ask for south facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here overnight with my sister on Marriott points and we enjoyed a room with two doubles and a picturesque city view. Very large hotel but not overwhelming as some can be. Easy check-in, warm greeting upon arrival. Very quiet room, decorated very nicely and did not feel worn or outdated at all. Comfortable, but not spacious bathroom. Would definitely return. Great location for exploring the center of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlizBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here for the first time. First, take the cab from the airport as it is 2 blocks from the Metro (Metro Center). Lobby is beautiful, check in was fast, select your elevator from the outside - then get on your assigned elevator. Conseiger room is a little small so plan according. Room is nice, suites are very big and roomy. Restaurants are nearby, White house, Mall, etc...

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cordon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here in December 2013 for a business meeting at the White House. The location was perfect. Only a short stroll to 1600 Penn.
The room was comfortable and quiet. The staff were helpful and the valet service was fast and reasonable. The nightly rate was very competetive with other hotels in the area.
I ate dinner at the Avenue Grill and had an amazing meal with top notch service.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I stayed here recently for a business meeting. I had not stayed here for a number of years, but was really pleased that my meeting was here. The JW did not disappoint. It appears that my room had been redone in the last year or so and it was beautifully done. The furniture was very nice and adequate. The beds were heavenly. I had one of the best sleeping nights ever. I was on the second floor overlooking Pennsylvania Avenue, yet my room was very quiet. The bathroom looks like it has a granite countertop with room for cosmetics, the shower was nice and clean and the shower and floors are covered with beautiful polished stone. The entry has a nice wood floor to give a nice punch to the room. The room and the hotel has nice black and white photos of Washington throughout. The staff was very responsive to my needs and everyone is friendly. The best part is that the JW is nicely located, within walking distance of the White House and museums. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking Pennsylvania Avenue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
2,357 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#62 of 141 in Washington DC
1,776 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#68 of 141 in Washington DC
5,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#32 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#39 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £153 - £450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel in downtown Washington, D.C. benefits from a perfect location in the heart of the nation's capital near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 777 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Stop by our all-day dining restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order a signature cocktail & light fare from 1331 Lounge. If you're in D.C. for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing