We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Stay in DC!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #64 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Smith Mountain Lake, Virginia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay in DC!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

Last year, the group I was with stayed at another Marriott in DC was just so-so. However, this year (May 4-7, 2014) we had a large group who stayed at the Marriott Georgetown at the corner of 22nd St. NW and M Street! Every single staff member that I came into contact with was terrific: Front Desk staff were able to get my into my room at noon (which was impeccably clean and comfortable), they ordered and quickly had a small refrigerator delivered to my room, answered any and all questions I had with courtesy and correct information. Every staffer in a hallway would smile and say hello, how are you doing today! Wow! Individuals in the lounge (Sam at the bar) and the dining area (thank you, Sean McCrary, for allowing six of our group to enjoy our Chinese carryout in the lounge area our last evening) were all wonderful. Customer service was always excellent! John at the Concierge Desk was an absolute charm, helpful above and beyond the usual service, as was the evening Lobby Manager, Shaheem (sp?) who even helped us out on the phone trying to get our order placed with Minyah Chinese restaurant! I cannot say enough good things and will highly recommend that we stay here again next May for an annual visit to Capitol HIll to lobby Congress.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front of the hotel facing 22nd Street do get a lot of street noise from sirens at nearb...
See more room tips
Green Features: JW Marriott hotels seem to be committed to being "green" with linens. They could place glass and aluminum can recycling bins and newspaper bins in the area on each floor where the ice and drink machines are located to boost their environmentally-friendly image.
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayfarer1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,839 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,162
    1,079
    386
    139
    73
See reviews for
925
517
93
947
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (657)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

For years, each time we visited D.C. with our two daughters we stayed at the J.W. Marriott.
The location is superb - walking distance to the White House (when you could visit the White House without having special contacts). The hotel was also attached to a mall that the girls loved. That Mall is no longer in existence.
I took my daughter and her two daughters to D.C. Easter week. Unfortunately the Cherry Blossoms had died due to the snow and cold just a few days before.
There is a food court which is good for families. You can walk to so many places and places to dine. There is an indoor swimming pool that the girls loved as mine did but the pool was freezing cold.

The hotel had children's movies every evening with popcorn and cold drinks - for free. A great gesture.

But it is time that this hotel gets an update and refurbished - something other than the elevators which took me a few minutes to figure out (you don't just press a button, and can only get on one that you programmed for your floor).

Good location, nice staff, but for the price it needs some polishing - updating.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milhouse17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frederick, Maryland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed one night this past weekend as we were going to a show at the National Theater right next door. I booked the hotel on Priceline and expected to receive just average service once the hotel staff member checking me in realized that. What I got was just the opposite - the reception clerk was extremely friendly and we were given a nice king room overlooking the Washington monument. Everyone we encountered was very professional and pleasant.

We took advantage of the hotel bar's $5 happy hour to grab a small meal before our show. We expected small appetizer-size servings, so we ordered three different items. We got three large plates of food and had leftovers to take back to the room.

We loved the area and would definitely stay here again when we have more time to explore the city. Easy walking distance from the metro station (Red Line Metro Center). Lots of shops and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sherry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This past weekend, I took my 10-year old granddaughter to Washington D.C. for a birthday weekend and we stayed at the J.W. Marriott. The location was perfect. It was a short walk to the Smithsonian Museums, the White House, the monuments, shopping and wonderful restaurants. When asked by the front desk the reason for our visit and telling them about the birthday trip, the staff went out of their way to make my granddaughter's visit special, including bringing up a plate of desserts with a birthday card signed by about 10 of the staff members. She is already talking about a trip back next year and I can't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We are going to Washington DC every April or May from last five years. We stay at this property every time and we live it. very nice location on 14th street and Pennsylvania ave. All visiting places walking distance and nice restaurants are also walking distance. We also get vegetarian choices in all restaurants. My favorites is Mediterranean, Indian and Italian were we get lot of choices and very near. We usevally stay in room number 831 or 731 or 931. This time we stayed in 1131 but I personally like little lower floor better. Rooms are big, clean and very nice view of white house loan, Pennsylvania ave. and monuments. Staff is some time very nice and some time very very bed. This time we got lucky and got nice receptionist and housekeeping staff was good.

Room Tip: Room on Pennsylvania and 14th street corner rooms. My favorite is 731 or 831 or 931.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtravel11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
487 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

This is a centrally located hotel with close proximity (walking distance) to most sites. It's right down the street from the White House, the mall and all of the Smithsonian museums. There are often parades and large public gatherings that take place on a large square out front of the hotel. O(n my last visit there, it was Emancipation Day. There were marching bands, and different groups marching in a parade, as well as concerts on the main stage on the square. The hotel is clean, and comfortable, and I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wyoming
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The location of this hotel to the White House, restaurants and shopping is ideal. All, other than shopping, are within walking distance. All employees were extremely helpful. Shoe-shiner on the main level did an outstanding job for a fair price.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WYBigSky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#53 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,172 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Marriott, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing