We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay...could have been slightly better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #65 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Having arrived in DC from Boston where I stayed at the Revere Hotel (which included free wi-fi, shoe-shine and complimentary champagne on check-in) I was expecting a little more from a huge name like JW Marriott.

Although wi-fi in the lobby is free, having to pay extra to get it in your room seems a little backwards for what should be a "modern" hotel. The shower didn't work properly one day but maintenance fixed it within 5 minutes without me even explaining what the problem was! Seemed like it was a regular issue which they were happy to keep repairing regularly rather than solve the matter entirely.

Having said that, the location was fantastic. As a first time visitor to DC most the attractions (Washington Monument, The White House and some of the Smithsonian museums) were within walking distance. A cab to Georgetown was fast and less than $15 so it was easy and relatively inexpensive to get there.

The lobby looks fantastic and the room itself was very nice. The beds were very comfortable and allowed for a great night's sleep. Shame I was on the 3rd floor which meant I didn't have a great view from the room.

Service from the staff was great and all issues/questions were answered quickly and the concierge had a couple of great recommendations for restaurants!

Room Tip: Choose a room on a higher floor to potentially get a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunilunadkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,075)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,545 - 1,551 of 3,075 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is an excellent hotel, in an excellent location. Very central, close to main attractions and Metro. HOWEVER..... It is not cheap and for the cost I expected complimentary WiFi, and possibly, to include breakfast. It did include neither! That is probably enough to stop me returning. I arrived in the evening on Sunday feeling shattered after a long trip and the person who checked me in, Carlos, was absolutely wonderful! Coffee, tea and water in the room, as well as the fridge, were most welcome!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank expatEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for providing your feedback to us on your recent stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us as well as taking the time to complete this review.

While we are not able to provide complimentary internet in guest rooms it is avaialble complimentary in the lobby area which offers a Starbucks as well as ample seating for working and relaxing. There are also rate packages that do include breakfast for two available. I apologize you were not able to reserve one of these packages for your stay.

I'm glad to hear that you had a wonderful check in with Carlos, one of our most delightful associates. We do look forward to welcoming you back to the JW Marriott Washington DC and hope you will give us another change to be at your service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having stayed in DC numerous times, this is just a great location...nice pool as well.

It's about a 10 minute walk to the mall - maybe less. A few good restaurants.

The room was large, and we ahead a magnificent view from the 14th floor. L

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Seeyalaterbuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

we relocated here after the Marriott Marquis screwed up our adjoining rooms and the JW Marriott was very accommodating. the room wasn't ready when we moved over but the staff was very attentive and called when the room was ready. the rooms are small [adequate size and appropriate for DC] which made getting ready at the same time as my wife a challenge.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerome o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

When your hotel is two blocks from the White House and walking distance to everything that is D.C it is hard to complain. But beyond the location the staff were on top form. This is an area where I have little give. I have to say from the moment we checked in to the moment we left they were observant, polite and did all they could to help.Like many of you the fact Marriott still charge for internet is beyond me. But that was the only issue I had during our entire stay.
The milk and cookies sent up for the kids was impressive.

If you can request the 12th floor with the view-it really is quite spectacular. You have an enormous veranda and you can enjoy it looking out over monuments and even and entrance to the White House.

Room Tip: Room 1269 with two beds and a view!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank will19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

I just got back from a two night stay at this property during the last weekend of June. We had a room on the second floor, with two double beds. Beds were comfortable, and the room was clean and extremely well-appointed, with plush towels, smooth linens and terry bathrobe. Our room, which was located halfway down the hall from the elevator, was extremely quiet, and we slept soundly and LATE with the amazing black out shades! We were just very comfortable in the room. Valet service was also excellent and the staff at the hotel was friendly and accommodating, with no exceptions. The hotel is located a stone's throw from the White House, and within a few minutes walk to the Washington Monument. Lots of restaurants located proximately to the hotel, and a Starbucks in the lobby was a big plus. I will surely stay here again for my next DC weekend.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor in a room without a city view - it was extremely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ARG1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Having stayed at JWs in Hong Kong, Guangzhou and Chicago, the DC location who bills itself as the flagship JW does not live up to its name. It's a fantastic location, close to the sights and the Metro station. Unfortunately, the rooms are dated and the quality of the staff is lacking. There are large gouges in the furniture, the hair dryer is probably 10 years old, and more importantly, the staff is less than courteous (having experienced A+ service at the other locations, it's something that I've come to expect from the JW staff). And by great service, all I'm asking for is a knowledgable concierge and employees who actually greet you (rather than stare until you say 'good morning' and respond with a grunt). Pretty sure the Renaissance Marriott would be a better option!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

I appreciate the time you took to review our property. Your feedback is one of the best tools that we have to better service our guests in the future.

I would like to sincerely apologize for the inconveniences that you experienced during your stay. For our staff to be unpleasant and not as friendly as you're used to is completely unacceptable. We pride ourselves in hiring friendly, charismatic, and outgoing associates.

Again, please allow me to express my apologies that your stay was less than excellent. If you are ever traveling to the DC area in the future, please reach out to me directly and I'd be happy to assist in any way possible.

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#57 of 142 in Washington DC
2,308 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 142 in Washington DC
4,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Address: 1330 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £148 - £524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 777 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Stop by our all-day dining restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order a signature cocktail & light fare from 1331 Lounge. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing