We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
W Washington D.C.(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Harrington(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hyatt Washington(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hay-Adams(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,201)
Filter reviews
3,201 results
Traveller rating
1,336
1,194
425
155
91
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,336
1,194
425
155
91
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite houseavenue grillgreat locationthe concierge loungegreat view of the washington monumentthe corner bakerywithin walking distancenational mallsmithsonian museumsroom serviceindoor pooltwo blocksper nightlarge hotelcorner roomtwo double bedslincoln memorial
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,615 - 1,620 of 3,201 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent last weekend at this JW. It was our fourth visit and my husband is a Platinum Life member, very knowledgable about Marriott standards. This hotel has changed and now has poor guest services above the lobby. Ahead of our visit, we requested a 'feather free' room and walked into a feather room ( after walking around waiting for it). It took 3 calls to get a working coffee maker and they finally knocked on our door at 10:45 p.m. Housekeeping clearly forgot our room on Saturday and my husband reminded them as we left for dinner around 4:45 pm! The room we had was a twin of a Coutyard room, but the bathroom was smaller!
The concierge staff, bellmen and parking staff are excellent. This is a great location for conventioneers and tourists, but it is not a luxury hotel anymore!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMcKeon, Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Hello Anne S,

I am disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. Given the previous stays you have had with us - you know we are better than this particular stay reflects. As you noted in your review, being lifetime Platinum members, you know the level of service we hold ourselves to. When we recieve feedback like this, I want you to know we take it very seriously and will look at it as an opportunity for our staff to learn. With regards to the observations about the room - you should know we are completely renovating each guest room beginning in December of this year. By April, we will have a completely new product for our guests. We would be delighted if you choose to stay with us again in the future so that we may regain your trust in our hotel and our brand.

If I may be of any further assistance please contact me directly.

Best wishes,

William Canning
Assistant Front Desk Manager
william.canning@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

JW's care and service exceeded my expectations that last four times I stayed there. The staff is wonderful and they recognized me every time I paid a visit. Great facilities, small rooms with high prices but all worth it for the service.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

This hotel is located 3 blocks away from the White House and many sightseeing interests. The lobby area and halls are lovely. We stayed in a king room on the 7th floor and had balcony access. The room was ok but the furnishings, walls, bathroom door, bathroom outlet were all banged up and needed painted or repaired to some degree. The balcony had a lovely view but had no type of seating. I realize they worry about things being thrown off, but there has to be a way to anchor some furniture down so that you can enjoy it more. Also there should be some type of wall separating each room on the balcony as the rooms open up with French doors and this could easily be a security issue for break-ins and "peeping toms" from one room to another. The hotel is across the street from Freedom Plaza where many protests and demonstrations begin so there is some noise but the room was very quiet. We didn't mind it but some may. We did have one night that from 3-4 am our neighbors were very loud. We could barely hear street noise but we could really hear the neighbors. We didn't call the front desk because we were awake due to the bed being uncomfortable. The bed was very hard. The mattress was very firm and with just a sliver of a pillowtop or mattress pad, a real pain on joints such as hips.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank monails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DanielMcKeon, Resident Manager at JW Marriott Washington, DC, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to make us aware of your experience with the JW Marriott Washington, DC.

You indicated in your response that your stay was unsatisfactory. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you may have experienced. We take great pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction.

Also, you will be happy to learn that our rooms are scheduled for a renovation late this year, which is a high priority for this hotel.

We truly value the loyalty of our Elite members and are always looking for ways to enhance our service. It’s our hope that you will give us another chance in the future to showcase our improvements.


Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Location is excellent, I really can't imagine a more convenient address if you're in DC to see the sights. The service was some of the best I've ever experienced. (The only downside was the service in the lobby lounge. Bartenders and servers were slow and unprofessional, not at all up to the service standards of the hotel in general). As it was my children's first trip to DC we asked for a room with a view and the front desk agent was MORE than accommodating. The view and access to the ENORMOUS balcony really made the stay something special. Special thanks to the valet crew!!! We were on a month-long road trip so our car was complete with a 4-bike rack and massive Thule on the roof. We didn't clear the garage, but they took care of us (and our "swagger wagon") without blinking ... MUCH appreciated! Everyone we encountered (pool attendant, concierge room attendants, concierges and doormen) went above and beyond to make us, and more importantly our children, feel welcome (not always the case with children in the more corporate-minded hotels). All in all it was an excellent stay at a stellar property.

Room Tip: If you're able to book a room with balcony access do it!
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank castmember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

While only there for a couple of nights, my stay at the JW Marriott was quite pleasant with quite surrounding and a sense that you were in the heart of the capital. You could easily walk to such things as the newly refurbished Washington Monument and other attractions.The staff is attentive, the rooms comfortable and the amenities quite nice.

Room Tip: Good location from which to explore Washington.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Hugh C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews