We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #66 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Like others have stated, this hotel is beautiful and centrally located. Service is great and check-in simple. Aside from the usual Washington sights there are dozens of great restaurants within easy walking distance. The only downside is the costly in-room Wi-Fi!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scottsdalelarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,184
    1,087
    395
    143
    75
See reviews for
938
527
94
963
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (667)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location is right in the heart of attractions and you can walk anywhere! The staff is wonderful and concierge lounge for rewards members is definitely excellent! The rooms are plenty big enough to be functional and compare to any other city size room. Bathrooms small but will be corrected soon with renovation

Room Tip: Ask for Pennsylvania Ave side but some windows are high so must stand to look out---- when you do it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshireSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The staff is wonderful and you are close to everything!
The room was superb!
You can walk to all the attractions, restaurants, landmarks, museums.
The tourist buses stop is one block ahead.
We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The location is great. You can walk to all the major attractions. I walked all the way to Georgetown on Pennsylvania. You can also rent a city bike near the hotel for a $7 membership fee, plus additional charges based on time (hint: the first 30 min. are free, and as long as you check your bike in at any of the numerous locations every 30 min, you can check it back out without any additional charges and ride all day for free).

The rooms are dated and could use an upgrade. My room smelled mildewed, so I asked for another room. They assured me not all their rooms smell. My second room also had a mildewed smell. I live in dry climate and don't notice similar odors at home, but maybe people in humid areas are used to the mildewy A/C smell. I'm sure there's a way to eliminate it if Marriott only spent the money.

The gym is large and has many machines.

Hamilton's restaurant, nearby, is a good spot for some crab cakes.

The food in the bar was nothing special.

The staff is very friendly and helpful. It was noticeable that the manager has placed an emphasis on service.

Like many other reviewers have stated, "IT'S TIME TO STOP CHARGING FOR WIFI!!!" It's a basic utility, like power or water. When I pay almost $300 per night, I expect wifi to be included. It's tacky and in bad taste to charge for wifi. If Marriott bothered to do a survey, they would find that they are pissing off a good chunk of their market with this tactic.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

My husband & I just returned from a long weekend in DC. We stayed at the JW Marriott primarily because of it's location. We were able to walk most everywhere; local sites, great bars & restaurants, shops and the Metro station. The hotel was clean, staff were friendly and helpful. We had a corner room and although a bit small, it was fine for a short stay. Check-in and check-out were quick and easy. We hope to return in a few months and will stay here again. The only reason I'm not giving 5 stars is because the restaurants within the hotel were usually empty and the décor not inviting, so we chose to walk elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beaglefan22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FORT LAUDERDALE
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We visited on a family vacation and both my daughter and I were very pleased with the hotel. We arrived before noon on our check-in day and only expected to drop our bags before exploring the city. Mylene at the front desk told us she had a room available and we were able to check-in early, leaving the remainder of the day to do as we pleased, not worrying about having to come back to the hotel at a certain time to get our room. Mylene was overly gracious with my daughter and made her feel special. She gave her a scavenger hunt and provided a prize when it was completed. This is the kind of great service you hope for but rarely receive. Mylene should be commended by her management for the great service she provides I certainly will stay at this hotel again when traveling to Washington D.C.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PAUL G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pinehurst, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The hotel was perfectly situated very close to multiple landmarks (White House, Smithsonian, National Archives, etc) and within a very short (10-15 min max) walking distance of the Metro. The staff was extremely friendly and went out of their way to treat me as a valued guest. The room was nicely appointed and well designed for its space.

Room Tip: Recommend a room on the south side to capture the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M M S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
W Washington DC
W Washington DC
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,194 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 939 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#17 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing