We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not great for buisness travel in summer...kids!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Ranked #65 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Panama City, FL
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great location, not great for buisness travel in summer...kids!”
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Modern hotel in very central DC location. Rooms are well appointed and comfortable. I frequently stay in this hotel but have learned to avoid during spring and summer. As a Gold Rewards member I generally take advantage of the executive lounge at most Marriott's. They are great for breakfast or a quiet place to unwind after a long day. But not at this location during the family vacation season! Kids running up and down the halls slamming doors at all hours, health club and pool are overrun, and worst of all the executive lounge. One or two families will take up all of the seating that will normally seat lots of single business guests, and forget about any of the food. The same families of kids will wipe the place out like a swarm of locusts.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PCtraveler02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    1,125
    408
    146
    79
See reviews for
996
542
96
997
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (695)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Just returned from my first and last stay there. $570 (incl tax) per night for a small room on the first floor with two double beds. $13 more for internet. I ordered a chop salad and wine from room service. "Would you like water with that?" "Sure". It arrived 45 minutes later, small salad, drenched in dressing, $14 for a small glass of Sauv blanc, and an extra $10 charge for bottled water. I travel weekly, and have never been abused like this.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpatter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto area
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2009

They've fixed the slow elevator problem with their new system. This location can't be beat for walking to Smithsonian Museums, White House, Washington Monument. Lots of restaurants close by, just ask the Concierge. We would skip the buffet brekkie ($50 for two with tip), although the staff was friendly, efficient and the food was good if it had been $30 for two. The room was a little small, but sufficient. The beds were really comfortable. We bid on a 3 Star or better on Priceline and got this, so were very happy. Valet parking $40/day, only to be expected. Free in and out, but we walked everywhere. Loved Fogo de Chao - if you love meat, you will love this all you can eat slow grilled Brazillian barbecue served at your table by gauchos. It's a fun night and only five minutes walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MomDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2009

Location, Location, Location! Great place too stay. Close to everything. The staff there was excellent! I will be staying there again. Book in advance for a better rate.
Well worth the money.
One downfall..........dont order the pizza in room service. I am pretty sure it was frozen pizza.

Stayed October 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank onvaykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

I just returned from a weekend stay at the JW Marriott. We were in town for the Library of Congress Book Festival at the National Mall. As other have stated, the hotel is located very close to many attractions and sights. We were able to walk to many places from our hotel and found everything very easily. The rooms here are pretty average, bed comfortable with many pillows, and bathrooms are adequate. I like an exhaust fan in the bathroom and the shower itself was a bit dark since no light within the shower. There is a note that lets you know not to touch anything or else it will be billed to your room. I found myself very happy that my four year old was not in this hotel room - for this reason alone! I was disappointed to see that the refrigerator that is in your room is completely filled with Marriott drinks and such ahead of time and is NOT to be used as a typical refrigerator. One can be brought to your room if requested. I brought several bottles of water from home, hoping to cool them in the fridge. So instead of going thru the hassle of requesting one, we filled up the ice bucket with ice and chilled the water that way. We had a view of 14th Street, but could see the Washington Monument as well. We enjoyed breakfast one morning in the Avenue Grill - $20 for the buffet and all was fresh and good. The service at this hotel was wonderful. The staff was very mindful of all that was needed and always very quick to help and give a greeting!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach Bum Woman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2009

I stayed here over a weekend and found my stay at the Marriott very enjoyable. The location is great for sightseeing and the Metro is only a short walk away. The room was clean although the bathroom is small for this standard of hotel. Like others have warned, take care not to pick up anything from the "goodie" tray in the room as you will be charged for the privilege. Check your bill carefully; I was charged $14 for stuff on that tray and I swear I didn't so much as look at the products far less touched them. The receptionist deducted thus from my bill without any problem, but why not just remove the trays from the rooms? They are just a nuisance and distraction! There was a large flat screen TV and more pillows than I have ever seen on one bed before!
The lobby is huge and the service at the bar I found to be excellent. Concierge was very helpful and they held my bags for a few hours after I checked out which was handy.
All in all, an excellent standard of hotel in a great location for sightseeing (the White House is a couple of blocks away), the Metro, and there are numerous restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2009

The location was absolutely perfect. Yes the room and bath were a bit small, but well appointed with comfortable beds, large flat screen TV, HBO and plenty of channels. The rooms were cleaned and restocked each day and they brought a wine opener upon request (no charge). The pool is also small, but they make up for it with the Jacuzzi, fresh fruit, water, and towels. The atrium is gorgeous with fresh exotic flowers and several grand chandeliers. I loved it so much I extended my stay an extra night! Good job Marriott. D.C. has happy hour deals everyday so you'll have no problem finding a place to hang out, have a drink and a decent meal.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shai22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
W Washington D.C.
W Washington D.C.
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
2,267 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 141 in Washington DC
987 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,178 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 141 in Washington DC
4,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Washington, DC

Property: JW Marriott Washington, DC
Address: 1331 Pennsylvania Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20004-1710
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Green Hotel in Washington DC
#30 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#63 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Washington, DC 4*
Number of rooms: 777
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Refined elegance and understated luxury welcome you at the JW Marriott Washington, DC. Our hotel benefits from a perfect location in the heart of downtown Washington, DC, near world-famous landmarks including the White House and the National Theatre. Every one of our 772 rooms and suites offer flat-screen televisions, luxury bedding, and Marriott's signature Plug-In technology panels. Additional hotel amenities include a modern fitness center and an indoor pool and whirlpool. Stop by our award-winning hotel restaurant, Avenue Grill, or order room service any time of the day or night. If you're in Washington, DC for work, you can take advantage of our full-service business center and our 29 versatile and sophisticated meeting room venues. Be sure to take time to explore the city, however; our hotel is just a block from the Metro, and within walking distance of many of downtown Washington, DC's best-known attractions. We invite you to experience the charm and quiet luxury of JW Marriott Washington, DC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Washington Dc Hotel Washington Dc
Marriott Washington Dc
Washington Dc Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing