We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
JW Marriott Washington, DC
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
W Washington D.C.(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Hotel Harrington(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Hyatt Washington(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hay-Adams(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,196)
Filter reviews
3,196 results
Traveller rating
1,333
1,193
425
155
90
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,333
1,193
425
155
90
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswhite houseavenue grillgreat locationthe concierge loungegreat view of the washington monumentthe corner bakerywithin walking distancenational mallsmithsonian museumsroom serviceindoor pooltwo blocksper nightlarge hotelcorner roomtwo double bedslincoln memorial
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,766 - 2,771 of 3,196 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2009

this is an incredibly expensive business hotel with a great location. other than the hotel immediately across the street, there really isn't a better location for sightseeing than this one. if you learn how to snake you way through the attached shopping center, you can easily get to other restaurants and the metro without venturing outside but for a few blocks.

however, that's about all good i can say for this hotel. we paid big bucks for it (upwards of $400/night--all charged to work so we didn't care), and we got the same customer service as a hampton inn. seeing how location is there strong-point, you'd think that they would give you a handy map to help you find your way through the attached mall to the metro, but they do not. it took me several tries before i could even find the attached food court.

valet service is a joke. if you want your car, call down 30 minutes at least before you need it. they are rude as well.

the concierge is unhelpful. when i asked about the closest open restauarant, i was handed a list. no one mentioned being able to walk though the attached mall to quickly get to other restaurants on the north side of the hotel. i was annoyed.

the room is approximately the size of a postage stamp. we had two queen beds. one of them was about six inches from the chair that is in front of the desk. if someone was sitting in that chair at the desk, you had to crawl across the bed to get to the other side of the room. it was that squished.

if you get a great deal on this hotel (or are not paying for it) and location is critical to you, i would still recommend it. prepare for crazy long wait for valet parking and figure out that food court/mall shortcut yourself, and you will be happy there--as long as you don't have too much luggage in your room and are not paying a crazy rate.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julie1218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We spent 5 days/4 nights at the JW Marriott with our 2 teenage children and would highly recommend it. We were within walking distance to most attractions (National Mall, Smithsonian museums, Bureau of Engraving, Washington Monument). It is located just a few blocks from the Metro which we used to go to Arlington National Cemetary and Georgetown. Although the rooms are small, they were adequate for our family of 4. We requested a rollaway bed and it was delivered to our room in minutes. The rollaway was very comfortable and both kids were fighting over who would get to sleep in it. We found the best rate through the Marriott website and booked a city view room with daily breakfast for 2 for only $199 (+ tax). The included breakfast could be used for the $19.95 breakfast buffet or for made to order breakfast which ranged from around $15 - $18. We tried both and they were excellent. The breakfast buffet had an omelet station, lots of fresh fruit, eggs, and other standard breakfast fare. They also had assorted granola bars and pop tarts which were great for take along snacks. My daughter loved to sit on the window sill and watch the skate boarders and traffic below. We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank frontkaMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We originally selected the hotel for its location, pool (we were traveling with our kids), and the great rate we received. We loved it! From the minute we arrived, the staff was friendly and courteous. We wondered if the hotel would be appropriate for a family and it was. Great location close to the south end of the mall. We really enjoyed the 313 restaurant in the hotel and ate there most evenings. Great beer on tap and they actually served items (burgers, wings, sandwiches) that weren't listed on the menu. After a long day of touring, we were all happy to relax here. Pool is basic, but a great place for kids to blow off some steam.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gopackmpls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

I didn't realize how close to the action of DC we were. Extremely nice hotel. The staff were very friendly and accomadating. The rooms were on the small side but comfortable. Plenty of work room, however I could have done without the expensive internet access fee.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blaque_Ice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

Located a short walk from the White House, DC Mall and Smithsonian Museums, the JW is perfectly situated to experience DC's biggest attractions.

The foyer and entryway is gorgeous as guests are greeted by a friendly a professional staff. The restaurant/lounge is trendily decorated and has an energetic buzz about it.

The rooms are well appointed, but not much different from the recently renovated Marriott properties - a disappointment when you consider the premium rates demanded by JW.

The pool is average at best, while the gym is more than adequate for a good away from home workout.

Overall, the JW is an excellent option for anyone looking for a comfortable and well appointed hotel in the heart of DC.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kg32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews