We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Pleasant stay”
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel Lombardy is, as noted, an older hotel. With an older hotel one should expect certain limitations; a flight or two of stairs to walk up, an elevator that only holds 4 people, oddly configured rooms. None of this should interfere with your stay. Our room was a double, very large with a small "kitchenette". Bathroom had been remolded not long ago, so it was in very good order.
Staff was pleasant and friendly. Service was great. Every night my wife would ask for ice to be delivered to our room and it was promptly delivered to us on the 8th floor.
Location is good. A short walk, which included a stop for coffee, took us to the White House. Lots of eating establishments, from high end to college flops (G.W.) are within walking distance. We enjoyed both a greasy burger/fries with a beer at Lindy's Red Lion while being entertained by the G.W. students and a more eloquent dinner at the Brasserie Beck followed by a leisurely stroll back to the Lombardy.
The metro is easily accessed, Foggy Bottom or Farragut West. Reagan/Washington National is a 15 minute ride.
One caveat. While the windows are new and double paned city noises still enter the room. It helps to keep the drapes closed. The blinds will keep the light out, but the heavy fabric drapes help knock down the noise.
For under a $100.00 a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northshoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    733
    164
    47
    25
See reviews for
419
738
149
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Louisiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great, yes, but a bit better too! Elevators are updated, though I miss being "escorted" to my room at night by the elevator operator. Breakfast is a delight as are the servers. Lunch and dinners are equally delicious. And it is intriguing when guessing what country a guest is from by the way they are speaking! The clientel is everything from families to business and all those in between and from every state and country. However, it is not a huge hotel and certainly therefore for me more comfy.

You cannot find a more welcoming greeter that our man from Morrocco. He is a long lost friend (if you haven't been in a while) or like family (if you come often). For that alone, it is worth staying at The Lombardy.

The location is superb and in walking distance to everything from the White House to the Mall and to the many, many museums. Good shopping and many more restaurants is a cab ride to Georgetown.

Room Tip: Some larger rooms have kitchenettes, but requesting is necessary as it not automatic that every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemcflaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
271 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Although small by todays standards this hotel is a standout because of the staff. Very attentive and knowledgable, the door staff were always ready with suggestions for restaurants, attractions etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable, about the only issue was the datedness of the washrooms, but they were clean and served their purpose. The highlight was the staff, they could not do enough for us and always had time to engage us. More companies would do well to know "it the fronline people that are your greatest asset!!" Glitz & Glamour do not replace genuine human care and compassion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagelAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

There is a certain charm to this property, we were very pleased with the attentiveness of the staff and the manner in which we were treated. All the door staff were very friendly and spot on with recommendations for restaurants, & activities. The room was very clean & comfortable and what was lacking in amenities was more than made up for by the staff. A definite recommend to any and all and we will stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bardonecchia, Italy
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

I benefitted by a good offer for my staying in this hotel so I can stated this hotel was very profitable for me. The deluxe king room was large and clean, the king bed very confortable and the quality of the amenities products very good. The Hotel is well located not so far from Foggy Bottom metro station, 20 minutes walk from the White House and 15 minute walks from George Town attractions.
The personnels is nice but a little bit indolent and slow in the reaction. The wireless was working randomly. The Cafè Lombardy breakfast price is expensive and high respect the room rate.
On the whole I would suggest this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nayanaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beausejour
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Overall reasonable room. Character style is nice. Remote pool is a detraction. Could hear trucks backing up early most mornings (we were on 6th floor on back side). Which may be an issue for light sleepers.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank incu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
84 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2011

In connection with a meeting in World Bank I stayed a couple of nights in this nice hotel located close to the White House on Pennsylvania Avenue. It is a relatively small hotel but very posh. Great location close to a number of good restaurants but also TGI's and Starbucks nearby. Across the square you find a CVS - 24/7 - shop with all you need. I stayed at 11th floor in a very nice room with a small kitchen and separate bath/wardrobe. Free wi-fi all over the hotel but reception in restaurant poor. Nice small restaurant and a cosy bar. Service good and personal with a very help some touch. All lived up to expectations and I will be back with my wife in October.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kommandousen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
1,635 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,745 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
1,559 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing