We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic Charm, Great Location, Friendly Staff”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic Charm, Great Location, Friendly Staff”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at the Hotel Lombardy for a weekend for our anniversary and purchased the special package that included champagne and chocolates and Sunday brunch. Overall it was a very nice stay and we would highly recommend this hotel to others.

We did start out our stay with a bit of a hiccup, although the hotel staff was very good at responding to it. We arrived to the hotel around 9PM and after checking in to our Parkview Suite, we inquired at the desk about the champagne and chocolates. They apparently should have been in our room but we said it was fine to wait until the next night. We also were not given the complimentary bottled water. The hotel promptly delivered that to our room. After sightseeing the next day, we returned to our room and did not have our champagne and chocolates or bottled water that day. We called down to the desk and they delivered both within 15 minutes. These small issues did not take away from our stay, but it would have been really nice to not have to keep asking for things included in our package.

That issue aside, our room was huge and very clean with a nice view of the park across the street. The beds were very comfortable, and the kitchenette was a nice feature to have. The Venetian Room bar had the nicest bartender and we stopped in for a drink both nights. Sunday brunch was incredible--I had the cinnamon brioche french toast, and my husband had the smoked salmon eggs benedict. Service was very good at breakfast as well.
The hotel was a 10 minute walk to the White House, a five minute walk to the Foggy Bottom metro station, and less than 10 minutes to the Farrugat North Metro which takes you to Union Station.

Room Tip: We requested a room on a higher floor to take away street noise. We had a great view and a quiet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AimerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,090 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,100
    750
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
429
757
152
482
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We got an amazing deal on this well located and very charming hotel. I was surprised by its elegant interior and the large a comfortable room. Kitchenette, dressing area, large bathroom AND bedroom! The kitchenette could have been a wee bit cleaner, but other than that it was a great place to stay. Very comfortable bed.

Room Tip: Hotels.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiaHelene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2011

Location is fantastic - very short walk from Foggy Bottom and several other Metro stations. This is an old, historic hotel and the rooms reflect that. Free internet worked well most of the time. Room was spacious, though there was no dresser which would have been bothersome for a longer stay. Bed was comfortable. Only complaints had to do with the bathroom -- my toilet was clogged when I first checked in and it never seemed to flush quite right even after it was fixed. Moreover, the water pressure in the shower was awful. Staff was fairly responsive -- I needed to call twice to get someone to come fix the toilet, but the next day some came quickly when the internet stopped working. Other quirky thing they should fix is that it's very easy to accidentally lock the bathroom doors -- and thus lock yourself out of the bathroom. Overall, though, I had a good stay at Hotel Lombardy and would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

The Lombardy Hotel is pretty good looking. Since the hotel is old, this is not really soundproof, so you may hear some noise from the other rooms, but it's not that disturbing. The room was pretty nice and big. Bad part is that the high-res LCD TV only has a normal cable provider, so what's the point of having a LCD TV if there is no HD source. Also, I was suppose to have a kind bed room but I had a double bed room. The hotel has a small restaurant at the entrance, but it's a bit expensive and doesn't worth it.

Best thing about this hotel is the location: 5 mins by walking to the Foggy Bottom metro (red and blue line). The Farragut North station (red line) is also close by walking. The White House is reachable easily by walking.

The hotel has a wifi access in each room (the connection from an iphone is not so easy since the application wasn't done for mobile phone).

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b-noy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Hotel Lombardy is, as noted, an older hotel. With an older hotel one should expect certain limitations; a flight or two of stairs to walk up, an elevator that only holds 4 people, oddly configured rooms. None of this should interfere with your stay. Our room was a double, very large with a small "kitchenette". Bathroom had been remolded not long ago, so it was in very good order.
Staff was pleasant and friendly. Service was great. Every night my wife would ask for ice to be delivered to our room and it was promptly delivered to us on the 8th floor.
Location is good. A short walk, which included a stop for coffee, took us to the White House. Lots of eating establishments, from high end to college flops (G.W.) are within walking distance. We enjoyed both a greasy burger/fries with a beer at Lindy's Red Lion while being entertained by the G.W. students and a more eloquent dinner at the Brasserie Beck followed by a leisurely stroll back to the Lombardy.
The metro is easily accessed, Foggy Bottom or Farragut West. Reagan/Washington National is a 15 minute ride.
One caveat. While the windows are new and double paned city noises still enter the room. It helps to keep the drapes closed. The blinds will keep the light out, but the heavy fabric drapes help knock down the noise.
For under a $100.00 a great hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Northshoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Covington, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Great, yes, but a bit better too! Elevators are updated, though I miss being "escorted" to my room at night by the elevator operator. Breakfast is a delight as are the servers. Lunch and dinners are equally delicious. And it is intriguing when guessing what country a guest is from by the way they are speaking! The clientel is everything from families to business and all those in between and from every state and country. However, it is not a huge hotel and certainly therefore for me more comfy.

You cannot find a more welcoming greeter that our man from Morrocco. He is a long lost friend (if you haven't been in a while) or like family (if you come often). For that alone, it is worth staying at The Lombardy.

The location is superb and in walking distance to everything from the White House to the Mall and to the many, many museums. Good shopping and many more restaurants is a cab ride to Georgetown.

Room Tip: Some larger rooms have kitchenettes, but requesting is necessary as it not automatic that every room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chemcflaco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
280 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Although small by todays standards this hotel is a standout because of the staff. Very attentive and knowledgable, the door staff were always ready with suggestions for restaurants, attractions etc. The rooms were clean and comfortable, about the only issue was the datedness of the washrooms, but they were clean and served their purpose. The highlight was the staff, they could not do enough for us and always had time to engage us. More companies would do well to know "it the fronline people that are your greatest asset!!" Glitz & Glamour do not replace genuine human care and compassion.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BagelAlberta_Canada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,705 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
486 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,635 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing