We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Phoenix Park Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$445
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$175
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$238
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$207
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$192
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$247
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$206
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$167
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$193
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$318
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$263
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
US$178
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,309)
Filter reviews
2,309 results
Traveller rating
1,255
800
173
53
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,255
800
173
53
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvenetian roomwhite houseceiling fangeorge washington universityworld bankcharming hotelfoggy bottomdressing areasmall kitchenettestay there againwhole foodsoffice buildingwithin walking distancean older hotelfew blocksupgraded to a suitebed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,723 - 1,728 of 2,309 reviews
Reviewed 22 May 2012

We were disappointed in a the curt and rude staff. The room was good size, the housekeeping was good, the water pressure in the shower is exceptionally poor, and the location just so-so. Hallways feel a little like an early 1900s brothel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 79jcg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

This is not your typical cookie cutter hotel. Yes there are a million hotels in Washington but the staff at the Lombardy makes you feel welcome, and comfortable. The location is fantastic. Near GW University, the White House, and Georgetown. The Metro is also an easy walk. The Hotel itself is small but has character. The rooms are clean,and have lovely linens . The Hotel is in a historic building so do not expect everything to be bright and shiny new. I have stayed at this hotel at least 10 times. It is always my first choice when coming to Washington.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paula V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you so much for your comments. We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. Looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Thanks,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Put quite simply, there are dozens of fantastic hotels in Washington DC and this isn't one of them. The attempts at Venetian styling include slatted patio type doors outside of your normal hotel room door which have a tendency to slam when released. Window treatments meant to keep to this motif also serve to block almost no light. The shower (perhaps also in keeping with a mid-nineteenth century vibe) alternates between hot and cold water. The rooms are clean, but small by DC standards. For over $200 a night, there are simply much better options in this city.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Av8rterp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us. I hope that we were able to address your concerns while you were here. We hope to get the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2012

This is my second stay at the Lombardy. Each stay has been very pleasant. The location is great- easy walking distance to the white house, national mall, georgetown and dupont circle. The rooms are decent size, with a stylish look and feel. The Lombardy is in a historic building, so don't expect all modern fittings. Do expect an authentic historic hotel. The restaurant is overpriced- don't bother eating there for breakfast. There are not a lot of options close by- Founding Farmers is very close. I found it overrated, but it does have a lot of choice for breakfast. Otherwise Dupont and Georgetown are a pleasant walk away and have lots of good options. Value wise, Lombardy is decent. Rates bounce around quite a bit, with the lower rates on weekends due to the location for World Bank and IMF business. Overall, a good stay and would recommend. 

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mj316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is an adorable hotel located in a great section of D.C. Its 4 blocks from the White House and very convieniently located 2 blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro station.
The room was small, but very comfortable. Great bed and linens. We stayed on the street side which was a little loud with traffic. But its in the city, so thats not the hotel's fault. If you want a quieter room ask for a room in the back.
The breakfast was expensive - would recommend walking across the street to Founding Farmers for a great breakfast.
The Metro was super easy to use and gets you to almost all hot spots in DC including museums and Memorials.
The staff couldnt have been nicer. They were so attentive and kind.
This is a historic hotel with lots of original art and ornate decor. Very cute.
AC worked good and nice size bathroom.

Room Tip: If want quieter stay ask for room in the back of building.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews