We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,362)
Filter reviews
2,362 results
Traveller rating
1,289
814
176
55
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
814
176
55
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews venetian room white house ceiling fan charming hotel world bank george washington university foggy bottom dressing area small kitchenette stay there again whole foods office building within walking distance an older hotel few blocks upgraded to a suite bed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
1,759 - 1,764 of 2,362 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here for three nights at the start of our US holiday. We flew into Dulles and caught the 5A bus to Rosslyn and then the metro to Foggy Bottom and the hotel was just a five minute walk from there. We booked a kingsize standard and were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a nice sitting room (with sofa bed), large hallway plus bedroom and bathroom. The bed was really comfy.
We didn't eat at the hotel, as we got our breakfast each morning from the Whole Food Market in Eye street - a real find.
We ate the first evening just across the road at the Founding Farmer's restaurant - very good.
We walked everywhere from the hotel, Georgetown - 20 mins, Arlington - 35 mins, Whitehouse 10 mins and Capitol 45 mins.
The only slight downside were the reception staff who were not very welcoming given we had just arrived after a long journey from the UK. They just checked us in, provided no local information and we had to ask for a map! The rest of the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for you feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. We take your concerns very serious and we value your opinion. Our goal is to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guest all of the time! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here at the last minute after being very disappointed with another hotel so it was a great change so perhaps my review is a little biased!

Cons: The room wasn't huge and the view was of the adjacent building so it made the room dark and it didn't get enough light.The air-conditioning was really strong which is good for hot summers but it was facing the bed directly and you cannot move the vents, because I'm sensitive this made me really sick.

Pros: GREAT location. Walking distance to absolutely everything from the quaint shops of M street and the cafes of Georgetown, to the monuments and museums to the bars of downtown and the trendy area of DuPont. Everything was within reach and it was extremely easy to catch a cab.
The staff were very helpful and accommodating and made the room available even though we checked in at 10am.
The cafe near the lobby area is known for it's great brunch and had lovely fresh breads and bagels.

All in all, especially after our bad experience it was a great stay and I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traceler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Great location to the metro--friendly staff--amazingly comfortable beds

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

While moving my daughter to DC in late May, we had the opportunity to stay at the Lombardy. Great location near GW Univ., perfect rooms, helpful staff, flexible response tour special request, reasonable price, and terrific (al la carte) breakfasts. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: less street noise up higher
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caper1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Quaint, charming, quirky, and vintage feeling hotel in downtown DC. A book in the room stated that the hotel has been designated a "historic hotel" by the preservation society. The antique furnishings and heavy, rich fabrics used everywhere gave me the feeling that I was staying at a rich relative's house rather than a hotel. The room was incredibly spacious with an entryway, dressing area, small dining area, and kitchenette in addition to the sleeping area and bathroom.

Things I liked: downtown location, the best hotel pillows EVER, free WiFi, good shower water pressure, lots of mirrors, nice smelling Bath&Body Works toiletries, nice staff, and a hotel bar with lots of dark woods and plenty of character.

Things I did not like: only 2 tiny elevators for 11 floors, no driveway (cabs drop you off on the street and you have to navigate some sidewalk foot traffic to get to the hotel), difficult to hail cabs from this location, hard to open my room door with my key card, and the flat-screen TV in my room did not work.

Overall, this hotel was a great deal for a great location.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank khp_infairfax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay. I hope you were able to address your concerns with our staff while you were here so that the issue could have been resolved. We value your opinions and take your concerns seriously, because it is our goal to provide outstanding service to our guests.

We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews