We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good place to stay”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #35 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Good size rooms by city standards and a good price - much cheaper than other hotels of similair standard, but valet parking by hotel is expensive- there is a car park about 100 yards away. Very convenient location. TGI Friday's 50 yards away , Founding Farmers restaurant 100 yards away ( booking essential for evening meal) .

Room Tip: We stayed on 6th floor at the rear of the hotel . Was very quiet except had refuse collection at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Daave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your visit. We look forward to having you back with us, hopefully in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,580 - 1,586 of 2,160 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

The Hotel Lombardy is a little gem of a hotel right on Pennsylvania Avemue at 20th Street. You might walk past its discreetly elegant entrance, but don't ignore the Lombardy if you are looking for a nice, understated hotel in a great location. The lobby is tiny, but the rooms are spacious. Mine overlooked Pennsylvania Ave and had a cozy little seating area and kitchenette off the main room. There is a nice small restaurant in the lobby, and also the more upscale Venetian for fine dining. The price was very food for DC, and I really enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kt1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your response! We are glad to hear that you had a great experience here at the Hotel Lombardy, and that you enjoyed our dining rooms as well as your sleeping room accommodations. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in Washington and found this hotel's location was amazing - we walked everywhere and didnt need our hire car! Beautiful hotel, amazingly pleasing decor with luxury and style. Service was fantastic and it made our stay in DC something special. We will certainly stay there again when we visit again.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RobHelen02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feed back! We are delighted to have you stay with us and it gives us great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. Can't wait to have you back with us again!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Stayed here for three nights at the start of our US holiday. We flew into Dulles and caught the 5A bus to Rosslyn and then the metro to Foggy Bottom and the hotel was just a five minute walk from there. We booked a kingsize standard and were pleasantly surprised to find that we had a nice sitting room (with sofa bed), large hallway plus bedroom and bathroom. The bed was really comfy.
We didn't eat at the hotel, as we got our breakfast each morning from the Whole Food Market in Eye street - a real find.
We ate the first evening just across the road at the Founding Farmer's restaurant - very good.
We walked everywhere from the hotel, Georgetown - 20 mins, Arlington - 35 mins, Whitehouse 10 mins and Capitol 45 mins.
The only slight downside were the reception staff who were not very welcoming given we had just arrived after a long journey from the UK. They just checked us in, provided no local information and we had to ask for a map! The rest of the staff were very pleasant.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for you feedback! We are glad that you enjoyed your accommodations. We take your concerns very serious and we value your opinion. Our goal is to provide outstanding customer service to all of our guest all of the time! We look forward to having you stay with us again!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed here at the last minute after being very disappointed with another hotel so it was a great change so perhaps my review is a little biased!

Cons: The room wasn't huge and the view was of the adjacent building so it made the room dark and it didn't get enough light.The air-conditioning was really strong which is good for hot summers but it was facing the bed directly and you cannot move the vents, because I'm sensitive this made me really sick.

Pros: GREAT location. Walking distance to absolutely everything from the quaint shops of M street and the cafes of Georgetown, to the monuments and museums to the bars of downtown and the trendy area of DuPont. Everything was within reach and it was extremely easy to catch a cab.
The staff were very helpful and accommodating and made the room available even though we checked in at 10am.
The cafe near the lobby area is known for it's great brunch and had lovely fresh breads and bagels.

All in all, especially after our bad experience it was a great stay and I definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traceler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay! We appreciate your business and look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

Great location to the metro--friendly staff--amazingly comfortable beds

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gypsyred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

While moving my daughter to DC in late May, we had the opportunity to stay at the Lombardy. Great location near GW Univ., perfect rooms, helpful staff, flexible response tour special request, reasonable price, and terrific (al la carte) breakfasts. Wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: less street noise up higher
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caper1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2012

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 142 in Washington DC
1,763 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 142 in Washington DC
1,744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 142 in Washington DC
478 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 142 in Washington DC
505 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 142 in Washington DC
1,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £91 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing