We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient location with great service”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Convient location with great service”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel was clean and charming. The service and food were excellent in the dining room. Great steak! Management was very attentuve

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaspasser007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We're glad you had a great experience overall and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with others. We appreciate you and look forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,113
    760
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
435
764
153
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (392)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here 6 nights over the 4th of July week with my kids. The hotel is in a pedestrian friendly area with lots of restaurants. Two metro stops are nearby, so we bought a 7 day metro rail pass and saw the city that way. It is close enough to the mall that my children and I walked from the Lincoln Memorial one afternoon. The hotel was impecabbly clean, and our room was spacious with a small kitchen area. Other than an occasional creaking floorboard, I never heard noise from the neighbors or street. The staff was responsive and immediately saw to our needs. I would definately stay here again on a future trip to DC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atlartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We value your opinions and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future! Washington, DC is a great place and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We only had the pleasure of staying one night here but it was beautiful. From the moment we walked in the staff were 1st class.
The room was spotless & the beds were fantastic. We had a room with 2 queen beds, still lots of space to move around despite all our luggage.
It was very quiet & the a quick cab ride to Union train station where we were meeting our friends.

Also it was a short wait in the morning for a taxi even though it was peak hour.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was way at the back - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for visiting our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that next time you will get to stay a little longer.


Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hutchinson, Kansas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel should be the first choice of anyone attending Colonial Inauguration at GW. I read reviews which said the rooms were small. Apparently the rooms vary in configuration, because ours was quite roomy! (503) I booked online and paid in advance which made the $163 night a good value for DC. The staff was friendly, helpful, and prompt. I would like to have had access to an ice machine because it seemed a bother to request ice at odd hours, but the staff was consistently prompt and cheerful about providing it. We did not take advantage of the valet parking, and could probably have saved on transportation costs if we had. We found a local garage with a lower daily rate, but did not have access as we would have liked. Our room faced I St / Pennsylvania Ave, and even with a massive storm one night and massive traffic following July 4th celebrations, we were never disturbed by noise. Our stay was during some of the hottest days of the year and the room was always comfortable, but the bathroom was stuffy and warm if the door stayed closed for very long. Charming hotel, excellent service, great location. There is no doubt we will stay again.

Room Tip: Spring for the upgrade, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KrystlT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for telling us about your visit. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you with us again soon! We love our GWU family!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belen, New Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This is a must stay at hotel!! Everything is decorated in such lovey way! The people are friendly, the beds are so comfortable!! The staff is super friendly, I would go back in a heat beat!! We did not eat at the restaurant due to the lack of vegan food but it looked charming as well! If you go in the right season ( we went during October) the prices are great! It is within walking distance of everything, including the white house, the memorials, Smithsonian and many restaurants! The one downside ( which I thought was funny) was our room was level with a Constitution group next door, so you had to watch undressing in front of the mirror!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about our stay. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your visit to Washington, DC and to the Hotel Lombardy. We hope to see you again soon!

Thanks,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012 via mobile

We loved everything about the Lombardy, from the clean and quiet to the wonderful bedding, complimentary shoe shining at night, everyone was very plesent and helpful, smiling in the summertime heat, and explained DC on street parking. Make sure to have a cheap breakfast at the Penn Grill around the corner..

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vernon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 17 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate you and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shepherdstown, West Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
238 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the first time for the nights of the 3rd and 4th of July. Our room was on the 10th floor. We were amused by the funky black shutter doors - sort of giving the place a southern feel. In reading many of the previous reviews, it looks like they have quite a variety of rooms. We had a king bed room, but there was no refrigerator or kitchenette. Fortunately, we had a cooler with us to keep some beverages and snacks cold. BUT, we had to call the front desk to have ice delivered to the room - there is no ice machine available for guests! Also, there was no ice bucket, so I don't know where you'd keep the ice if you didn't bring a cooler. The bathroom was very small, and only had a narrow shelf above the sink and toilet on which to keep our stuff. There were a few rough edges in the preparation of the room; when we checked in, there was only one bath towel! Fortunately, there was a maid right outside, and she gave us a couple more. Also, while there was an iron in the closet, we had to request an ironing board. Despite these shortcomings, the staff were all very friendly and helpful. There is evening turndown service where they close the curtains, turn on a light and drop off a couple of bottles of water. Because we had showered after returning from a hot day at Nationals Stadium, we even had our towels replaced when the maid visited the room! The air conditioner was fairly quiet, and there was a ceiling fan over the bed to help move the cool air around. The bed was very comfortable, and there was an abundance of pillows. The location is great - our walk to the Mall for fireworks only took about 15 minutes. The DC Circulator buses stop very near by, and are only $1.00 with free tranfers within a two-hour period. The front desk gave us a map of the routes.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaphod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,725 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
745 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,682 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing