We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice hotel, but shows its age”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, but shows its age”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed at the Hotel Lombardy for two nights during a business trip. The hotel is centrally located near George Washington University, which was very convenient as the conference I was in town to attend was being held there. The hotel is clean and fairly decent-sized though the lobby is small, but the front desk staff was always helpful and friendly. In fact all of the staff we encountered (housekeeping/doormen) were helpful and friendly as well.

I was in room 802 and the room was great. It was clean and bright with sunny views overlooking Pennsylvania Avenue. The bed was very comfortable, the kitchenette was big and there was definitely enough space (except the bathroom which was pretty small). I felt there were a few minor problems probably attributed to the hotel's age: creaking floors, some old furniture, a flickering lamp, fluctuating water temperature in the shower, and an A/C that worked but did not feel like it completely cooled the room. However, these weren't major issues and since I was staying only two nights, I was okay with letting them go.

Everything else at the hotel was nice. I stopped by the fitness room once which seemed to be equipped enough, and the restaurant where I ordered a plain cup of coffee and offered to pay for it but was politely told it would be free by the man at the counter. Overall, the Hotel Lombardy is above average and while there were a few minor drawbacks, I would have no problem staying here again.

Room Tip: If possible, ask for a room not directly facing the street as there is some noticeable street noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    734
    164
    48
    25
See reviews for
420
738
150
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isabela, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
49 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2012

We had a wonderful experience and time in this hotel. The hotel is very clean and the staff very friendly. The employees were always willing to give us the information and service requested. The room was comfortable and very clean. It is located about 15 minutes walking distance from the White House as 5 minutes from the Foggy Bottom train that takes you to all major attractions. Next to the train there is a whole food. Other things close to the hotel is a bus stop, a Friday, a CVS pharmacy and a very pleasant place for breakfast own by a Chinese couple who was super sweet, just crossing the street around the corner. Even when this hotel is in a main street of Pennsylvania avenue is very quiet and nice to sleep.

I love this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Delia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your experience.
Washington, DC has a lot to offer and it sounds as though you have captured that. We are glad you choose the Hotel Lombardy for your stay and we look forward to having you stay again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SeanPTdotcom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We were in DC for over a week and Hotel Lombardy was our home base of operations and it was perfect. We were close two two metro stops, had easy access to everywhere in the district, great access to food (food, and more food) and always had a nice, clean, and quiet place to come back to. I couldn't imagine a better place to stay when in DC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeanPTdotcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Thank you! We appreciate your kind words and taking the time to give us your feedback. We look forward to having you stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

Stayed five nights for a girls get away. The staff was very friendly and helpful with directions and suggestions. The room was a good size for four and loved the bed linens. The air conditioner was great especially since it was 100 degrees during our visit. Hotel is two blocks from the White House and less than a 6 minute walk to public transportation. No business center but staff will print your ticket if you ask but there is free wifi in each room. There is a kitchen with a refrig and sink but no utensils were supplied. Very convenient location to Whole Foods Market, CVS and plenty of restaurants such as Founding Farmers (best breakfast), Fridays, Elephant & Castle.

Great location at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paq526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

The hotel was clean and charming. The service and food were excellent in the dining room. Great steak! Management was very attentuve

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaspasser007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We're glad you had a great experience overall and we would like to thank you for taking the time to share with others. We appreciate you and look forward to having you with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
93 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2012

I stayed here 6 nights over the 4th of July week with my kids. The hotel is in a pedestrian friendly area with lots of restaurants. Two metro stops are nearby, so we bought a 7 day metro rail pass and saw the city that way. It is close enough to the mall that my children and I walked from the Lincoln Memorial one afternoon. The hotel was impecabbly clean, and our room was spacious with a small kitchen area. Other than an occasional creaking floorboard, I never heard noise from the neighbors or street. The staff was responsive and immediately saw to our needs. I would definately stay here again on a future trip to DC.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank atlartmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We value your opinions and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future! Washington, DC is a great place and I'm glad you enjoyed it!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

We only had the pleasure of staying one night here but it was beautiful. From the moment we walked in the staff were 1st class.
The room was spotless & the beds were fantastic. We had a room with 2 queen beds, still lots of space to move around despite all our luggage.
It was very quiet & the a quick cab ride to Union train station where we were meeting our friends.

Also it was a short wait in the morning for a taxi even though it was peak hour.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room was way at the back - very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarheal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Thank you for visiting our hotel and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that next time you will get to stay a little longer.


Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing