We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great DC Experience!”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #33 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised with the room size, cleanliness, comfort and LOCATION of this downtown DC hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us tips that basically a concierge would give in a larger hotel. Safe, quiet and comfy beds/pillows. Bottles of water every day and extra towels on request. Couldn't have asked for more, and the price was outstanding! We'll be back to the Lombardy!

Room Tip: Rooms away from Pennsylvania Ave are quieter, but you give up the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,238)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,591 - 1,597 of 2,238 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2012

I will be a regular patron at Hotel Lombardy. All of my request were honored and I was given an upgraded room. The decor and ambiance are wonderful. The bartender makes excellent drinks. This was my first boutique hotel experience and I can't imagine going back to regular hotel chains.

Room Tip: Park View All the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Candace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Wow! Thanks for the kind words and I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We definitely look forward to having you stay with us again and hopefully soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2012

What a great hotel, service like no other. Great location, beautiful rooms and close to everything. You sure couldn't ask for better hotel. Close to tours, and all the sites of D.C. Great old roaring twenty's hotel, decor is outstanding, well kept, and tastefully decorated. Not a big hotel, very quiet, even has a fellow runnibng the old elevator. We were attending wedding and truly all guests enjoyed the area. Unfortunately the park across the street has several homeless people every night so we kept out at night, but very safe around the hotel.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
Thank lhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I was recently in Washington attending the 2012 International AIDS conference and stayed for 6 nights at the Hotel Lombardy. It was marvelous! The king bed was super comfortable and the room was lovely. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Because it is classified as a historic hotel, it has lots of charm. My room was on the 11th floor and was very quiet. I highly recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Washington.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. Washington DC was full of visitors from all over the world during the AIDS 2012 conference and we are so happy that you chose to stay here with us at the Hotel Lombardy. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel has been designated some sort of historic hotel landmark, and has been beautifully renovated while retaining its charm of an earlier era. I spent two nights here with a friend in a quiet, attractive room. The window faced onto an interior space looking into some office windows, but this meant there was no street noise and felt very peaceful. The room itself had 2 Queen beds, a little sitting/kitchen room, a small dressing room, and bathroom - all very comfortable, attractively decorated, and immaculately clean. We had a well-prepared and filling breakfast both mornings in their dining room, and at surprisingly reasonable prices for a hotel breakfast. There is also a comfortable and attractive bar. All the personnel were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isabel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Had a wonderful stay in Washington DC from July 27th to July 29th. The Hotel Lombardy is good hotel that sees itself upgraded to a VERY good hotel because its location is simply amazing. The Hotel is within walking distance of the White House, Treasury Building, and Eisenhower Executive Building. It is also within walking distances of tons of restaurants including Founding Farmers, The Bottom Line, Cafe Asia, Bertucci's, Friday's, ConE Island, The Prime Rib, etc. (there are tons of restaurants). The National Mall is a bit of a longer walk, but we did it on 95 degree days and got there with no problem. In the spring or fall it would be more than walkable. If you do not want to walk all the way to the mall or other attractions the hotel is within walking range of 3 different metro lines.

As far as our actually stay at the hotel we arrived from Amtrak at Union station around 12:00 (check-in is at 3:00 PM) and were promptly upgraded from a Executive Parkview Room to a suite in room 803. The suite was a very nice upgrade and provided an extremely large amount of room with a living room overlooking Pennsylvania Avenue. The room and bathroom were very clean and we had no issues in that regard. As far as street noise, I did not really hear anything particularly noticeable (I am from NYC though). We did hear some sirens but I wouldn't expect to not hear them. The floor boards from the room above us did seem to creak a little, but again nothing that I think I would have even notice had I not read it on reviews here before our stay.

The bed was extremely comfortable. However, many, including my co-traveler would probably find the pillows too thick.

Throughout our stay the staff was attentive to our needs and happy to answer questions about DC attractions and amenities within the hotel. All appeared to be happy to be at work and that was much appreciated.

Now for some negatives. The bathroom in this suite was EXTREMELY small. I would say that the door to open the bathroom had less then 2 inches of clearance from the toilet bowl. The shower was equally as small and was mad worse by the fact that the water pressure was extremely low.

The television's were nice but did not feature the typical hotel features (movies on-demand, viewing of your bill/checkout, etc.)

The suite lacked a "hotel" feel because of the furniture selections. It feels very much like an apartment, which many will like. I appreciated this and do not really see it as a negative but I am partial to a slightly more hotel feel.

Unfortunately, we did not receive turndown service or complimentary waters the second night of our stay. We also had an issue with the wake up call and did not receive a wake up call for the second night.

Overall, I would not hesitate to stay at the Hotel Lombardy again especially at the excellent rate that we received ($111 per night). If such a discount was not available I would probably shop around again but would definitely consider the Hotel Lombardy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6,934,211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

Stayed at Hotel Lombardy for a conference in DC. Small boutique hotel with lovely staff eager to please. Rooms are well appointed, if oddly laid out. Very well decorated, updated, comfortable. Wonderful eclectic bar on first floor that's great for hanging out, conversation, etc. Small restaurant serves breakfast, lunch, dinner but not open throughout the day. I'll definitely come back.

Room Tip: Ask about the view. My room looked into an office building, which required keeping the blinds closed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 21 September 2012

Thank you for your feedback. It gives me great pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,799 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,824 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
610 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,420 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £86 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing