We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Upland, ca
Level Contributor
156 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 4 August 2012

This hotel is located in a great area within walking distance to most of the great sites, like the Vietnam memorial and the Lincoln memorial.It is about 3/4 of a mile from these famous landmarks. the hotel restaurant does not open until 7 am so if you have an early conference or workshop don't expect any coffee or breakfast. There is a Starbucks within walking distance and a few places to eat within a few blocks. The rooms are not equipped with the usual amenities of big name hotels like coffee makers and ice machines, but the restaurant will bring you ice if you need it. The internet is free although I could not access it and chose to go to Starbucks instead of sitting on the phone with tech support. They have no business center and no place to print boarding passes but Kinko's is around the corner. This hotel was very roomy and quiet the only noise I heard was people walking around in the room above me. This is not a good choice for handicapped people, they have several steps into the hotel lobby and not much of a lobby to speak of, with very very small elevators. This is a boutique hotel and is representative of a European hotel the ambiance is very quaint. They keep you supplied with bottled water for free.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views of the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coosbaygal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I would like to address some of your concerns, the first being that we do actually have coffee makers in all of our rooms, and in reference to the business center we do not have a business center, however our Front Desk staff is always more than willing to assist with any requests a guest may have, including, printing and or e-mailing. Lastly in relation to being a handicapped accessible hotel we are a Historic property and we have been grandfathered under the Historic Hotels of America. I wish that we could have addressed your concerns while you were here, but I hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    733
    164
    47
    25
See reviews for
419
738
149
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Mass
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

I should have written this as soon as we returned , My hubby & I stayed for 5 nights in September 2011 , I had never been to DC . I can't say enough about the staff they were very informative . Our rooms were spotless and the decor was charming . We had a living room and a bedroom maybe it is considered a junior suite . The bathroom was clean and spacious with
great water pressure . The beds were comfortable . It was HOT in DC so the bottles of water were appreciated . We had breakfast in the restaurant 2 mornings , it was very European like .
We did take cabs especially at night , but the George Wash University Dorms are right across the street and a TGI Fridays , and a Ice Cream store and a couple of small restaurants . The park across the street did have some homeless people , but most parks in DC do . We will stay again .

Room Tip: rooms in the front have a nice view of a park .....Great AC We were in DC to visit the sites but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MassZiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Greetings! Thank you for your feedback, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay here in Washington, DC and we look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City, Iowa
Level Contributor
79 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

We were very pleasantly surprised with the room size, cleanliness, comfort and LOCATION of this downtown DC hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful, giving us tips that basically a concierge would give in a larger hotel. Safe, quiet and comfy beds/pillows. Bottles of water every day and extra towels on request. Couldn't have asked for more, and the price was outstanding! We'll be back to the Lombardy!

Room Tip: Rooms away from Pennsylvania Ave are quieter, but you give up the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay! Hope to have you stay with us again soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spotsylvania, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012

I will be a regular patron at Hotel Lombardy. All of my request were honored and I was given an upgraded room. The decor and ambiance are wonderful. The bartender makes excellent drinks. This was my first boutique hotel experience and I can't imagine going back to regular hotel chains.

Room Tip: Park View All the way
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Candace N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 13 August 2012
Wow! Thanks for the kind words and I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We definitely look forward to having you stay with us again and hopefully soon!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lhunt
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel, service like no other. Great location, beautiful rooms and close to everything. You sure couldn't ask for better hotel. Close to tours, and all the sites of D.C. Great old roaring twenty's hotel, decor is outstanding, well kept, and tastefully decorated. Not a big hotel, very quiet, even has a fellow runnibng the old elevator. We were attending wedding and truly all guests enjoyed the area. Unfortunately the park across the street has several homeless people every night so we kept out at night, but very safe around the hotel.

Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank lhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2012

I was recently in Washington attending the 2012 International AIDS conference and stayed for 6 nights at the Hotel Lombardy. It was marvelous! The king bed was super comfortable and the room was lovely. Staff were friendly and very helpful. Because it is classified as a historic hotel, it has lots of charm. My room was on the 11th floor and was very quiet. I highly recommend it to anyone considering a trip to Washington.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MicheleC1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 20 September 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Washington DC was full of visitors from all over the world during the AIDS 2012 conference and we are so happy that you chose to stay here with us at the Hotel Lombardy. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
64 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel has been designated some sort of historic hotel landmark, and has been beautifully renovated while retaining its charm of an earlier era. I spent two nights here with a friend in a quiet, attractive room. The window faced onto an interior space looking into some office windows, but this meant there was no street noise and felt very peaceful. The room itself had 2 Queen beds, a little sitting/kitchen room, a small dressing room, and bathroom - all very comfortable, attractively decorated, and immaculately clean. We had a well-prepared and filling breakfast both mornings in their dining room, and at surprisingly reasonable prices for a hotel breakfast. There is also a comfortable and attractive bar. All the personnel were efficient and friendly.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room not facing the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
1,635 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,745 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
1,560 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing