We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coziness in Washington DC”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We loved loved loved our little apartment :-) in Hotel Lombardy. Each evening after a long day of hiking around the Mall and the museums, monuments and restaurants of Washington DC it was so nice to let ourselves into the warm cozy clean suite and relax. When we return we will stay at the Hotel Lombardy again. We have already recommended the hotel to others and hope they follow our suggestion. The location is perfect - convenient to the Metro, the Mall, the White House, etc...

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for your kind recommendations and for taking the time to share with us about your stay. It gives us pleasure to know that you had a great experience. We look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,494 - 1,500 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2013

This cozy, charming, historical hotel exceeded all our expectations. Excellent, spacious comfortable rooms, excellent helpful staff throughout, beautifully decorated throughout coordidoors and foyer, yummy breakfast at restaurant. The location is perfect. The value is incredible!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Viva-Luigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We came to DC for the first time in July and the hotel's location is awesome. We walked pretty much everywhere, it was a good base for all the things we wanted to see and do. We walked to the White House, the Capital and all the museums. The metro is about 2 blocks away (very convenient to/from airport so dont waste money on taxi). We took the metro to Arlington and the Circulator bus to Georgetown. This location just cannot be beat for the rate. The hotel is a bit old and dated. The doors to the rooms seem like old saloon doors. The staff was very friendly and attentive. Room was very clean- no views (at least from our room). If you are looking for a luxury or modern hotel this is not the place but if you want a small boutique hotel with a great rate and exceptional location this is it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bari_74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you had a great experience here in Washington, DC and the Hotel Lombardy. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013 via mobile

We are currently staying here and are very pleased with our decision to do so. This place is great with a great price. Trust me we are very picky about the places we stay and I really cant say anything bad about this hotel. The hospitality is awesome which if you've ever been to DC that is something very uncommon out here. Our room is very clean and comfortable. The bed is very comfortable as well. The parking garage costs 36 dollars but there is a ton of parking spots out front and its free to park from 10pm to 7am. We have had no probems parking there. The only thing is you need to make sure youre up in time to feed the meter before 7 And its only 2 hour parking so you have to move your car every couple hours but if your not going to be at the hotel all day that really isnt an issue. Location is great. Whole foods is only a couple blocks away and the meto station is right by it. I would definitely stay here again. Only negative thing I would say is that the water pressure is very light so its basically like going to massage envy wanting a deep tissue massage but getting tickled instead. But hey if thats the only thing negative to say about this place then the price definitely makes up for the lack of water pressure. We are here to go to the seahawks redskins playoff game so let me leave it off with a big GO HAWKS!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Josh V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Glad to know that you had a great experience, It makes me happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide outstanding service to all of our guest. Congratulations to your "Sea Hawks", for winning that game against our Redskins. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

My wife Suzanne and I decided to celebrate her birthday in Washington DC, and booked our first stay at the Hotel Lombardy for the nights of the 4th and the 5th of December 2012. I just wanted to take a moment to share some of our observations.
We both found the hotel to be impeccably kept, without a paint chip, or an unpolished piece of brass, to be found anywhere. It has an old time charm, warmth and intimacy of a truly unique boutique hotel. Coupling that with the very friendly, extremely helpful Door and Desk staff, and a warm welcoming, service and housekeeping staff, you would be hard pressed to find a nicer place to stay anywhere in DC for the money.
With the hotel being located directly on Pennsylvania Avenue only a few blocks from the White House and the National Mall, and a Metro Station only a short walk down the street, we found it a great location to base our explorations of DC from.
All that being said Suzanne and I both wish to thank you for your part in our great time in DC.
Sincerely,
David & Suzanne

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

It was a pleasure to have you as our guest. Thank you for taking the time to share the details about your experience. We look forward to having you stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

What a find!!! What a pleasure it is to write this review of such an outstanding experience. Our first time in Washington (unfamiliar territory), knowing that the Web post are of the best one has to offer, and curious about what we would get for ~ $100 a night. Let me tell you, we got a beautfiul boutique hotel with large comfy rooms, kitchenette, wifi, etc. with a wonderful firplaced lounge and a superlative staff. If it seems I am gushing, I should be. I not only, wholeheartedly endorsed this property but it is MY hotel of choice in DC. 4 blocks from the white house, 3 blocks from teh Lincoln memeorial, 2 blocks from the Metro, what a convenient spot to enjoy all DC has to offer

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank n0tac0p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a great experience. Our goal is to offer every guest the same service and accommodations that will ensure a memorable stay.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2012

Stayed here for three nights in early Dec. I came in to D.C for the Redskins game and picked the Hotel Lombardy primarily for it's location , and was'nt disappointed. Foggy Bottom station is just minutes away and on the Blue Line to Landover , having the "Wholefoods Marketplace" in a direct line between the station and the Hotel was a huge bonus as well. The proximity to the White House , Mall and Georgetown also perfectly matched our needs.
The Rooms themselves are luxuriously appointed and have large comfy beds and pillows. WI-FI worked well , all the usual mod-cons fridge,coffee-maker , safe etc [including ludicrously over-priced mini-bar] were also there and of high quality.
My only complaint was the shower , after a long arduous trip to get here , the limp shower that greeted us was dis-appointing.
Whether it was being on the 11th floor , or , most likely their "eco" policy , the water pressure was abysmal. Curiously, their bathroom lights seem to have an [automatic] eco aspect too - as during the day they dim down considerably - not real helpful when it's dark and cloudy outside.
I mention this because my partner had a time-and-a-half washing her hair and then putting make-up on in the gloom ;}. Management might want to consider this , especially for their female patrons.
All in all though , a lovely Hotel , and one that I am highly likely to return to.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay. In reference to the water pressure in the shower, I hope that you informed the Front Desk about this issue so that it could have been addressed right away and I will look into this to follow up as well; also the lighting in the bathroom on the switch has a dimmer which allows you to have the lights low or make them bright, I apologize that you were not informed of this information in advance. Again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,801 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,831 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
616 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,437 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing