We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“total disappointment and manager lacks compassion”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Miramar Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
101 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“total disappointment and manager lacks compassion”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

My husband and I arrived DC Oct 1 to participate in a Viet Nam Navy reunion. We wanted to stay at the Army Navy Hotel but they were booked so we chose this hotel due to proximity of the other. When we arrived Lombardy we asked to cancel our reservation so we could stay with our group at the Army Navy Hotel which all of a sudden had a room. The girl at the Hotel Lombardy desk said she'd gladly let me cancel but because I'd booked thru Expedia, I had to call Expedia, which I did. Expedia was willing to cancel the reservation with Lombardy's approval. In the meantime, with Washington DC being shut down (my husband and his group ---all Viet Nam vets had purposely chosen DC to explore and enjoy military history) the rest of the group didn't come in because the scheduled events now had no availability due to the shut down. I asked to see the Hotel Lombardy manager and asked please to cancel the reservation due to the shut down of events so we could go home and he wanted an itinerary of our planned events so he could check and make sure what I was saying was true. My husband is a Viet Nam VET, DC is a total non-functioning city and nightmare now and I have to PROVE we had plans to go to the the Smithsonian? I was appalled and will most certainly go to the CEO of the Lombardy. Regardless, with a government shut-down they were not willing to make exceptions to their polices. We were forced to stay one night and could cancel the second because we were within the "required" 24 hr limit. Another note: the rooms were OLD and small. Couldn't open the drapes because the offices next door could see in. No make up mirror. The a/c so loud we couldn't sleep but it was too warm to turn it off. One bath towel each. Bottom line - go somewhere else- there are too many other places that WANT rather than DEMAND your business, Shame on You Hotel Lombardy.

Room Tip: dont stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BlueEyedGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 18 October 2013
Greetings BlueEyedGirl,

First I would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced at our hotel. We try our best to accommodate every request our guest have and it is never our intention to have a guest not satisfied with our service. I understand how you feel and having examined the situation with the manager feel we could have handled your request differently. Please accept our apology and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you that we do care about our customers satisfaction.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    745
    165
    49
    25
See reviews for
423
751
151
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Hotel Lombardy has become our go to hotel for trips to D.C. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are really well appointed with very comfortable beds, and the location in Foggy Bottom is convenient to 2 different Metro stops but also an easy walk to Georgetown, George Washington University and sites like the White House.

Room Tip: I like to get the rooms that have the separate little kitchenette (a small cafe table and chairs, si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coolaunt52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Greetings coolaunt52,

We are glad that we are your go to hotel here in DC and thank you so much for posting your comments and sharing your experience with us.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk
Level Contributor
194 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights - the first hotel of our American holiday.

The best bits:-
Very comfy beds and pillows
Friendly staff
Very reasonably priced for a city location
Walking distance to White House/Lincoln Memorial - a bit further to Smithsonian museums
Close to metro
Quiet nights sleep

The not so good bits :-
Corridors a bit dark
Surrounding area very quiet over weekend - limited choice of restaurants (we didn't try the hotel's restaurant but it looked very nice- although a bit pricy)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigger103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
GreetingsTigger103,

Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments. We use these comments as a tool to improve our service, so again thank you for sharing.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013 via mobile

Charming hotel in a location very convenient to the attractions of Washington DC. This is a smaller hotel with comfortable clean updated rooms, a very attentive and accommodating staff and a decent workout room. Easy walk to the metro stations, lots of places nearby to eat, walking distance to many of the monuments of our nations capitol. I have stayed here several times and have not been disappointed.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Grabes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Greetings Grabes,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

There were a total of seven rooms for us this trip as I had my customer, academic partner and and my own staff stay here. I love this hotel and everyone was thrilled to have stayed here…great staff (cannot say enough about the staff from the bellman to front desk to the restaurant and cleaning crew), great location, impeccable rooms and great value. The staff bent over backwards to help me with our meeting at dinner Sunday and lunch in the Venetian Room yesterday.

The restaurant is so good that it makes no sense to go anywhere else and there are many choices in the immediate area. The historic hotel is quaint, not modern - well equipped and safe as I have traveled here alone in the past.

My guests were impressed and all said this will be their home in Wash DC next visit.
As I have in the past, I will make this my spot to stay when I am in Wash DC.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jobcreator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Greetings jobcreator,

Thanks you so much for taking the time to share your comments. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and was able to experience our dining outlets as well.

Our goals is to treat every guests with the warmest welcome and to make you feel at home.
Again thank you for sharing and we look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Loved everything about this hotel.
Room size was good, bedding was clean and comfortable.
The bathroom was a good size and also very clean. The only issue is the shower pressure was terrible. You had to run around in the shower to get wet!
Excellent location to main Washington DC sites ie. walking distance to white house, subway nearby, walking distance to Georgetown (which we loved).
Would stay here again if in Washington, and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie_traveladdicts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Greetings Aussie_traveladdict,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We appreciate you and value you as our guest and we strive to always provide the best service to make our guests feel at home.

Hopefully we will see you on your next visit to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springboro, Ohio
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

This small boutique hotel in the northwest area was a perfect location for our first trip to the Capitol. The room was nicely appointed, with a spacious bath, crisp linens and a friendly, helpful staff. We were able to walk to the monuments and down Constitution to a number of museums. We did take a cab to and from our tour of the Capitol Building due to distance and rain. The proximity to George Washington University added an academic flavor to our experience. Only negatives: whatever work was being done during the evening at a nearby location meant lots of noise-trucks backing up, trash/glass being dumped, construction sounds. Be prepared for expensive food if you eat in-house, although it is quite good.

Room Tip: Request an interior room, if possible, to cut down on street noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jettan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
Greetings jettan,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. The construction noise adjacent to the hotel has been addressed and we hope it did not ruin your evenings.

I hope that you will stay here again with us soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,680 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 141 in Washington DC
473 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,778 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing