We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant smashes all conceptions ”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #34 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Most restaurants in hotels are not great. The one here is excellent. The food is very good. Muhammad

is excellent and knowledgeable and genuinely interested in his customers. I highly recommend this restaurant and the hotel. The hotel is quaint and historical and cool. The restaurant really makes it great.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank jleoxii13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings jleoxii13,

Thank you for your great comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience and was willing to share with the TripAdvisor viewers. I will be sure to mention to Mohammad about your remarks as well. We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,241 - 1,247 of 2,188 reviews

Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Lombardy for 4 nights at the end of a two week trip exploring the east coast. It was a great place to relax and our room was beautifully appointed with tonnes of cupboard space and a large, bright en suite bathroom.

The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable and no noise heard from the neighboring rooms. Nice bathroom products and complementary water and newspaper service daily.

We used the city bike station close to the hotel which was a great way to visit the city. Valet parking is expensive but this is valid for all Washington Hotels and hardly avoidable. There are also cheaper 24 hour park-houses available in the area within walking distance.

The staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly especially the doormen as mentioned in several reviews. A Starbucks just down the street was a great thing on the second morning they already remembered my name and my order!

We didn't eat at the hotel at all as we were on the tourist track most of the time and ate along the way but we were always happy to get back "home" to rest up and appreciate room. It was
spotlessly clean, bright, great light fittings and sleep quality was excellent.

Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rach68Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings rach68Basel,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon and maybe the next time you will be able to experience our Cafe.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 week while on business/vacation trip. It's a classy old hotel. We had a suite which has a kitchenette, sparsely equipped but sufficient. Beautiful furniture. Solid vintage style bathroom. Doormen very accommodating (though expect to tip for everything!) Actually we became so attached to one of them that I was a little embarrassed to tip him--he seemed so much like a friend. Everything you need or want to see is in walking distance. Impressive hotel restaurant. Ate 4 meals at the hotel restaurant, 3 times with another couple, and I think there was not one single item that was less than superb. Parked a car in the hotel garage, which seemed very clean and safe. We would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings M N,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself and that we met your expectations. You had a chance to get the overall experience including dining in our Cafe and I'm glad that we made you feel at home.

We look forward to having you back soon and the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

A hotel that feels more like home! We stayed at Hotel Lombardy in May and it simply is a quaint, clean hotel that has a classic feel in its fixtures and furnishings. Upon arrival the staff was courteous and welcoming. We were in town for a wedding and conveniently it was right next door. The room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette and a separate eating area which was a welcome surprise since we had a 9 month old with us. We had asked for a crib and it was quickly brought to our room. One of the best things about this hotel is its location---It's close by many DC area attractions and nice restaurants--- wait there's another huge plus--- it's much more reasonable in price than most hotels in the Nations Capitol. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the country and while Hotel Lombardy does not offer all those high priced flashy extras ...if you are OK with boutique hotels you will appreciate its cozy, vintage feel.
Hotel Lombardy is a great choice for single travelers, couples and even couples with very young children.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank connieani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings connieani,

Thanks you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy for your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to accommodate your request.

We do take pride in the fact that we are a boutique hotel that offers a unique experience for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When arriving the staff was extremely friendly, polite and accommodating. I brought my daughter and 4 grandkids (2 rooms). The rooms were very nostalgic to me (wish I loved). The beds were so comfortable and the drapes did not allow any light in for sleeping late. I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: close to restaurants and coffee shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gingers824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings ginger s,

Thanks for posting your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We came from Finland and spent lovely time in this beautiful hotel. The location was perfect, the staff were friendly and helpful, rooms were clean, food was excellent. We have nothing negative to say.
Big thank!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timo N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings Timo N,

Thank your for posting your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope that we will see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We celebrated my parents’ 40th anniversary at the Hotel Lombardy. We are local to the Washington area but wanted to get our parents a suite as well as a really nice dinner. The Hotel Lombardy came through, as usual. Last year, we booked a suite for my mother’s birthday and she loved it so we figured we would keep to a good thing and do something similar for the anniversary celebration. On both occasions, we had a mini fridge located in a separate kitchenette type area. There isn’t a stove but everything else is there (therefore they do not advertise it a true kitchenette). For appetizers, wine, champagne, and cake it was just perfect! The living room was plenty big for the five of us and the bedroom was very clean and cozy. Ample closet space and the entry hallway made this feel like a true home away from home.

The restaurant, located on the first floor was fabulous. It was cold outside and they had the fire lit which was added to the homey feeling this hotel exudes. Our server was attentive and each of our meals were cooked as requested. Again, it can be a little tough pleasing Mom – especially when it comes to restaurants. I’ll tell you this is one of very few which gets her stamp of approval!

Both times I have been in the hotel rooms, they have faced Pennsylvania Avenue. Initially, I was concerned about the noise outside but aside from the occasional ambulance siren, we heard nothing at all! This hotel is conveniently located to the Metro as well as other nearby sites if you are visiting from out of town. It’s a hotel we as a family recommend to others and plan on using again and again based on the quality of service and experiences we had over the past few years.

Room Tip: We have always gotten great rates at this hotel. It might be worth your time to call to ask about th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A2DL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Greetings A2DL!

Thank you for posting the details of your celebration with us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us again.

We look forward to you staying again the next time.

Happy Anniversary to your parents!

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 142 in Washington DC
1,772 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 142 in Washington DC
1,767 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#31 of 142 in Washington DC
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#40 of 142 in Washington DC
1,278 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#33 of 142 in Washington DC
1,050 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#4 of 142 in Washington DC
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £85 - £317 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing