We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great location!”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
122 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“A great location!”
Reviewed 6 November 2013

The hotel was in a perfect location for my needs and walking distance to my clients, restaurants and shops. The staff was warm and welcoming and made you feel as if you count. The room was spacious and well-appointed. Wireless worked beautifully. Bathroom was spotless. A word of advice, if you use a CPAP machine or need an outlet near the bed, there isn't an available one so bring an extension cord.

Try their restaurant for meals. It's very reasonable and the food beautifully prepared. I would definitely go back

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abetter1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings abetter1,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you aain soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    744
    165
    49
    25
See reviews for
423
751
151
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This is a lovely little hotel situated in the heart of DC. It is small and charming, clean and comfortable. The rooms are a good size and the beds are very comfortable. I have stayed here twice in the past few years and both rooms I have stayed in have had a small sitting area and kitchenette (with sink, coffee pot, and refrigerator). The rooms are well appointed and traditional.The bathrooms are clean, hot water and pressure are excellent. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Best of all is the location. It is about 3 blocks from Foggy Bottom Metro so we just take the metro from the airport and walk the 3 blocks to the hotel. My daughter attends George Washington University so for a visit to the university the location is perfect. It is also close enough to walk to the Mall and all of the monuments and museums as well as The White House. We ate breakfast one rainy morning in the hotel and although it was adequate, I didn't find it delicious,but overpriced. I was, however, glad that it was available since it was pouring rain. The other mornings we headed out to one of the many coffee shops in the area. We stopped by the bar one evening which was lively and fun and warm.

Room Tip: Last trip we stayed in a parkside suite. The sitting room had a lovely view of the park across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank r d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings r d,

Thank you for posting your comments, we appreciate that you took the time to do so. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit as well as the neighborhood.

We like to hear our guests that have stayed with us more than once share their experience. It is our goal to offer the highest level of service and make our guests feel at home.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013 via mobile

Most restaurants in hotels are not great. The one here is excellent. The food is very good. Muhammad

is excellent and knowledgeable and genuinely interested in his customers. I highly recommend this restaurant and the hotel. The hotel is quaint and historical and cool. The restaurant really makes it great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jleoxii13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings jleoxii13,

Thank you for your great comments. I am glad that you enjoyed your experience and was willing to share with the TripAdvisor viewers. I will be sure to mention to Mohammad about your remarks as well. We look forward to having you stay again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stayed at the Lombardy for 4 nights at the end of a two week trip exploring the east coast. It was a great place to relax and our room was beautifully appointed with tonnes of cupboard space and a large, bright en suite bathroom.

The bed and pillows were wonderfully comfortable and no noise heard from the neighboring rooms. Nice bathroom products and complementary water and newspaper service daily.

We used the city bike station close to the hotel which was a great way to visit the city. Valet parking is expensive but this is valid for all Washington Hotels and hardly avoidable. There are also cheaper 24 hour park-houses available in the area within walking distance.

The staff were wonderfully helpful and friendly especially the doormen as mentioned in several reviews. A Starbucks just down the street was a great thing on the second morning they already remembered my name and my order!

We didn't eat at the hotel at all as we were on the tourist track most of the time and ate along the way but we were always happy to get back "home" to rest up and appreciate room. It was
spotlessly clean, bright, great light fittings and sleep quality was excellent.

Highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rach68Basel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings rach68Basel,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon and maybe the next time you will be able to experience our Cafe.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crosse, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here for 1 week while on business/vacation trip. It's a classy old hotel. We had a suite which has a kitchenette, sparsely equipped but sufficient. Beautiful furniture. Solid vintage style bathroom. Doormen very accommodating (though expect to tip for everything!) Actually we became so attached to one of them that I was a little embarrassed to tip him--he seemed so much like a friend. Everything you need or want to see is in walking distance. Impressive hotel restaurant. Ate 4 meals at the hotel restaurant, 3 times with another couple, and I think there was not one single item that was less than superb. Parked a car in the hotel garage, which seemed very clean and safe. We would not think of staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings M N,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We are happy that you enjoyed yourself and that we met your expectations. You had a chance to get the overall experience including dining in our Cafe and I'm glad that we made you feel at home.

We look forward to having you back soon and the opportunity to serve you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

A hotel that feels more like home! We stayed at Hotel Lombardy in May and it simply is a quaint, clean hotel that has a classic feel in its fixtures and furnishings. Upon arrival the staff was courteous and welcoming. We were in town for a wedding and conveniently it was right next door. The room was clean and comfortable with a small kitchenette and a separate eating area which was a welcome surprise since we had a 9 month old with us. We had asked for a crib and it was quickly brought to our room. One of the best things about this hotel is its location---It's close by many DC area attractions and nice restaurants--- wait there's another huge plus--- it's much more reasonable in price than most hotels in the Nations Capitol. I've stayed in some of the best hotels in the country and while Hotel Lombardy does not offer all those high priced flashy extras ...if you are OK with boutique hotels you will appreciate its cozy, vintage feel.
Hotel Lombardy is a great choice for single travelers, couples and even couples with very young children.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank connieani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings connieani,

Thanks you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy for your stay. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and that we were able to accommodate your request.

We do take pride in the fact that we are a boutique hotel that offers a unique experience for our guests. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 31 October 2013

When arriving the staff was extremely friendly, polite and accommodating. I brought my daughter and 4 grandkids (2 rooms). The rooms were very nostalgic to me (wish I loved). The beds were so comfortable and the drapes did not allow any light in for sleeping late. I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends.

Room Tip: close to restaurants and coffee shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gingers824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Greetings ginger s,

Thanks for posting your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,678 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 141 in Washington DC
471 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,586 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,777 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing