We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, basic room”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #32 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Incredibly central DC hotel and it being a Sunday I managed to park my rental car - for free - right outside. Lovely friendly doorman. I got the room on a bit of a deal so unsurprisingly it was a poor room - cramped and dark and at the back of the building - the view out of the window being the wall of the building right behind it, across a service alley. But you get what you pay for and all I wanted was a place to crash for one night that was close to the White House. Walked a fantastic circuit from the hotel that took in the White House, the monument, the reflecting pool, the Lincoln memorial, and then up to the Foggy Bottom Metro station and the site of the hospital where I was born. Memorable night in this famous city, and the hotel is okay... but when I have more money I'll get a better room!

Room Tip: You'll want to pay more for a room at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings Ros B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you were able to come back to Washington, DC where you were born and I hope that on your next visit you choose to stay with us again and you will be able to stay in one of our rooms that overlook Pennsylvania Avenue.

We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,210)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,210 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2013

Good location in Foggy Bottom only a few blocks from the Metro station and an easy walk to the White House. Room was a kingsize but the room was very basic with views to office buildings (10 ft one way and 30 ft the other way. Small bathroom, no fridge, fixed shower head and nothing at all special to get excited about. Pillows very lumpy and uncomfortable. We asked for feather pillows but they didn't have any others. No bathrobes in the room and when we asked they sent up only one. For the money you pay you would really expect more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front. The back views are terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings Rob R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that we did not meet your full expectation. In reference to the bath robes, all of our guest rooms should be equipped with them and I will look into this matter as soon as possible.

Regarding the view, we do have different room types that offer front facing views and being located in the city unfortunately all guests rooms cannot have the best view and will most likely face another building , perhaps on your next visit we can see to it that you have a room with a better view.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It is an older building and small but clean and perfectly fine in a great location right on Pennsylvania Avenue with an easy walk to many attractions. My room on fourth floor on the front of the hotel was quiet and my stay was uneventful. Free wifi access. Pleasant staff. Would stay here again. My trip was quick, one night for business and all was good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Moxiefe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Greetings Moxiefe,

Thank you for posting your comments. So glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Great hotel… nice people.. clean. In house restaurant was great. on the 2nd night they did a special non menu request. It was wonderful. I walked to the Vietnam War Memorial. The hotel seemed to be walking distance from everything

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Greetings brian b,

Thank you for sharing. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and had a chance to experience our restaurant as well.

We look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

In my stay in the capital did a full tour of the main centers for politics and American history. It dates back to the origins of democracy in the country. I did a complete and comprehensive visits to museums , memorials and monuments to great leaders of America.

Also, walked from end to end across the capital , rail , walking and private vehicle.

I have talked with several locals and indigenous political era, which we specify a discussion and exchange of experience between U.S. & NICARAGUA ...

I found the chance to taste the American food and visit a top national universities and high global icon status, such as: . George Washington University - The Graduate School of Political Management /

Very nice ... my visit I learned a lot of culture , history and feeling palpable and sincere people that live in this city ...

Our God Bless America.

Blessings .

Fraternal Greetings .



MAB . GUSTAVO Baldelomar
Independent Consultant .
Public & Private Instances .
Rural Tourism Specialist .

Room Tip: room number 9 / sensational.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ASESOR I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Greetings ASESOR I,

Thank you for taking sharing your comments. We are glad that you had a great stay and visit to Washington, DC.

We look forward to having you back with us and G.W.U School of Political Management are definitely our friends here at the Hotel Lombardy.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Only stayed one night but would stay again! Room was very clean and very comfortable. Noise from outside was not a factor as we were on the 5th floor. This is an older but charming hotel and very well maintained. The doormen were quite friendly as was any of the staff that we encountered. Loved that the shower and toilet had a separate door! So nice to be able to get ready while someone else is showering! Location is close to all attractions and walking distance to Georgetown and GWU which is where we needed to be! Thanks Hotel Lombardy~!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kattogo4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Greetings mkdapinto,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We appreciate you and are glad that you had stay.

We look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We were able to just stay one night, but were so sad we couldn't spend a week! What a great little hotel! We felt like we were staying in some little European boutique hotel. It was so quaint and attractive! The staff were so nice and accomodating and the service was great and so friendly. I am a travel agent and can't wait to recommend this hotel to any clients traveling to Washington DC! Also, one of the best restaurants I've ever eaten in, Founding Farmers, is located just across the street. Treat yourself to these two jewels!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue_tts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Greetings Sue_tts,

Thanks for taking the time to post your review. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is our goal to provide outstanding service always to each and every guests that comes through the door and I am happy to know that we have done that.

We look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#31 of 141 in Washington DC
1,779 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,784 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
1,282 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
1,057 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £81 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing