We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel in DC”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at the Lombardy in October, 2013, for five nights. We loved it. The location was very convenient--close to the metro and within a few blocks of the White House. The room was very nice and had some character. There was a small kitchen area and a dressing area. The staff was helpful. We enjoy a lovely meal in the restaurant. This was a great place for us. It really gave us the DC experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings Elaine R,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience, I am happy to know that you enjoyed your visit and had a chance to experience our Cafe.

We look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,249 - 1,255 of 2,231 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

It was the best hotel that i had. Very clean and cheap nice view everything was perfect

Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank 인철곽
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings!

Thank you for your feed back, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to Washington, DC.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

A friendly, relaxed atmosphere. The entire staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is easily accessible by car, yet within walking distance of fine restaurants, historical attractions and parks. The small gym is well equipped for anyone wanting a quick workout.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LPurnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings LPurnell,

Thank you for your feed back. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Very well located in Foggy Bottom - walking distance from White House and Renwick Gallery. Short walk to Metro station with good access to downtown & free shuttle bus to Kennedy Centre. Room was comfortable with good bed and a desk. Good free wifi. Annex to room with sink, fridge & coffee maker, but some cutlery and plates would have been useful. Very good restaurant with excellent breakfasts & friendly staff (especially Mohammed in the evenings). Also comfortable and cosy bar on the ground floor.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings Pamela F,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit. In reference to having cutlery in the room, we do not have it because we the particular room that you are speaking of is a wet bar area and not a full kitchen, perhaps the next time you can contact our staff to assist with such a requirement, they would be happy to assist.

We look forward to having you stay again soon and are happy that you got a chance to experience our dining outlet.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

Incredibly central DC hotel and it being a Sunday I managed to park my rental car - for free - right outside. Lovely friendly doorman. I got the room on a bit of a deal so unsurprisingly it was a poor room - cramped and dark and at the back of the building - the view out of the window being the wall of the building right behind it, across a service alley. But you get what you pay for and all I wanted was a place to crash for one night that was close to the White House. Walked a fantastic circuit from the hotel that took in the White House, the monument, the reflecting pool, the Lincoln memorial, and then up to the Foggy Bottom Metro station and the site of the hospital where I was born. Memorable night in this famous city, and the hotel is okay... but when I have more money I'll get a better room!

Room Tip: You'll want to pay more for a room at the front!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ros B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings Ros B,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad that you were able to come back to Washington, DC where you were born and I hope that on your next visit you choose to stay with us again and you will be able to stay in one of our rooms that overlook Pennsylvania Avenue.

We look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Good location in Foggy Bottom only a few blocks from the Metro station and an easy walk to the White House. Room was a kingsize but the room was very basic with views to office buildings (10 ft one way and 30 ft the other way. Small bathroom, no fridge, fixed shower head and nothing at all special to get excited about. Pillows very lumpy and uncomfortable. We asked for feather pillows but they didn't have any others. No bathrobes in the room and when we asked they sent up only one. For the money you pay you would really expect more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front. The back views are terrible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Greetings Rob R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I apologize that we did not meet your full expectation. In reference to the bath robes, all of our guest rooms should be equipped with them and I will look into this matter as soon as possible.

Regarding the view, we do have different room types that offer front facing views and being located in the city unfortunately all guests rooms cannot have the best view and will most likely face another building , perhaps on your next visit we can see to it that you have a room with a better view.

We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2013

This is a very nice hotel. It is an older building and small but clean and perfectly fine in a great location right on Pennsylvania Avenue with an easy walk to many attractions. My room on fourth floor on the front of the hotel was quiet and my stay was uneventful. Free wifi access. Pleasant staff. Would stay here again. My trip was quick, one night for business and all was good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
Thank Moxiefe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 December 2013

Greetings Moxiefe,

Thank you for posting your comments. So glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,791 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,801 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,912 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
568 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,584 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £79 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing