We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a lovely stay”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“We had a lovely stay”
Reviewed 7 March 2014

We enjoyed two nights at this lovely little hotel last weekend. Nothing to complain about whatsoever. We had a cute room with a little kitchen and comfortable beds. We liked the uniqueness of the hotel and we found the staff to be very accommodating and pleasant. Easy check in. Good location. Our room was on the 9th floor and we did not hear any noise at all. It didn't have a great view, but we didn't care about that. Both of us slept quite soundly. We would definetely stay there again.

Room Tip: We liked being on a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1bookworm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Greetings 1bookworm,

Thanks you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate you and are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and most of all to that you would definitely come back.

We look forward to having you with us again soon.
Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,115
    762
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
436
766
153
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
McLean, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We are grateful to an impending snowstorm that led us to book a night at Hotel Lombardy
rather than traveling to our home in northern Virginia. We opted for this hotel because of its location and very reasonable price compared to large DC hotels. What a treat! What a welcome. The friendliness of the staff was outstanding--from those at the reception desk to housekeeping to bellman/valet. We were charmed by the European atmosphere of this boutique hotel, built in 1926, and our surprisingly cozy yet spacious room with king-size bed. The bathroom is divided into two parts--sink and vanity are conveniently separated by a door from the shower and toilet. Parking overnight cost $43 (including tax). Even so, our cost for the room (with AAA or AARP discount) and parking was about $170. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast in the cozy, bright cafe (not included in room rate).

Room Tip: We had a room on the second floor (yes, there are elevators) with a view of "i" street and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carlita62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Greetings Carlita62,

Thank you for sharing your experience. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. We strive to provide an outstanding service to all of our guests at all times.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cliffside Park, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

Loved this European hotel in the middle of DC - we stayed in a Suite on the 9th floor and just loved
The charm. Enjoy a late night drink in the Venetian room for a real "throw back" treat - the staff was very friendly and extremely helpful - what a treat!!!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ToniandJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Greetings ToniandJerry,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile


Bottom line is that you can't fundamentally argue with a hotel with such lovely rooms at such a good price that is this well located. That said, I was somehow left a little underwhelmed. It somehow ends up feeling a little pokey (the photos make it look larger and grander than it is; you squeeze through a narrow entrance to a tiny reception space with just a couple of chairs, with an equally tiny reception area up some stairs to the left. And the narrow corridors feel gloomy and ill-lit. And someone it wasn't a surprise that the door didn't open easily and we had to spend a minute rattling it each time we wanted to get in, or that the air on burst rudely and noisily to life at 5am. This isn't what I expect from a hotel with such good trip adviser reviews. But I end where I started: the room we had really was lovely: two very comfy queen beds, with very comfy pillows that was well appointed, had ample space and suffered from no road noise. For the price we were paying it felt like a real bargain and I doubt you'd get much better for the price elsewhere in DC.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank H_Alst0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Greetings H_Alst0n,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit. We value your opinions and we use them as tool to improve our service. I apologize that your overall stay did not meet your full expectations. I am glad to hear however that you enjoyed the guestroom.

We would like to get an opportunity to have you back with us someday.

Sincerely.,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We planned a night away at the Hotel Lombardy and we had a great experience! The room was lovely and clean. The front desk was efficient and welcoming! The porter at the door was really friendly and nice and wanted to help you. We went to the restaurant later in the evening and were the only one there and had a great meal. I recommend the salmon as it was wonderful as was our waiter! He was kind, helpful and friendly! A truly great experience.
I would suggest two things to the hotel. The fridge was well stocked but we were lacking in our caffeinated coffee and the coffee pot did not open on the shelf that it was placed on. Also room service was really slow as it took 20 minutes or more to deliver a pot of coffee. the upshot of this is make sure you check the morning coffee is stocked! I will say that the hotel is located so centrally that it is wonderful!
But all in all a great stay and a wonderful Valentines day weekend!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annwyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Greetings Annwyn L,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are delighted that you chose to spend Valentine's Day weekend here with us.

It appears that overall you really enjoyed your stay, we value you comments and use them as a tool to train and increase our level of service.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Conveniently located with close proximity to many office buildings. Very comfortable rooms. Major draw back is the elevator service as two lifts are clearly insufficient particularly in the morning where you can expect rather long waits.

Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank benbatouta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Greetings benbatouta,

Thank you for taking the to to share your experience. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to serving you again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boort, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is in a great location and very clean. The reception staff member who checked us in was very disinterested and seemed distracted. She kept us waiting for quite a while for no apparent reason. On arriving at our room we were disappointed to find it extremely small and with no fridge. We called reception to ask if we could have a fridge (the weather was extremely hot) and were told they'd see what they could do. We ventured out for the afternoon and asked again on our return only to be told they were still looking into it. We told them we would be in the bar for a while. We had a drink and snack there for dinner - food was excellent. On our return to our room we called reception again only to be told that they had been trying to reach us but we weren't in our room! Another room was offered to us at 9.30pm which we took. The new room was twice the size, had a lovely view and a fridge. The porter who helped us with our luggage told us that there are only about 3 rooms in the hotel without a fridge and he couldn't understand why we had been given that room in the first place as they were not fully booked. After returning home and checking our bill we discovered that we had been charged $20 for the mini bar (we didnt use anything from the mini bar!). Overall this is a great hotel but some of the staff let it down.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank delgaz28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Greetings delgaz28,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your full expectations. I will look into your concerns and be sure that they are addressed. We strive to provide outstanding service 100% of the time and to make our guests feel at home.

We definitely would like the opportunity to have another chance to serve you and hope that you will consider visiting us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,728 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
494 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,688 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
747 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing