We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really a 'boutique hotel'”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Teversal, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Really a 'boutique hotel'”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

All of the staff that we had contact with were very friendly and helpful - and professional. Great location - we walked to the White House and saw the Cherry Blossom Festival.very good decoration, good breakfast and dinner and very comfortable bar.Absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AJxailom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Greetings AJxailom,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and you picked a great time to visit the city, the Cherry Blossoms are amazing.

We look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,111 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,112
    759
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
434
764
153
486
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison Heights, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

From our very first contact at check in, till the valet parking at departure, all of the staff that we had contact with were very professional and very service oriented! It has a great location - we walked to Georgetown and the Cherry Blossom Festival - lots within easy walking distance. Very tastefully decorated. Nice little touches. Very comfortable furnishings! Definitely would recommend!

Room Tip: King bed room was very spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LAPF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Greetings LAPF2013,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We are happy that you chose to stay here at the Hotel Lombardy and also that you enjoyed your visit.

We look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Actually stayed in January of 2013, just before the inauguration.

A spotless hotel with classic stylings, Hotel Lombardy punches well above its star rating. Where other places may retain their stars on technical points, the Lombardy only loses them on same.

From memory, I booked myself a standard king-size room. It was generously proportioned, well laid out and very nicely appointed. It boasted a little kitchenette and small round kitchen table, pseudo walk-in closet and gleaming bathroom, the latter being of vital importance to my neurotic peace of mind. All this at a very reasonable price.

Can't recommend Hotel Lombardy enough, so I won't. Besides, as my DC go-to hotel, I don't want it booked out.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geneticoddity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Greetings geneticoddity,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we hope that you will definitely come back soon, perhaps when it is a little warmer.

We look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Hotel Lombardy is located in Foggy Bottom just across cross the street from The George Washington University (and Foggy Bottom metro) and just a few blocks to the White House. Great central location for getting around Washington. Its an older hotel that has been updated so its modern, clean, warm and cozy with big comfortable rooms. Not 5 star fancy but definitely a great 4 star hotel. Excellent affordable hotel (great room rates) in a very central location. My husband and I met my in-laws here for the Cherry Blossom Festival and as someone who used to live and work in DC I could not have been more pleased with this hotel. I would recommend this for anyone looking for a great central location for all DC has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AR407145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Greetings AR407145,

Thank you for your comments. We appreciate you and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit and had the opportunity to see the Cherry Blossoms.

We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chapel Hill, NC
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My daughters and I had an incredibly enjoyable stay at the Hotel Lombardy this weekend. From the moment we arrived, we were warmly welcomed and made to feel at home. Our room was spacious and tastefully decorated, blending the classic with the contemporary. We slept so well in the comfortable beds that it was hard to get motivated in the morning! Fortunately, the breakfast was just what we needed to start our day. Great food with nice touches - almond french toast, crisp fruit salad, etc.

The location of this hotel worked really well for us. With kids, we appreciated the short walk to the Metro station as well as the abundance of restaurants/sites within walking distance. The staff answered all our questions and helped us make the most of our short time in DC.

If you are looking for a comfortable, unique, well-managed hotel in a GREAT location, the Hotel Lombardy will be a great place to call home.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Greetings Reba17,

Thank you for taking the time to share and post your comments. Sounds like you had a great stay with us and that is exactly what we like to hear. We appreciate you and look forward to having you back with us.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

We have had the best experience at this Hotel . Clean and up to date for a historic hotel. The staff at all times was courteous and helpful! The restaurants that were recommended were excellent.We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Greetings 2rtravelers2014,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We look forward to your visit again and are happy that you enjoed your stay.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This was a getaway for my birthday during a very dreary winter. The room was great and I liked the overall look of the small hotel. The location was good for DC. Not too noisy. The restaurant was just flat out bad. Service, value and food. Would not recommend. A large bouquet of dying flowers at the entrance of the restaurant should have been my clue. I would go back but I would hit the little bar longer if there were drink specials. Too much competition in the area for subpar food and spirits.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Murrray4me
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Greetings Murrray4me,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I apologize that your visit was less than perfect. We strive to provide the best service to our guests and use your comments as a tool to improve service.
Although we usually get great comments regarding our cafe reading your review made me want to know more details about your experience. We do not want any person walking away unsatisfied and we hope that you would give us another chance.
Please contact me at you convenience.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,723 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 141 in Washington DC
493 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
744 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,681 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing