We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights in July. The hotel reception staff seemed like they did not want to be there. Neither of the girls smiled and they spoke in a disinterested, monotone voice.

Three of us stayed in the two double bed room and had plenty of space for our luggage. The door to our bathroom did not close completely. Someone was sent up immediately to fix it. But after a couple times of opening and closing the bathroom door, the problem came back and we couldn't close it completely again. We just left it since we weren't staying long.

Shower is fantastic! However, our tub did not drain fast enough and we were standing in ankle deep water within minutes. I had to turn off the water in the middle of my shower to let the tub drain.

The second night of our stay, both card keys to our room did not work. We had to go down to reception and wait in line to get them reactivated. This was quite annoying after a full day of walking in the hot weather and all we wanted to do was get back to our room and get off our feet. The reception girl gave no explanation as to why the cards were deactivated in the first place.

The best thing about this hotel would be the location. We were within walking distance to all the monuments, you could even walk over to the Chinatown area.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vinnybobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings vinnybobb,

Thank you for sharing your comments. We strive to provide outstanding service and to make our guests feel at home at all times, I apologize that we fell to meet your expectations and the standard in which we take pride in. We hope that you will give us another chance on your next visit to the Nation's Capital.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,038 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    734
    164
    48
    25
See reviews for
420
738
150
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Checked in the desk staff kind'a snippy. The bell hops and door people very nice. The room was fine, the bathroom was small but clean and usable. There was a weird little kitchen thingy that was useless except for the honor bar and basket of candy. It has been so long since we have seen this, the kids didn't realize that they were eating a bag of M&M that cost 6$.

I am going to try a different hotel up the street next time I am in town, but If I don't like the new one I would come back to this one.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a view... ours had none
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whateverhappensnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings whateverhappensnow,

Thank you for posting your comments and thank you for choosing to stay here at the Hotel Lombardy. I am sorry to hear that we may have fallen short in your expectations of our hotel. We strive to provide outstanding service at all times and perhaps after you visit the hotel down the street, you will come back to us again for a second try.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakville, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We booked the Hotel Lombardy as a last minute long weekend couples get for my wife and me. The reviews on Trip Advisor we positive so we were confident in our choice. The building is old so you know that there will be quarks; nothing major. The rooms are on the small side but the separate kitchen (fridge/sink only) and dressing/vanity rooms help make the suite much less cramped than just the bedroom area. We found the staff to very attentive and helpful. This was a very nice stay, great location and at a very good price. We would return to the Hotel Lombardy again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OakvilleGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings OakvilleGuy,

Thank you for posting your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Really enjoyed our stay here. The hotel is an historical building. The room is tastefully decorated and very comfortable. It has a small but adequate gym. We had a street view room and even on the 3rd floor street noise was no problem. The staff were lovely. The Venetian room was a lovely place for a drink. The Cafe Lombardy was really good and our waiter, Mohammed, was brilliant. The hotel is conveniently located to the memorial park and the White House. Founding Fathers restaurant is just across the road and is a good place for breakfast - very reasonably priced. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryanne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings Maryanne W,

Thank you for sharing. We are glad that you had a great time and that you had the opportunity to use our dining outlets. We appreciate you and hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Hotel Lombardy is a hidden gem. It feels like a European hotel, and I loved everything about it. Great location, charming and spotless spaces, and terrific staff. Mohammed and all of the staff are just terrific. I loved it so much that I added an extra night to my stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings Kim J,

Thank you! We are glad that you liked your stay so much you decided to stay a little longer, we are glad that we could accommodate and happy that you chose to stay here with us.
We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
101 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel has lovely staff and the rooms were simple and small yet clean and comfortable. We had three rooms that were all that way. The air conditioning did not reach the bathroom but other than that it was fine. The location is great and you can walk everywhere. Valet parking is a plus!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lnmargel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings Lnmargel,

Thank you for sharing. We are glad that you have a nice visit and we look forward to having you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

The Lombardy is a Charming Hotel with great customer service and conveniently located walking distance from the Metro. The rooms are clean, comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful. Free WiFi makes it ideal for business travelers

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Attar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Greetings HrayrA,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit.
Hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,638 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#45 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,749 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,563 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing