We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Boutique Hotel”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Four friends...a weekend stay In DC...
We enjoyed the Lombardy............staff was very at front desk as well as at door, and all about.
Our rooms were lovely, and clean, and comfortable. 2 queen beds, and a little area with vanity, and another area with table and chairs and fridge..... decorated nicely
We ate breakfast twice there..seemed pricey, but food was good [though eggs over "medium" or eggs over "well" did not pan out]
We had a nice stay..

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GiniAbingdonMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings GiniAbingdonMD,

Thank you for taking the time to share, it's always nice to getaway every now and then and we are glad that you chose to stay here with us. We are glad that you and your friends enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrdado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,137 - 1,143 of 2,232 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was our second choice, since everything closer to the Washington mall area was booked. We stayed for two nights, and paid well over $550 for our stay. We arrived from the west coast after 10:00 P.M. E.T., and had difficulty finding a restaurant in this area that was still open. The cafe at the hotel was closed, but went on line to find that there was a TGIF nearby. We found that after 9:00 P. M. there was very little activity in this area.

The hotel has no business center, a completely unsecured wi-fi connection, and if you ask for a wake up call they actually come to your room and knock on the door.

The staff was unobtrusive. As a matter of fact, do not expect the bellman to assist with your baggage or to help flag down a taxi.

The rooms were clean, but the air conditioner was so loud we had to shut it off for the night.

My first instincts to stay elsewhere were correct.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 034632
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings 034632,

Thank you for posting your comments. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations and we use all of the comments and remarks we receive as a tool for improvement Your concerns will be addressed and we hope that you will give us another try.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is my tenth visit to Hotel Lombardy over the past year, and it never disappoints. In fact, it exceeds. From welcoming doormen to the capable and pleasant team at the front desk, you are immediately delighted to be there. The lovely Venetian Lounge is tended by Nathan, who will make you feel right at home. And, the restaurant is quite good. For a small hotel like this, sometimes one would find housekeeping issues - not here. It is spotless. Although business will bring me back shortly, I am already looking forward to my next stay at Hotel Lombardy.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings Sally F,

Thank you for your feedback, we are happy that you enjoy staying with us, we look forward to your 11th visit and hopefully many more. It is a great pleasure to hear such nice remarks about our hotel and staff.

Again thank you and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We had a great time at Hotel Lombardy. The door staff was extremely attentive and friendly both coming in and when we left. The room was large and clean and the bed was very comfortable. We were on the 8th floor and faced an inner courtyard, so street noise wasn't a problem. Great job folks, we'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBagwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings DavidBagwell,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay and glad to hear that our staff made you feel welcomed at at home. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Met by a smiling Doorman, escorted to the reception desk, everyone working is smiling and helpful. Room was beautiful, beds wonderful, pillows more than can be asked for. Dinner in Hotel was sensibly priced. The waiter, a kindly gentleman named Mohammed, impeccable service and friendly, not over-bearing, professional to nth degree.

The bar/lounge was comfortable and just the right lighting. The tender of the bar went out of his way to find a newspaper for me, he left the bar to search for one for me. Returned later that evening with my wife and as I told her before entering, "I bet he'll address you as Madam at some point. He did, It's wonderful to be treated so well when away from home. Would highly recommend this Hotel to anyone, 4 blocks from the White House, an easy walk and 8 short blocks to the Lincoln Memorial and The Vietnam Memorial Wall

Room Tip: The 4th floor was just right
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bobjanemaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Greetings Bobjanemaggie,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we are happy to know that ou enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

My stay at the Lombardy a little while back was precisely what I had hoped for from a centrally located boutique hotel. A cozy atmosphere, comfortable rooms with a retro feel but all modern amenities all in a charming package. The winning feature however is the service. I found all the staff considerate and helpful and one sensed that their motivation was to make guests feel at home. My deep admiration goes to Ms Cristina Niculae, however, who is the front desk manager. I needed help in securing correspondence after my departure and Ms Niculae seamlessly arranged for this through her personal effort. She is precisely the reason why some hotels secure the loyalty of their guests, like the Lombardy, and why we remember the individuals who made our stay worthwhile. Thank you, until my next visit!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Greetings Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and that Cristina was so helpful during your stay. We hope that you will visit us again on your next trip to the Nation's Capital!
We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Love this hotel. The people could not have been nicer or more helpful. It was our first time to Washington DC and this hotel made the trip perfect. Coming back to this hotel after a long day of walking through the city enjoying the sights was great! Nathan in the bar is wonderful!! The bellhops could not have been more helpful with our bags and getting taxi's for us. If I ever go back to Washington DC I will stay there for sure!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Greetings Emily V,

Thank you for posting your comments. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#33 of 141 in Washington DC
1,793 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,917 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 141 in Washington DC
1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
579 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,393 reviews
Upper Northwest
Washington Plaza Hotel
Washington Plaza Hotel
#25 of 141 in Washington DC
2,742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £78 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing