We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Accommodations; Pleasant Front Desk Staff; Not-So-Pleasant Bellmen”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Average Accommodations; Pleasant Front Desk Staff; Not-So-Pleasant Bellmen”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

When we arrived at the hotel, the front desk associate (Tishum, I believe her name was) was gracious, and gave us information on tours while our room was being inspected. Upon arrivng in our room, we found it to be very small, but serviceable. A few areas of concern did arise during our stay, one of them immediately resolved (plumbing issue with our toilet).

-The ceiling fan was on a dimmer switch, and made an awful buzzing noise. As I am a light sleeper, I had to keep the fan off. Not a big deal as the A/C worked flawlessly, but had there not been any A/C, it would have been a struggle.

-The bathroom light is also on a dimmer switch, and on occasion, would flicker even at full brightness.

-On the website, it states that the rooms have fully stocked minibar refrigerators. Neither my wife, nor I saw one in our room (513). It had everything else, but that.

-I found out on the last day of our stay the T.V. was out of commission. Not a big deal as we were leaving, but it needed to be addressed.

-The walls are VERY thin as I could hear housekeepers cleaning above us while we were trying to sleep. Again, this goes back to me being a light sleeper, so I was not too thrilled.

Upon our departure, I accidentally lost a couple of my luggage claim tickets, and asked if I could go to the luggage closet to verify my bags with the bellman. I am not sure the name of the bellman, but he was very sarcastic, and initially unwilling to allow me to verify my luggage. As we were in a hurry to get to the airport, I did NOT appreciate his sarcasm. I am in the Hospitality industry myself, and take customer service VERY seriously. I was able to collect my luggage, but I wanted to make it aware.

Overall, it was an average experience, but I would be hesitant to stay again upon my next trip to D.C.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank txtraveler1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings txtraveler1980,

Thank you for your feedback. I apologize that we did not meet you full expectations and have read your comments carefully.
We take all of our comments serious and use them as a tool to train and to improve our service. I hope that you will visit us again someday in the future.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,083 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,096
    747
    165
    49
    26
See reviews for
426
756
151
481
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (383)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Upstate New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

I stayed at Hotel Lombardy for a week in July 2014. This was my second stay there, and it was again excellent. I was in DC for sightseeing.

The hotel is older, but in a charming way. It has character. The registration staff was excellent. I asked for a quiet room on an upper floor, and that's what they gave me. The maid service was very good. The bathroom is an older style, but clean and comfortable. The Wi-Fi is free, and it works rather well. I continue to enjoy this hotel, and I told them so as I left.

The only oddity was that there was a light in my closet (of all things) that had been wired to be on all the time - you could see where the switch had been removed and the wiring connected directly. I didn't want light coming out from around the closet door all night, so I found a way to loosen the bulb until it shut off. They really should put the switch back in or remove the light.

But nothing is perfect. The hotel is a mere three blocks from a Metro station (Farragut West) - wonderful. I'll stay again if the price is reasonable.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings DClover,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. In reference to the closet light, we will research to see which room so that we can have that fixed immediately. We hope that you will visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashburn, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had a night's get away to DC from VA. Lovely, quiet, clean, excellent staff, and charming hotel. It was a perfect stay! Friendly, helpful staff. The lounge was extremely cozy, quaint and really relaxing. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ours was to be a king room, but upon arrival and chatting with the staff, they upgraded us to a King...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings Kimberly D,

Thank you for posting your comments, we are glad that you took the time to do so and that you enjoyed your visit.

I hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was not our first time in DC, but it was our first time staying here. We came with a small wedding party. We did not make our reservations at the same time as our friends, but the hotel was very accommodating in getting us all on the same floor. Very charming rooms, friendly staff, and a great location will bring is back next time we're in DC.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewbaby116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings Stewbaby116,


Thank you for posting your comments, we are glad that you had a chance to stay here at our hotel on your visit to DC this time and we are delighted that you enjoyed it.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
142 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were only in DC for a night, but I was really impressed with this hotel. Such charm, and we had a lovely room...wish we'd been able to stay here longer! Nice staff, and very friendly bellboy. The location is great although we were on a private tour for most of the day so I'm not sure exactly how far it was from the National Mall etc. But would definitely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KelsterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings KelsterSA,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, we are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our final night prior to an early morning flight out of Dulles.

We drove into D.C. from Virginia and while the hotel is easy to find, it is off a kind of slip road and there were road works as well so we had to go round the block twice before we could work out where to park!

The hotel were great at providing us with an early check in, and because the room type we'd booked wasn't free they upgraded us. A lovely sized room and sitting room for such a central location. The sitting room overlooked Pennsylvania Ave and it was quite noisy but the bedroom faced away from the road so was absolutely fine noise wise.

We obviously arrived at a very busy time and the bell guy/door man wasn't as helpful as he could have been. However, it was busy and absolutely tipping it down with rain.

Due to busy-ness we weren't given any introduction to our room, so didn't find the mini bar until after we'd ordered room service and didn't know where the coffee was the following morning. Also when we left the hotel after checking in and was trying to catch a taxi, the doorman said he was too busy to help us, so we were in the middle if the road, not really sure which direction we wanted to go and didn't get any help.

Other than that, the hotel really was good. We had a huge king size bed which was super comfortable, the bathroom was great and the sitting room was also good.

It's well located to get into downtown areas. Also the fact it's on the west side of town meant easy access to the airport. Would be more than happy to stay here again if we were back in DC.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank bigkisses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings bigkisses,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad that overall you enjoyed you room and your stay here at the hotel. I apologize that you were not greeted properly, despite the hotel being busy, we strive to provide the best service to all of our guests at all time and we hope that you will visit us again soon, so that we can make that up to you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I wote a review once before for the hotel, but realized I didn't indicate how much I enjoy the restaurant. The menu is excellent, the wonderful waiter knows the menu and can advise you on gluten free. In addition to a great meal with excellent service, you get a lovely view out the window.

Room Tip: I have stayed here several times and have never had a room that wasn't just ride.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Greetings K B,

Thank you for returning to post your comments about our Cafe, I am glad that you enjoyed it and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
1,696 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
483 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#17 of 141 in Washington DC
1,627 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
One Washington Circle Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing