We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Stay in Foggy Bottom”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #39 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my two day stay at the Lombardy. The room -- a suite -- was very comfortable and clean. For an old hotel, the hallways and lobby had a nice, fresh look. Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank plasalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Greetings plasalle,

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,142)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Lombardy
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,037 - 1,043 of 2,142 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall, average hotel. Good location. Poor to average service.

Pros
-Room was nice.
-Location was good

Cons
-Unresponsive front desk. During a two-day stay, I called about 5 times. They never picked up on the first or second try. I would have to wait 5-10 minutes.
-No ramp at entryway. For those with strollers, it was difficult.
-Doorman was not helpful. One time he was texting/on the phone. Another time he just stood at the top of the steps as we brought in bags + stroller.
-Poor views. Our room overlooked a courtyard with some garage
-The noise level was pretty bad starting at 5AM. You could hear nothing but garbage trucks coming from the courtyard.
-No ice machine. No biggie, but a bit odd.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank johnhZ7162LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Greetings John H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews. I am sorry that your expectations were not met during your visit. I can assure you that your concerns will be addressed, we strive to provide great service all the time as it is what makes us successful. When we fall short we use it as a tool to change and improve in those areas.

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My friend, Dallas and I had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Lombardy in DC. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly, the room was lovely and comfortable. We stayed at the Hotel from June 24 through June 30. The staff was also professional and were very
accommodating during our stay.

We enjoyed the cocktails and dinner at the Venetian Room. Nathan Yu is an excellent bartender and we loved talking to him every evening. Please thank the staff at the Hotel Lombardy they
were great. Sue Palmer and Dallas Armstrong from Colorado!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Greetings Sue P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy as well as enjoying Nathan and the rest of our staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a recent trip with friends to tour Washington. The hotel is a lovely older hotel steeped in history. Staff were friendly and helpful in all aspects. Our room was clean and comfortable - and complete with a little kitchen sitting room and well appointed bathroom and dressing area. Very comfortable beds. The proximity to attractions in Washington was good and tour buses did stop for pickups at this hotel. Parking is expensive and it is valet so you do not have access to your car unless one of the employees goes with you. Overall we would stay at this hotel again for comfort, cleanliness and helpful staff. Value for the price was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room with kitchenette.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steelcitymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Greetings steelcitymama,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

This hotel was exactly where I wanted to be on my last trip to DC. The first time I visited the capital I was on a budget and ended up staying out in Landover Hills, MD, which entailed an hour's worth of travel each way to get into the city, so being closer to everything was important this time around. Being only three blocks from the Metro, a couple more to the White House, and just a bit further to the Mall, this hotel was everything I wanted in terms of location.

You always hear about hotels in central DC being too pricey for the budget-minded traveller, but the Hotel Lombardy is a marvelous exception. As if the location wasn't enough, the room was very well-appointed and the staff was superbly attentive. The barman had my drink down pat after the first night, and made it consistently well every evening after that.

The only thing I would caution visitors about is the restaurant. While the service, atmosphere, and food were all very good, I felt it was a bit overpriced even for a hotel in a major city. There are many very good and much less expensive options within a few blocks, including a great little English-style pub right around the corner. The bar was a little bit pricey as well - I was paying $10 apiece for rum and cokes, if I remember correctly - but I personally didn't mind that as much.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank JLeeHazlett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Greetings JLeeHazlett,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are happy that you enjoyed your trip to the Nations Capital this time around and that you chose to stay at our hotel. We look forwar to your next visit back!

Thanks,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We were thrilled with our experience here. They are friendly, helpful, and courteous. The room was clean and adequate size. The location is perfect! Walking distance to so much and it is a relatively quiet neighborhood. Parking is expensive. We did get a ticket so be careful. Unfortunately we never tried the restaurant but maybe next time. We will be back and i highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Greeting jfran,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and can't wait to have you back with us, the next time hopefully you'll get a chance to experience our Cafe.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Our 3-night stay was very comfortable overall. Our check in was quick and easy. A bellman at the door helped with our luggage up the stairs to the reception desk. Our room was ready when we arrived. they did not help us upstairs to our room with our luggage but no worries. We also didn't ask for the help.

Our room was pleasantly large. The king size bed was very comfortable and didn't take up the whole room. The hotel seems to have been updated in recent years and had a large , flat screen TV, nice bedding and comfortable pillows. There was also a little breakfast nook with a small mini-bar and fridge, a table with two chairs, snacks for purchase and a coffee maker.

in the main bedroom was another work area with a desk and chair, but the room didn't feel crowded. The bathroom and the closet area were also separated into a small corridor. The bathroom is small but there's a separate vanity outside the bathroom with a mirror. This was a nice touch and provided a little more room to spread out. The hotel provides one robe for use while your'e there, a hairdryer and a nice amount of toiletries from BAth and Body Works.

Location: The hotel was at 20th and I streets, just off Pennsylvania Ave. The hotel does not include breakfast in your rate but there are plenty of places nearby to grab a quick bite in the morning. It was an easy walk to Dupont Circle and all the historical attractions. However, if you don't want to walk, you can easily hail a taxi or the bellman will get one for you. It's probably about a 15 minute walk to the White House and the National Mall from the hotel.

Staff: The staff was so helpful and nice. We have no complaints at all. Our room was cleaned quickly and very well, towels were provided, the staff greeted us every time we came in and out or saw them in the hallway. The only suggestion I have would be to provide privacy signs to put on your door in the morning so housekeeping doesn't knock too early.

We did not have a car, so I'm not sure if the hotel has parking. It's also a cheap, quick ride to Reagan airport.

When looking for dining options, head toward Dupont Circle for outdoor dining options in and around that neighborhood. we went up near Georgetown U. and didn't find much outside except chain restaurants along the water.

I very much recommend this hotel. It's nice with traditional charm, and not overly expensive.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank beach bum in ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Greetings beach bum in ohio,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and give a detailed description of your stay. We strive to always provide the best service and we are glad to her that your experience was memorable and that you would definitely visit us again. We appreciate you and look forward to having you visit us again soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
1,747 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#37 of 141 in Washington DC
751 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £91 - £316 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing