We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little gem in a perfect location!”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
CAPE COD, MA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A little gem in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

We only had 24 hours in DC and needed a hotel close to the Vietnam
Memorial... on our bucket list.
Found this wonderful little spot on
Pennsylvania Ave. AMAZING!!!! Our room was so comfortable, amenities
all inclusive, the bar was charming and the restaurant perfect. Our waiter
was so much fun ( Mohammed) and
he epitomized the warmth and caring
attitude of the entire staff...great value in Foggy Bottom... LOVED IT!!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CAPECODTRAVELLER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings CAPECODTRAVELLER,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    745
    165
    49
    25
See reviews for
423
751
151
477
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (378)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

I found this place by coming here on Trip Advisor.. The reviews were very helpful.. I was pleasantly happy when we arrived. We arrived early on one of the worst days you could of come in. The rain was coming down so bad. The bell men were waiting for you when you came in. The room wasn't ready so we had to go and find something to do. They took our luggage in for us and stored them till we came back. We went our in the horrible rain and tried to get our grip of the surroundings. We had fun walking around in the rain.
When we arrived back at 3:00 our room wasn't ready but, they give us a better room on the 11th floor. We were very happy when we saw it. It did not have a bath but it did have a nice shower and powder room area. The bed was so comfortable. Very,very clean!!! A little refrigerator stocked with drinks and the was some candy bars of course you pay.. We brought our own coolers with our beverages..
The staff went above and beyond. All had smiles. They couldn't do enough for us. Called down for ice they were right there.
Thank you to all the wonderful staff, you made our stay..

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JeannieN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings JeannieN,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brookline, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband and I just returned from Washington after having spent four nights at the Hotel Lombardy. It was perfect. We always look for a bathroom with a bathtub, which this provided, and it wasn't just a tub as an afterthought but perhaps the original and in beautiful shape. I understand that this had been a residential apartment building originally, and there were signs of this, such as the beautifully maintained and glistening mailboxes in the central hallway. Whatever had been renovated was done in very classical lines and instantly comfortable. The design of our bedroom with its various nooks and crannies made it feel like an apartment. Despite reading a review about noise, we heard no noise. The staff couldn't have been more professional or nice or helpful. They were always cherry and glad to oblige. The location was also terrific: two blocks to the Farragut West metro, ten-fifteen minute walk to Dupont Circle, and accessible to many restaurants. Every need we had was satisfied at the Hotel Lombardy and we will refer it to everyone. We would always return here when we come to Washington.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gloria P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings Gloria P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed my two day stay at the Lombardy. The room -- a suite -- was very comfortable and clean. For an old hotel, the hallways and lobby had a nice, fresh look. Very friendly, helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank plasalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings plasalle,

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Overall, average hotel. Good location. Poor to average service.

Pros
-Room was nice.
-Location was good

Cons
-Unresponsive front desk. During a two-day stay, I called about 5 times. They never picked up on the first or second try. I would have to wait 5-10 minutes.
-No ramp at entryway. For those with strollers, it was difficult.
-Doorman was not helpful. One time he was texting/on the phone. Another time he just stood at the top of the steps as we brought in bags + stroller.
-Poor views. Our room overlooked a courtyard with some garage
-The noise level was pretty bad starting at 5AM. You could hear nothing but garbage trucks coming from the courtyard.
-No ice machine. No biggie, but a bit odd.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnhZ7162LB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings John H,

Thank you for taking the time to post your reviews. I am sorry that your expectations were not met during your visit. I can assure you that your concerns will be addressed, we strive to provide great service all the time as it is what makes us successful. When we fall short we use it as a tool to change and improve in those areas.

We hope that you will give us another chance to serve you.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Junction, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My friend, Dallas and I had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel Lombardy in DC. It was a wonderful experience. The staff was friendly, the room was lovely and comfortable. We stayed at the Hotel from June 24 through June 30. The staff was also professional and were very
accommodating during our stay.

We enjoyed the cocktails and dinner at the Venetian Room. Nathan Yu is an excellent bartender and we loved talking to him every evening. Please thank the staff at the Hotel Lombardy they
were great. Sue Palmer and Dallas Armstrong from Colorado!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings Sue P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy as well as enjoying Nathan and the rest of our staff. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Stayed at this hotel on a recent trip with friends to tour Washington. The hotel is a lovely older hotel steeped in history. Staff were friendly and helpful in all aspects. Our room was clean and comfortable - and complete with a little kitchen sitting room and well appointed bathroom and dressing area. Very comfortable beds. The proximity to attractions in Washington was good and tour buses did stop for pickups at this hotel. Parking is expensive and it is valet so you do not have access to your car unless one of the employees goes with you. Overall we would stay at this hotel again for comfort, cleanliness and helpful staff. Value for the price was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for room with kitchenette.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelcitymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Greetings steelcitymama,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments, we are happy that you enjoyed your stay.
Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
1,678 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#43 of 141 in Washington DC
472 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
1,587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
727 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,778 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing