We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute, cozy and friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #40 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
dubai
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Cute, cozy and friendly”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The fact that the hotel is part of the Historic Hotels of America added to it's charm. The pillows are large and firm. House keeping didn't have alternative pillows to exchange, so expect a stiff neck if you're used to softer pillows.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 3 September 2014
Greetings bolts,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and in reference to the pillows, we actually do offer a softer pillow that is kept in each guest room inside the closet, also additional pillows can be provided upon request.
So we hope that you will visit us again and now you know that we do offer the softer pillows is more of an incentive.

P.S. We were nominated for Best Historic Hotel and we will know if we win on October 2nd.)

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,036 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,067
    733
    164
    47
    25
See reviews for
419
738
149
464
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is located a block from Georgetown Washington Univeresity and 5-7 minute walk from the subway station. The biggest plus of this hotel is that it's close to a very nice Wholefood grocery store 5 mintues away where it has a large cafe with lots of seats serving a large breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, coffee bar, and etc. It's very convenient to get a delicious and healthy breakfast, lunch or dinner from Wholefoods plus any other sundry items. The hotel provided excellent services. After check-in, a staff member came by provided two complimentary bottled water. The room I got this time on the 10th floor has a good size bathroom including a vanity sitting area. The only issue is the AC unit in the vanity area is quite loud and can't be turned off. So one has to close the bathroom door at night to minimize the noise. All hotel staff are very friendly. It's a great value for this location.

Room Tip: 10th floor with a larger bathroom and a vanity area
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NextPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings NextPlace,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmond, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Spent four days in DC as "nana" to my 4 month old grandson while my daughter attended GWU program. For the price, this hotel is exceptional. within short walks of two subway lines, 3 blocks from White House and literally a block and half from major GWU auditoriums and student center. The staff, doorman included, is exceptionally accommodating and friendly. We had a double room with separate kitchen area (which doubled as baby's crib room), and dressing alcove. It's a boutique style hotel on the European scale...and very charming. It is also surrounded by great places to eat that won't break the bank. We'll stay there again next year!

Room Tip: For business purposes...free wifi was challenging in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lynn k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings lynn k,

Thank you for taking the time to share your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calcutta
Level Contributor
58 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

5 nights and 6 days at the Hotel Lombardy - and one word to describe the experience - FANTASTIC.
The staff at this hotel are superb, catering to every need of yours, the rooms are old-world charm and really nice and the food is really good.
What's even better for this hotel is that the location is great, close to all the attractions.
I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: Use booking.com to get a great deal on this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank no_boundaries94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings no_boundaries94,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 18 August 2014

I will never stay anywhere else when I visit Washington DC. This is a wonderfully charming hotel in a very convenient location. Everyone was so friendly and helpful, hands down the best customer service I have ever received!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatCo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings CatCo10,

Thank you for choosing the Hotel Lombardy. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back with us soon.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here one night on a quick trip to DC. Great boutique hotel, perfect location for walking to most tourist spots and right on Foggy Bottom metro stop. 2 quick stops to ballpark. Comfy bed. Breakfast at hotel was good, overpriced. Go to Founding Farmers one block away for any meal, great food and great drinks. Make reservation otherwise you can try to sit at bar.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelergirl29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings Travelergirl29,

Thank you for taking the time to share your response. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit and we hope to have you back again soon.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We were in town to celebrate my daughter's birthday. She wanted to see DC and this boutique hotel was exactly what we needed. It is within walking distance of the White House. Staff was friendly and helpful. Stayed for four nights and 5 days. Only did breakfast once, no other meals. Daughter is on the picky side so it was a little beyond her palate. Room was a series of little rooms. A room for bed and tv, a small dressing room, bathroom off that, also a small room with minibar, sitting area and sink. Bed was comfy, quiet, clean, relaxing and wonderful. Shower drain was a little slow. Rate would go up the closer you got to the weekdays but still price was affordable considering it was downtown DC. Thank you to all the staff for making my daughter truly enjoy her birthday and learn about the history of DC. I will gladly come back to stay and recommend to friends and family.

Room Tip: Our room was facing a brick wall which we didn't care about, we weren't there for the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 46TravelingViolinist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Greetings 46TravelingViolinist,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy. I am glad to hear that your daughter enjoyed her birthday and we wish her many more! We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
1,635 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#49 of 140 in Washington DC
457 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
1,745 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
1,560 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing