We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of charm; needs a makeover”
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #31 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is in a great location, especially if you have a kid at GWU (as we do). It is a classy old building with lots of charm. The rooms are nice-sized for a city hotel, and the view from our 9th floor room overlooking Pennsylvania Ave were great. Very light and airy for a city hotel.

But the bed was so springy that every time my wife or I rolled over the whole bed shook. The carpet in the room was threadbare with no padding. Both bed and carpet need to be replaced before I will go back

One other point - there are louvered doors on a spring as you enter each room. If you aren't careful, they bang shut. We were woken up more than once by these doors slamming. A piece of rubber stripping or some other solution is needed.



  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sel57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greetings sel57,

Thank you you for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate you and definitely we like to support our GW students and their parents. I have reviewed your comments and would like to personally find out more information and would appreciated if you would contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,240)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,110 - 1,116 of 2,240 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Just lovely! Very comfortable rooms, enormous size beds (this has its pros and cons ;) ) ignore the nit picky reviews Hotel Lombardy ticks the boxes of comfortable, convenient and the best showers! Bonus is the Uni around the corner so well priced places to eat and drink - Tonic at the Pharmacy is a winner - summary, can't go wrong.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greetings Mick M,

Thank you for posting your comments. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you back again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2014

We stayed,here a few months ago and had a wonderful stay and room.
This hotel is in a great location walkable to GW Georgetown and the White House. The staff is very courteous and helpful. Unfortunately our room was not as well kept as last visit. The,bed was very comfortable but the room dreary and the bathroom dirty, especially the tub. The light did not work on the,vanity table in the bathroom. Nearby restaurants are circa and district commons.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank glenside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greetings glenside,

Thank you for sharing your comments, we appreciate that you took the time to do so. If for any reason you had an issue with the state of your room, our Front Desk staff should have been notified immediately in order to accommodate you accordingly. We have staff on hand that are willing to address all of your concerns at any given time.

I apologize that we did not meet your expectations this time around and hope that this does not affect your decision to stay with us again.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Great hotel. Visited DC for sightseeing with my adult son. The hotel is in a great location - within walking distance to historic sites, several great bars and restaurants, Georgetown, and 2 metro stops. The staff at the hotel are friendly and helpful. Despite others finding the doormen rude, I found everyone to be polite, helpful, and personable. The staff at the front desk, especially London, were patient with questions, and offered excellent suggestions on dining options. Check in/out was easy and flawless. The rooms (we had a deluxe double) are roomy, quaint, and for the most part clean. The only fault I have is that the floors could have been cleaned better (we found items on the floor - that were not ours). Also, while the beds are very comfortable, the pillows are not. Otherwise, no complaints about the rooms. Room service came in twice during the day to replace towels and touch up the room. Complimentary bottled waters were left each night, which was a plus after walking the city all day. I would definitely stay at this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thrr14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greetings Thrr14,

Thank you for posting your comments. We are glad that you had a nice visit to our hotel. We strive to make our guest feel at home and to accommodate them with a clean and cozy guest room. Our staff is always on hand to offer any assistance at all times. We appreciate you taking the time to tell us about your stay, we use these remarks as a tool to improve our service.

We look forward to having you stay again soon.


Thanks,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Stayed here for a weekend in August. The hotel was close to everything I wanted to do/see and the nearest train was only 2-3 blocks away. Found parking nearby (washingtondc.bestparking.com) for way cheaper than the hotel's $42.50 valet rate which was good. Hotel was very clean and our room was great. The hotel was accommodating in placing us next to a friend that was also staying the same weekend. I would definitely recommend going to eat at Founding Farmers across the street (make a reservation first!). The staff was very nice and helpful: offered to carry bags, held doors open, etc. I would definitely recommend staying here and look forward to staying here again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greetings Kevin N,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and are happy that you would come and visit again.

We hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

The fact that the hotel is part of the Historic Hotels of America added to it's charm. The pillows are large and firm. House keeping didn't have alternative pillows to exchange, so expect a stiff neck if you're used to softer pillows.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bolts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Greetings bolts,

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and in reference to the pillows, we actually do offer a softer pillow that is kept in each guest room inside the closet, also additional pillows can be provided upon request.
So we hope that you will visit us again and now you know that we do offer the softer pillows is more of an incentive.

P.S. We were nominated for Best Historic Hotel and we will know if we win on October 2nd.)

Sincerely,

Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

This hotel is located a block from Georgetown Washington Univeresity and 5-7 minute walk from the subway station. The biggest plus of this hotel is that it's close to a very nice Wholefood grocery store 5 mintues away where it has a large cafe with lots of seats serving a large breakfast, lunch and dinner buffet, coffee bar, and etc. It's very convenient to get a delicious and healthy breakfast, lunch or dinner from Wholefoods plus any other sundry items. The hotel provided excellent services. After check-in, a staff member came by provided two complimentary bottled water. The room I got this time on the 10th floor has a good size bathroom including a vanity sitting area. The only issue is the AC unit in the vanity area is quite loud and can't be turned off. So one has to close the bathroom door at night to minimize the noise. All hotel staff are very friendly. It's a great value for this location.

Room Tip: 10th floor with a larger bathroom and a vanity area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NextPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LombardyGM, General Manager at Hotel Lombardy, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Greetings NextPlace,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about your stay. It is exciting to hear that you had a great time and had the opportunity to visit the Nation’s Capital and the Hotel Lombardy. We look forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,
Corrado Palenzona

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,801 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
1,831 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
616 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,434 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £93 - £282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on world-famous Pennsylvania Avenue, the Hotel Lombardy beckons travelers who possess discerning tastes - who appreciate the personalized attention and intimate ambiance of a truly unique Washington DC boutique hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing