We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A bit stodgy but unpretentious and old worldy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Lombardy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Lombardy
Ranked #41 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
New York, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A bit stodgy but unpretentious and old worldy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Perfect location by GWU and subway station. Coffee cafes easy to find north of the location. The staff is sometimes hard to locate but polite. Clean room, but small. I liked the old world charm of the building - if these walls could talk - but that doesn't mean the room was musty or tired feeling. Window faced a parking lot and office building - nothing to look at but car traffic was minimum. Recommend restaurant: Friend of Framers across the street. Overall overpriced for size of room and amenities, but worth it for the cleanliness, quiet, and convenience to White House and main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManhattanSteves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,018 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,058
    727
    163
    46
    24
See reviews for
415
731
149
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (364)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rocklin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

This is a boutique hotel VERY large rooms more like an apartment, and lovely staff. We totally enjoyed our stay. Located in Foggy Bottom. Great bathroom, great bed and really good food. We were there in Jan 31st 2009 to see a friend speak at the Smithsonian and would stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2009

This was a great location to set out from every day to see the city! About 4 blocks from 2 different subway stations and about that much from the White House as well. Scenic view from our 9th floor Parkview Suite windows, lots of restaurants, a Trader Joe's a few blocks away if you want to buy some groceries. The rooms were really clean and were kept that way during our stay. The walls were really thick and we didn't hear noise from any other patrons.

Some problems: when a room is described as a kitchenette, I expect a counter w sink, refrigerator, and some method of heating food as a minimum. In our room, there was no microwave/oven and the refrigerator was filled with their mini-bar items (these were removed promptly upon our request though). In spite of our registering 5 people, we received towels for 2 for all but 1 of the 10 nights we were there. (We did ask for more the first day, but made do after that.)

Overall, we adjusted and greatly enjoyed our stay. We liked the atmosphere of the hotel and would do it again.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dna92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2009

would recommend this hotel for visits to washington. location between the white house and dupont circle where there are some nice restaurants and bars. beautiful decor. comfy and spacious rooms. nice staff.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank claireyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Siddles
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

This hotel is a quaint European style hotel. The rooms are clean and for the most part spacious for the East Coast. Flat screen t.v.s, comfortable bed, good service. My only negative is the elevator. When reserving your room, ask to be away from the elevator. It is very noisy! The staff is friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Siddles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

I stayed here for five nights with my teenage son for our first trip to DC. When we checked in, the manager offered three rooms, and suggested we stay on the fifth floor (as opposed to a higher floor) to avoid long waits for the elevator and opt for the stairs if we wanted. We always took the stairs down, but never had more than a two minute wait for elevator service going up. Staff was fairly attentive, sometimes there was a bit of hub-bub in the small, crowded lobby, and other times it was difficult to find someone to help get a taxi. Nightly turn-down service was inconsistent, I think we had it two nights out of five (?). Our room was charming, beds were comfortable, the big flat screen TV seemed out of place, but my son loved it. No toaster or microwave in kitchenette. Overall, a pleasant but not exceptional stay.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EasyGoingTraveler007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

Based on the reviews here, I decided to give the Lombardy a try. I am a frequent traveler to the Foggy Bottom area of DC and have stayed in a few of the local hotels. It is my goal to be within walking distance of GW University. This hotel is in the area. It is not as close to the Foggy Bottom metro as some would suggest.
Contrary to some of the other reviews, my experience with service was, at best, mediocre. Staff is forced to do multiple functions, including going off site to retrieve parked cars. This means that the 2 old style elevators are often unmanned. If you are not familar with DC, I definitely do not recomend this hotel as there is no one there to advise you. In addition, there was nothing in the room detailing the hotel. When I went to the front desk to ask for such information, they had nothing to give me.
The bar and restaurant are wonderful. Drinks at the bar are typical city prices $12-$15 for a martini. Food is excellent.
Now, for my biggest complaint...the NOISE!!!Please note, that if you stay in a older hotel in the city, you will hear city noise at a much more significant level than you would at one that has better soundproofing windows. Now, couple that with the elevators that run constantly, noise is a problem. I had a large suite with a lovely view of Pennsylvania Ave. as well as a courtyard view in my bedroom. Unfortunately, this courtyard that has been mentioned in other reviews also is adjacent to dumpsters...yes, pickup is some time around 6:30 am.
Older hotels have squeaky floors. Mine squeaked and so did the floors above me. Also note, you will hear when your neighbors on the floors above you decide to make their midnight bathroom run, or for that matter, any time they choose to go! The advantage, though, was that I did not encounter the usual hall noise found in newer hotels. Little slamming of doors, except by the staff using service doors. Received the Washington Post everyday. One could receive free coffee downstairs. Bed was wonderfully comfortable. Always had to ask for more towels- only received two. Oddly furnished. We had one large armoire in the living room which housed a nice flat screen tv - the only problem is that it hid 1/4 of the screen! - the piece was very awkward for the room which also had a rather cheap unstable coffee table. It was clear it was an attempt to modernize the suite by adding an Oriental touch - just seemed odd and haphazard.
Bathroom is tiny!
Overall, I would suggest another hotel, ESPECIALLY if you are new to DC. This hotel is not conducive to providing assistance, suggestions, or providing any "concierge type" services even including getting a cab!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sjr1225
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
State Plaza Hotel
State Plaza Hotel
#39 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,612 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lombardy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lombardy

Property: Hotel Lombardy
Address: 2019 Pennsylvania Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20006
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lombardy 3.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of DC's Business District, Hotel Lombardy offers a classic European-style experience for discerning business and vacation travelers. A blend of historic charm and contemporary urban sophistication, our downtown boutique hotel offers elegant accommodations and exceptional hospitality just steps away from Washington, DC attractions, government buildings, and corporate destinations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Lombardy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lombardy Hotel Washington Dc
Lombardy Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing