We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly pleasant & relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #52 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2012

This Inn was a pleasant and happy surprise! The location for one is excellent; easy to get to many great restaurants, monuments, and museums within minutes of walking. The service, cleaning, and maintenance was very impressive. The place and our room were so homey and cozy, we absolutely looked forward to returning for naps or the night when our days were over. Well worth the money!

Room Tip: Rooms facing the courtyard are by far the quieter rooms; while it might be nice to have a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WWCitizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggieedwards, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear WWCitizen,

Thank you so much for the complimentary review of your stay at the Morrison Clark Inn. I am happy to see that our Guest Service Team and room amenities exceeded your expectation. I will forward your comments to all of our employees, whose efforts make it all possible.

Warm regards,

Maggie Edwards
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (758)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

514 - 520 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2012

We stayed here 4 nights. Good location if you have a convention to attend; metro station is 2 blocks away. Staff were very nice and accomodated our needs. Moved my friends to a larger room at their request, called us a taxi several times. We ate in the restaurant and were pleased.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the street are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NancyS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggieedwards, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

Dear Nancy,

Our unique historic hotel is a pleasant change from the brand hotels. Our Downtown location and size(only 54 guest rooms and suites) allows us the luxury to personalize service. I am glad to hear that we hit the mark with service and location during your stay.
I hope to host you again in the near future.

Thank you,

Maggie Edwards,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

This hotel is a cross between a traditional hotel and a beautiful home. It is an oasis in downtown DC, peaceful and beautiful. When I sat on the front porch I felt at ease. The hotel is surrounded by beautiful gardens and trees - like a house. I got to look out on busy DC and yet feel sheltered from downtown DC at the same time. The beds were extremely comfortable. The room was charming. The staff were very friendly. I would go back and stay in a heart beat. The only thing I would change is the lobby and stairway carpeting needs a good cleaning or replacement - it was getting dingy. It was clean but it was looking worn and dingy. Also, there was a small amount of dry rot on the balcony connected to my room. This is to be expected in a building of this age. It didn't affect the safty of the balcony, it just cryed out for attention. This is a fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We used to stay at the L'Enfant Hotel in Washington, and were very happy. A friend recommended this place to us several years ago, and we haven't looked back. It's a charming, old, centrally located historic Inn, with personalized service you don't find in the big hotels.
Despite being an old, historic hotel, it's modern enough to have everything you need, including a reciprocal agreement with a large hotel around the corner to use their outdoor pool in the summer.
The staff is multicultural, and all are helpful, friendly, and professional. We had a late check in our first night, and were warmly welcomed when we arrived. We had a lovely discussion with Mr Buta about African health issues, and he was kind enough to also arrange for the Inn to keep our luggage until 2pm on checkout day, with no extra charge for parking for the day. Won't find that at the big box places!
It's far enough away from the hubbub of central Washington to not be filled with tourists, but close enough to walk there.

Room Tip: There are 2 types of rooms, and we've had both. The deluxe room is a large room with the bed and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beryl g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2012

The hotel is very close to all the monuments in DC. The White house is only 10 minutes away and within 30 minutes you can visit the Lincoln Memorial. The checkin was fast and friendly. We had a very large "suite" with 3 rooms ( a living room, bathroom and a bed room). The bath is very low and the the suite itself stays relatively dark througout the day. The reception said that most restaurants and shops were located in Chinatown (20 minute walk)...that was a bit of a dissapointment because there is not much there. You can beter take a cab to the northern part of the city.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marko1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

This was a fairly disappointing place to stay. We emailed them a couple of days beforehand to see if all would be okay for a very late night arrival, but we never got any response at all. We arrived late at night and checked in okay, but they didn’t say much and we didn’t feel overly welcome. We had to haul our luggage up the steep front steps and were never offered any assistance on arrival or departure. The room was a bit run down, with wall sockets coming away from the wall and a cupboard that wouldn’t close if you put anything in it. The air conditioning control was hidden behind the cupboard so you couldn’t see it or work out how to use it and the shower was nothing more than a dribble of water. The staff seemed fairly aloof. We asked a question about how to get to Union Station and were told, “maybe a bus?” with a shrug of the shoulders. Not really helpful. The thing that bugged me most was that they asked us to go online and rate them well when we were leaving. I’d rather get great service and want to leave a review than be asked to give them a great review.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank THG74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maggieedwards, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2012

I am so sorry to hear that your experience was unsatisfactory. Your feedback will undoubtedly improve the response to requests by our Guest service staff. I will also have the Engineering team check the room for any maintenance issues that affected your stay.
If there is anything else that I can do please feel free to contact me at any time.

Maggie Edwards,
General Manager
medwards@rbpropertiesinc.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stairs are rather steep at the entrance from the sidewalk going in and out. Location is great within walking distance of stores, restaurants, Metro and White House. Staff friendly and very helpful. Really liked our room which had a sitting room with lovely windows, the bedroom had French doors that opened. Lots of light and a wonderfully large modern bathroom. Can control your own air/heat thermostat which we appreciated. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Celeste D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Henley Park Hotel
#100 of 142 in Washington DC
794 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#63 of 142 in Washington DC
1,721 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
441 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#113 of 142 in Washington DC
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1011 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £68 - £371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from top Washington, DC attractions, the Morrison Clark Historic Inn and Restaurant is an iconic landmark that captures the true essence of the nation's capital. This beautiful Victorian-era mansion features well-appointed accommodations, complimentary Wi-Fi and valet parking. Dine on inspired American cuisine at our luxurious hotel restaurant. From historic charm to modern comforts, this extraordinary property sets a new luxury standard for Washington, DC boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison-Clark Historic Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Morrison Clark Historic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing