We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful historic room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant
Ranked #50 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved the hotel room, it had a lot of character and was unexpectedly large. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Unfortunately my room faced out onto the major renovation works going on, so I was woken pretty early each day when the construction started. If it hadn't been for having a room right next to the construction works, I would have given this hotel top marks. Would be willing to stay here again once the renovations were completed.

Room Tip: Request a room away from the construction works and keep your fingers crossed there is one available...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Paula S.,

Thank you for your kind words about our staff, it is the highest compliment we can receive. I'm sorry to hear that the construction noise. Whenever possible we place guests in rooms as far as possible form the expansion project, however there are times that this is not feasable. I was happy to hear that other than the noise, you enjoyed your room and the amenities we offer. I can't wait to have you back to experience the hotel upon completion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (757)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 758 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2014

This was our first trip ever to Washington, and first time to the Morrison Clark Historic Inn. I really enjoyed it. We had a lovely parlor room with a balcony. The staff was always friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the continental breakfast provided, it was enough to get the morning going, and then some. I really liked the little jars of jam they provide for the guests. If you like history, you'll enjoy the surroundings in this Inn. I would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angyl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Angyl12,

A trip to Washington, DC, especially your first, is made perfect with a stay at a truly historc hotel such as the Morrison Clark! Our original two mansions were built in the late 1860s by two prominant Washingtonian business men. The properties were later used as the Soliders', Sailors', Marines', and Airmens' Club and remained as such for 57 until being converted into a hotel in the 1980s. The goal of our staff is always to uphold our standard of friendliness and providing the best possible service - I'm so happy you were able to experience their talents. I look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation's Capital and to the Morrison Clark Inn!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed at the Morrison-Clark for the third time in May, 2014. As always, we found the hotel to be clean, comfortable and staffed by very friendly and helpful people. Each room is different and furnished with antiques, giving it the feel of an historic inn, which it is. The free continental breakfast and complimentary afternoon glass of wine were new this trip and very welcome. The hotel is conveniently located for almost everything in Washington. We were aware of the on-going construction as the hotel incorporates an adjacent property. Because we were there over a weekend, this was not a problem; but we can't speak to noise conditions during the week. Our rates were very reasonable, but they seem to fluctuate wildly. The only criticisms, and they are minor, are rather limited spaces for clothing in the rooms and the weak wifi signal. It is strongest in the lobby and dining areas. We will stay at the Morrison-Clark again and highly recommend it to everybody.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Larry S.,

A repeat guest is our greatest acheivement and I'm so happy to have you as one of ours. The complimentary breakfast and wine in the evenings is our way of saying of "Thank You" for staying with us during our time of transition. I'm pleased that you enjoyed it. Please know that upon completion of the new building and the restoration of the existing Inn, our WiFi will be upgraded so that you will have a strong signal throughout the entire building. I look forward to having you back again soon - please stop by my office so that I may meet you and personaly welcome you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Please do not come here if you want a restful nights sleep, I was woken up at 7am today by work men laughing and shouting at each other directly outside my door and then window. I understood that there were construction works going on at the hotel but I didn't expect to be rudely awoken by it directly outside my door and window on the 4th floor. I can deal with background construction noise (as I had previous mornings) but this was just inconsiderate builders being extremely noisy.

Another problem I had with the hotel was extremely poor wifi. The only place I could get a signal was sitting on the toilet which isn't very helpful! I did complain about this to the staff who sent a nice maintenance man to try sort the problem but to no avail. I did ask to move room but they could only offer me a basement room directly under our previous room with equally as poor signal. In the end we just had to deal with no wifi in our room but it has been extremely frustrating!

Our room was fine otherwise, comfortable bed, good bathroom. The breakfast was a let down, barely continental- a few muffins, croissants, toast, apples, oranges, juices and cereal. Overall the hotel was pretty average. The hotel would have scored higher if not for the crazy loud drilling at 7am directly outside my window!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emzshea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2014

Emzshea,
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I'm sorry to hear that the construction crew was noisy one of the mornings you were staying with us. We have spoken with them and we don't anticipate it happening again. I was glad to hear our staff was kind and attentive to your WiFi issue, although I'm sorry that the limitations of our current technology prevented us from being able to fully resolve the issue. We are very much looking forward to our updated amenities, including better WiFi, with the launch of the new addition this Fall.
I hope that you will consider staying with us again should your travels bring to you back to DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I liked the fact it is a historic hotel; it has character. I stayed here for 4 days recently and would stay here again if in Washington. Staff were friendly and attentive and the breakfast included is a bonus. I had a large room and living room for around $220 per night, which is good for a hotel in Washington so close to the White House and other attractions.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Simon,
Many thanks for you review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and always love to hear about how friendly and attentive our staff is. We look forward to having you back for your next visit to Washington, DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We flew in to Washington DC Sunday May 18 2014. We were greeted by Teshome & he made every effort to make us feel welcome and at home. We've traveled together to Mexico, New York, Florida, Las Vegas, etc. for years and are used to staying at the bigger hotel resorts. I must say it was refreshing to stay at a smaller more personable Inn for a change. We absolutely loved this place! This location is ideal for those coming to Washington to really take in the sights. Easy walks to the downtown & a short bus ride to anywhere else! When we returned each day from lots of walking we were greeted with fresh made cookies & drinks. Really felt like we were staying at a "Bed & Breakfast" Must say the guys running Morrison-Clark made every effort to make it one of the best vacations we've ever had! Truly a 'best kept secret' in the D.C. area! Everybody there did a great job! Thanks guys! Ron & Susie C

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

We enjoyed having you as our guests as much as you enjoyed staying with us! Teshome is a wonderful asset to our team and I’m so happy to hear that he made a great connection with you. As you said, staying at the Inn is a much more personal experience than with big box hotels, while still enjoying all the modern amenities and our great location. Please, don’t keep us a “secret!” We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home the next time you visit Washington, DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014

traveling on business and looking for more than a generic hotel. the Morrison Clark, is like taking a step back in time. I was met at the door morning and night with a pleasant greeting form the doorman. The decor is simple, yet elegant and classy. the room smelled clean and fresh and was very comfortable. Location is very convenient.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Clark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mohamad_Taha, General Manager at Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 May 2014

Clark K,
I’m so glad you decided to find a hotel outside of the standard chain hotel brands. We often find that business people who travel frequently, our “road warriors”, are so use to being just a room number when staying at other hotels. Our staff is dedicated to making each of our guests feel welcomed and at home. Our old world décor matches our traditional style of genuine hospitality, and we are happy to hear you enjoyed them both. We look forward to seeing you back on your next trip to Washington, DC!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
The Henley Park Hotel
#100 of 142 in Washington DC
793 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
1,716 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 142 in Washington DC
1,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
439 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
The Eldon Luxury Suites
The Eldon Luxury Suites
#114 of 142 in Washington DC
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant

Address: 1011 L St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Mount Vernon Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#82 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: £71 - £380 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated minutes from top Washington, DC attractions, the Morrison Clark Historic Inn and Restaurant is an iconic landmark that captures the true essence of the nation's capital. This beautiful Victorian-era mansion features well-appointed accommodations, complimentary Wi-Fi and valet parking. Dine on inspired American cuisine at our luxurious hotel restaurant. From historic charm to modern comforts, this extraordinary property sets a new luxury standard for Washington, DC boutique hotels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Morrison-Clark Historic Inn & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Morrison-Clark Historic Hotel Washington Dc
Hotel Morrison Clark Historic

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing