We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NICE AMBIENCE AND GREAT LOCATION” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
Ranked #25 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“NICE AMBIENCE AND GREAT LOCATION”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We had a three night stay whilst on our East Coast holiday. I loved the decor and the whole ambience of this lovely boutique style hotel. Location was great. The first morning, armed with a map, we headed out on foot and found ourselves walking to the White House. From there it was easy to then visit the various memorials, including the Lincoln Memorial. We then made our way on foot again, over the bridge to the Arlington National Cemetary. We found the train system excellent when we weren't walking somewhere. The Dupont Circle station is a short walk from the hotel. The wine and nibblies provided each afternoon at the hotel is a lovely and welcome touch and I particulary loved the room where these were available. The hotel is also close to dining and other shops. We would recommend staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank karleigh04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

865 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    478
    303
    54
    17
    13
See reviews for
203
253
51
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bundanoon, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013 via mobile

Small rooms but nicely decorated with a great walk in shower. Complimentary wine in the evening was a nice touch but serving Choc chip cookies with it seemed a bit strange to us. A number of restaurants in the area but need to walk a couple of blocks. It is worth walking across to 18th street for some good affordable casual dining. The Diner was great for breakfast.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Belmore52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Normandy Hotel recently in DC. Here are a list of pros and cons during the stay. You decide what works for you and your travelers. I thought the location was a little far for my taste but a few blocks from a Dupont, where you can find good restaurants and bars.

Pros- It's much more intimate then a large chain hotel; they offer an hour free wine and finger food every evening in the lobby, which is very generous; great service and hospitality, I forgot a razor and called the front desk to ask where there was a supermarket to buy one but they offered a few which was very kind

Cons- Parking is $34 a day for valet service (in their own garage) which amounts to about $40 per day with taxes; the room was super small, not much room for your things if you are staying longer than a weekend; no refrigerator in the room; the continental breakfast was very minimal, it was cereal, juices, yogurt and it cost $12 a person

Room Tip: I would get a room with a larger window. Ask for the front view rooms, they get the best light. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank praguetrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside
Level Contributor
132 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

Stayed 3 nights recently at Normandy Hotel and were absolutely delighted with all aspects. Front desk were extremely helpful from check in to departure, and always helpful, particularly Anthony who when we had an uncomfortable first night arranged a swap of rooms which was very good.
The hotel is a short distance from the centre of the city in what looks like a very pleasant residential area, however is only about 5 minutes walk to an array of shops towards Dupont Circle and only a couple of minutes more to the Metro station.
The accommodation is good quality, and there is complimentary tea/coffee available at all times. We had a good price from lastminute.com which did not include breakfast, however for convenience we did take it in the hotel and whilst $12 for continental breakfast may seem a bit high we would definitely recommend it as all items were of the highest quality and plentiful. We did not feel the need to eat again until the evening.
All in all a great stay and we will definitely return if in Washington again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

I stayed at this hotel last year around Thanksgiving with my girlfriend and I doubt our experience could have got an,y better, especially for the price we paid. This is a nice, little place, very close to the Dupont Circle and in the vicinity of some nice restaurants (there's a great Mexican place nearby, though I am forgetting the name). The only flipside is that the hotel does not have its nice own parking, which isn't much of a deal breaker as they readily provide a discounted option in the parking lot of a nearby hotel.Overall, a lovely, heartwarming place, would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guneet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

Quiet location yet near all the essentials, including the running trail on Rock Creek. I travel here quite often for business and stay here when I can because I like the rooms, the quiet, the staff, and the in-room nespresso machines. They have updated recently and the rooms are just gorgeous. The afternoon/night staff will bend over backwards for you. The neighborhood is beautiful. Just a really great place to stay. Probably not for folks who want to be RIGHT ON TOP of the metro...but I love to walk and see the city so this is the place for me!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VTraveler24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

I stopped at the Normandy for 5 nights arriving at about 11pm due to the ridiculous queue at immigration for 2 hrs. I took a Super Shuttle from the airport, and I am glad I did. The hotel is located on a side road tucked away, so it is very quiet, but not the easiest to find at 11pm at night in a new city. The hotel is a 10 min walk (uphill) along from DuPoint Circle and an equal distance the other direction to Woodley Park - both are on the red line.
The room was really clean, spotless - but very warm. As mentioned by other reviewers this is due to the fact the air con can't be turned down below 18.5, and the windows only open a few inches. In the end I got the front desk to open the window and I left the air con turned off to cool the room. It wasn't what I needed after a long journey late at night. But it got sorted. Breakfast was nice enough, maybe not a lot for $ 13. I found by walking up the road to Adams Morgan (toward Woodley Park) a lot more places doing decent breakfasts for similar prices.
I didn't spend a great deal of time at the hotel, but the people on the desk always answered any questions about transport or DC in general.
The best thing about this hotel is it's a lot cheaper than it's peers, and it's quite well connected (metro lines as mentioned), so a good base to explore DC from. I enjoyed my break at Normandy hotel and I would stay here again if I visited DC.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,725 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#46 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,237 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Property: The Normandy Hotel
Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave. NW, Washington DC, DC 20008
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing