We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Somewhat disappointed”
Review of The Normandy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Normandy Hotel
Ranked #29 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointed”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We traveled to DC in early March with our young adult daughters to tour the sites.
We spent 4 nights at the Normandy. The week end price is reasonalbe but the price gets very high during the week as most in city rooms do. The location is perfect as it is in a safe, busy, fun part of DC and close to a Metro station (about a 10 minute easy walk). There are numerous of restruants and shops near, that have a variety of food and are very good. The Normandy is tucked away off the busy street. It is a quant hotel with a very nice lobby and sitting area. There is wine available in the late afternoon for an hour which is a nice touch.
The rooms are extremely small. We felt very crowded, and were constantly moving our suitcases, shoes ect. out of the way. We did not feel comfortable because of the small size.
It was very clean and the bathroom is very nice and well supplied with shampoo, ect. and very clean. The temperature of the room is very difficult to control, we had to open and close the window to be comfortable. The breakfast was probably the biggest disappointed. We paid extra (the breakfast package) to have a nice breakfast each morning. The first two mornings it was just ok. The next two days it became very poor in selection and variety. No fresh fruit, one morning no orange juice, no hard boiled eggs. It was certainly not worth the extra we paid or the $12 they charge. Smoking is also allowed at the entrance which is a real turn off to us.
The staff is excellent, but overall we were disappointed. We actually ended up moving to a hotel in Alexandria that we found much more comfortable. I do the best I can to give the most honest reviews.

Room Tip: We stayed above the garage and heard the door open and close late at night and again in the early mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettydaviseyes1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear kkgirlsmom, Thank you for taking the time to write your candid and honest review of our hotel. Perfection is what we strive for but don't always accomplish. In the case of the room size, there isn't much we can do about that. Some people like the size and others need more space, that's perfectly understandable. What was truly disappointing was that you didn't enjoy breakfast. That is definitely something under review with staff and our vendors, thanks to your comments. We are truly sorry that you couldn't stay longer with us, but happy to see that you found something to satisfy your needs in Alexandria. When you have a chance, please contact me directly by phone or email (gochoa@thenormandydc.com) so that I may take care of your breakfast charges. Thank you again for helping us improve our hotel.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    543
    341
    65
    20
    15
See reviews for
235
272
60
269
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My classmates and I stayed here for a conference in February. The staff is what made us have such a great experience. Maurice, Cornell and David were just a few of the staff members who made our trip stress free. They gave excellent service and made us feel very comfortable. The hotel was very clean, and well decorated. I would recommend this hotel to others if you want a bed and breakfast type feel, but hotel features. I hope to stay there again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marissa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Marissa V, Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review of The Normandy. We were please to read that the staff made for a great experience and a stress free stay. Thank you for mentioning Maurice, Cornell and David, we'll be sure to let them know that they played a big part in ensuring such a wonderful stay for you. We hope to see you back here in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northville, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
552 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Once again, this visit confirms The Normandy to be a great place to stay at one of the best locations within the District. From reservation to check-in and throughout my stay, service was attentive, welcoming, and comfortable. Irika continues to provide pleasant breakfast and happy hour duties as well as fresh cookies, David is ever-smiling and helpful, Stephen manages with humor, rooms are well maintained and kept fresh. The facility is well managed, provides very personalized service, a wonderful value. Our number one choice when visiting D. C. Thanks everyone!

Room Tip: Higher floors may provide better cell quality and internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayhawk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear JayHawk17, Thank you for taking the time to reivew our hotel. We were very pleased to see that you had been with us before. Repeat customers are we strive for. Thank you mentioning the names of some of our staff like Irka, David and Stephen. We will certainly let them know they played a big role in another successful stay for you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

As other reviewers have observed, the hotel is clean and affordable. The staff, without exception in my experience, are delightful and helpful, and the hotel is well-located (very close to more expensive offers like the Hilton). There is no bar but a daily happy hour of free wine.

However, it could be so much better, especially for guests staying longer than a day or two. I was there a week and there is really nowhere to unpack clothes. There are two small drawers on either side of the bed and that's about it. The wardrobe (aka closet) had four hangers, none of which were suitable for trousers. I had a winter coat, two suits, seven shirts and a casual pair of trousers to hang!

Breakfast is also very limited. I recognise that there are no cooking facilities so hard-boiled eggs is the limit for cooked food, but we only had jam (jelly) on the first day. Surely Washington can offer better quality bread than cheap sliced bread? I had a bagel on one day and it sat in my stomach like a lump of lead. Would a few cut meat and cheeses be too much within the budget? Plain, unsweetened, yoghurt in addition to the over-sweet fruit ones would be welcome. Again, after a day or two the limited offer becomes a disappointment.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank DavidCM2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear DavidCM2000, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your comments are greatly appreciated, in particular those regarding the breakfast offerings and closet space. Both are items we are currently reviewing and hope to have solutions to in the very near future. We appreciate you choosing The Normandy and hope to see you back on your next visit to DC.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Normandy in early March, just when a big snowstorm (by Washington, DC standards) brought the city to a standstill. The federal government closed; city government and schools shut down; and public transportation was unreliable until afternoon. But the staff at the Normandy rose to the occasion. Maurice and his colleagues helped visitors with canceled flights to navigate the maze of finding airline people to talk to so they could rebook. The visitors' printer near the lobby had earlier gone on the blink, so the staff let visitors print out new boarding passes at the front desk. Yet even though the weather blocked some staff from making it to the hotel, Maurice and colleagues kept on top of regular business of this charming small hotel a few blocks north of Dupont Circle. Room was clean and regularly "refreshed." Bathroom (with wonderful white marble) was clean and well-lit. Our room was small, but it worked fine and there was a big window overlooking the courtyard. Great value for the modest (by DC standards) price. Pleasant walking in all directions, with many fine small restaurants nearby. A few blocks to two Metro subway stops. A convenient location for either tourist or business visits. This is the second time my wife and I stayed together at the Normandy, and my own third time. We will gladly return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear David R, Thank you for your review of The Normandy. We were very pleased to read that you found the staff so helpful, particularly Maurice. We'll be sure to let him know. We were also pleased to read that you found us a great value. The next time your travels bring you to Washington, we hope you choose The Normandy again.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014

This hotel is a phenomenally good deal. A great price, a great location, and elegantly furnished. I'll definitely stay here again.

From what I gather in retrospect, the hotel has a deal with a nearby gym to serve as a fitness center. I didn't know that at the time and didn't think to ask, so it would have been good for the front desk to mention it. That's about the only aspect of my stay that wasn't spot-on.

Room Tip: Ask if you can get an upgrade to one of the rooms with French doors facing Wyoming Ave. They gave i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pete W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Pete W, thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of our hotel. We apologize that you weren't informed about the fitness facility that we have an agreement with. Hopefully you can take advantage of it on your next visit to DC. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2014

I recently stayed at The Normandy for a convention. The price was very reasonable compared to many of the hotels in the surrounding area. The rooms were clean and nicely appointed and the bathrooms were very luxurious. The staff were incredibly friendly and always welcomed you with a smile and a question about how your day is going when entering and leaving the hotel. I can't find anything to complain about other than maybe the weak water pressure in the showers - if you can call that a complaint. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George O, General Manager at The Normandy Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Amy G, thank you for your review of our hotel. We were very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff incredibly friendly. We would also like to thank you for mentioning the water pressure issue you experienced. Since this is an issue we don't usually hear about, we will seriously look into it. Thank you again, and we hope that we can welcome you back to The Normandy in the near future.
Kindest Regards,
George Ochoa
General Manager
The Normandy Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#16 of 141 in Washington DC
1,688 reviews
Churchill Hotel Near Embassy Row
#41 of 141 in Washington DC
1,160 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
2,098 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#27 of 141 in Washington DC
3,139 reviews
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Normandy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Normandy Hotel

Property: The Normandy Hotel
Address: 2118 Wyoming Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-3906
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#19 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#27 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#34 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Normandy Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Like the embassies in the elegant streets and avenues around it, The Normandy Hotel offers guests a corner of the city they can call their own. Chic and intimate, The Normandy Hotel is a haven of comfort and convenience for both business and leisure travelers. The major business districts are located nearby and the city's A-list attractions, such as the White House, the Vietnam Memorial, the Pentagon and Georgetown, are just minutes away by taxi or the Metro.The hotel's 75 rooms include air-conditioning, cable TV, voice mail, work desks and lamps, coffee-makers, hairdryers and complimentary high-speed Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Normandy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Normandy Hotel Washington Dc
Jurys Normandy Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing