We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We loved it and will return!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Shoreham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Omni Shoreham Hotel
Ranked #63 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“We loved it and will return!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

What a lovely, historic hotel with beautiful grounds. There is a "get away from the big city" feel with the fabulous lawns, flowers, gazebo, etc. and with a view of Rock Creek Park. You can get away from the wonderful hustle and bustle of DC life and be only minutes away! The location is great, especially with the proximity to the Metro stop (one block).
The hotel staff is very attentive, the food is great and the rooms are spacious. Great place to stay!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank curleyhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,247
    1,829
    615
    292
    147
See reviews for
1,502
1,134
260
2,643
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (727)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

We loved the Omni Shoreham. Room was charming, very comfortable beds. Lobby is spacious and elegant. Main restaurant (sorry, I forgot its name) is just beyond the lobby, food is excellent, service is excellent. There are other little spots in the hotel to buy coffee, sandwiches, little gifts, a bar. Pool and gardens are beautiful--nice little walking trail around the garden area.

Close to metro and about a block to charming little restaurant, shopping area. Within walking distance to National Zoo. Close to Adams Morgan area. Everything we wanted. Only two drawbacks--no air conditioning in the bathroom and it was very hot when we were there, and the exorbitant valet parking fee. Very busy hotel--a variety of people staying there.

Would stay there again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: I'd get a room overlooking the gazebo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SummerVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed at the Omni for 6 nights in June. It is well located, less than a 10 minute walk to the metro with lots of small restaurants nearby. The carpet, furniture and linens are nice and clean, and the bed is comfortable, but the bathroom is very small with very limited counter space. Our room also had a mildew smell and the wall A/C was loud when it clicked on. The service was fine. We joined the frequent stay program which gave us free internet as well as juice, coffee, and/or water delivered to our room in the morning. This also included turn down which we missed most of the evenings,because we were still in our room when housekeeping came. The pool and gym are nice. The elevator is not adequate for such a large hotel. Many times an elevator stopped, but we or others waiting could not get in, because it was full.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IrvineJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We appreciate the opportunity to understand what you enjoyed about your recent stay at the Omni Shoreham and where we have room for improvement. We are sorry that you were unable to take advantage of turndown service but if you return, please feel free to let our attendant know that you would like them to return at a later time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ctfl4
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2011

Stayed here for 1 night on our drive South. Beautiful hotel....lobby is fabulous. The room was small but vey clean. The furniture slightly bruised but OK. People we friendly. Easy walk 1 block to the Metro. Easy to get to the monuments. Great breakfast place across the street where we had breakfast outside. 1 block away there were tons of restaurants, Cvs etc. The only problem was the expense of parking $33 a night. No real alternative other than to park on the street.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ctfl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
We are thrilled that you had a great stay at the Omni Shoreham Hotel and appreciate you taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

I went to college in DC and every time I go back I always stay at the Omni! It is a beautiful "old-school" hotel, which to me, has great character and is what I prefer. I had a beautiful room on the fourth floor over looking the park. It was a standard deluxe room but it was huge! It was also very clean. We had a king sized bed, with a sitting area, a work area, and a huge bathroom. It truly was lovely. The rooms have all been updated and are beautifully decorated. They all come with "chillers" which is nice for cold beverages. If you need a mini-fridge they will provide that too.

If you join their free Select Guest program they really do give you some great perks (like a larger room). You also get free wi-fi (I was there for 3 days of business and 4 of vacation), plus morning beverages (2 per person) delivered daily that are complimentary. We added in an english muffin or bagel daily and I think it was $9 for the two of us. Being light morning eaters it was perfect for us! They also give you two bottles of water complimentary when you check in.

The hotel is in a great area. It is busy, but has a residential area feel and yet there are several restaurants within walking distance. In the area of the hotel I visited the Lebanese Taverna which the hotel recommended (very good), Murphy's (great Guinness!) and an Indian restaurant across Connecticut Ave. I didn't catch the name of it but it was just okay. We also dined at Chef Geoff's, Casa Oaxaca, Georgia Brown's, Founding Farmers and Gordon Biersch Brewery. We had fantastic meals and service at all of them and I highly recommend them.

The hotel has a beautiful pool area which unfortunately we didn't have time to utilize this trip, but I have in prior trips. It also is just a block from the Woodley Park metro station which is key for playing tourist!

I love this hotel!

Room Tip: Definitely join their free Select Guest program!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank afly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2011
Thank you for your many compliments of The Omni Shoreham Hotel. We are delighted to be your preferred hotel in DC and enjoyed reading about your experiences with us. We will look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Monica, Ca.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

This hotel is elegant with very large rooms but still the prices are reasonable. The pool is beautiful. The staff is very helpful. The beds are comfortable. Location is close to Metro and Circulator. Good restaurants are close by: Open Cafe for breakfast and lunch and Mama Ayesha for dinner.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank calalak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
We are so glad to read that you enjoyed your last two stays at The Omni Shoreham Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back for your third. It has been our pleasure to have you as our guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duluth, Minnesota
Level Contributor
128 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2011

Very comfortable rooms and beautiful lobby. Excellent service. Nice location, quick walk to the metro, good restaurants nearby. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlp5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OmniMgr, Manager at Omni Shoreham Hotel, responded to this review, 27 June 2011
Thank you for your recommendation on TripAdvisor. We hope to have you return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,848 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#4 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Shoreham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Shoreham Hotel

Property: Omni Shoreham Hotel
Address: 2500 Calvert Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20008-2649
Phone Number:
Region: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest , Woodley Park / Zoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#20 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Shoreham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 836
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come home to the Omni Shoreham Hotel, a true Washington landmark. Located in one of the most sought after DC neighborhoods, this luxury property fuses modern comforts with distinguished service. This urban oasis is located on 11 plush acres just steps from the metro and the National Zoo. Sip a cocktail in the Marquee Bar or, during the warmer months, guests can lounge poolside at one of the "South's Best Pools" as rated by Southern Living Magazine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Southall Travel, Prestigia and TravelUp so you can book your Omni Shoreham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni Hotel Washington Dc
Omni Washington Dc
Omni Shoreham Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Dc Omni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing